We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Royal Shaheen Events
from $183.75
More Info
from $287.70
More Info
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
165
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birds of prey falconry experience peregrine falcon the dubai desert conservation reserve conservation area amazing birds al maha resort his passion desert animals falcon market barn owl arabian oryx wonderful morning amazing experience arabic coffee and dates absolute highlight private tour
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 167 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2017

I've always loved raptors so on a recent trip to Dubai I booked a Falconry Experience with Royal Shaheen Events. We were picked up by Werner at 4.45am from our hotel and driven to the Dubai Desert Conservation Reserve where we met Rahim, a lovely man from Pakistan and Cerci a female Arabian Desert Eagle-Owl; Pandora a male Peregrine Falcon; Seeker a female Altai Saker Falcon; Khaimah a male Greater-Spotted Eagle; and, Sally a female Harris's Hawk. Upon arrival we were give a delicious cup of Arabian coffee and some dates to ease our hunger pains. I couldn't help notice our surroundings. The desert at this time of morning was breathtaking. The temperature was cool, the sky was clear and not a breath of wind - perfect hunting conditions for birds of prey. As we sat and listen to the commentary by Werner my mind wandered taking in the desert greenery, quail going and about their business and gazelle and oryx grazing nearby. This place was alive not the sterile image we are used to seeing. Before we knew it we were given a demonstration of some of the training exercises they give the birds. Then it was our turn. You have to remember that these birds are not pets and they are not exactly wild either. They have been trained to fly to glove for food rewards. The other thing you have to remember is that when you are working with birds things don't always go as planned. Birds of prey have to hungry before they put on a show for YOUR enjoyment. So there was a considerable amount of work done behind the scenes monitoring each of the bird's weight and hunger. As we were the only guests that day we had numerous encounters with these magnificent birds. We got a taste of the ancient art of falconry although the birds couldn't have cared less. We thoroughly enjoyed of time with Werner and the rest of the crew, the birds were well looked after and we have the photos to prove it. I'd do it again!

Date of experience: May 2017
2  Thank adriano769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalShaheenEvent, Owner at Royal Shaheen Events, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2017

Dear Adriano,

Thank you so much for making the effort to post such a cracking review. I will be sure to pass on you kind words to Werner and the team.

We would be delighted to have you back and look forward to sharing with you some of the other really cool tricks we have up our sleeves.

Take care and all the best for the coming year.

Rgds,
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017

My wife and I did the private falconry experience the beginning of May 2017.
We were the only two on the tour. It was one of the most fabulous experiences we have ever had. Our tour guide Bryan and his assistant were amazing, introducing us to his family of 5 birds. As we have never experienced anything like this before we found Bryan's knowledge of the raptors & the conservation was excellent. He was great fun to be with. Not once did we feel hesitant to have the birds so near to us or to land on our arm. We were also taken to the Falcon Souk. The breakfast that followed was a perfect end to our day. Thank you.
Pam&Bill

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalShaheenEvent, Owner at Royal Shaheen Events, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2017

Dear William,

"It was one of the most fabulous experiences we have ever had" WOW, comments like make all the hard work we do worth while. We do our very best to make every experience unique in its own special way.

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. It means the world to our tiny little business,

Take care and from all of us Team Royal Shaheen we would like to wish you an enjoyable 2017.

Rgds,
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2017

If you're looking for a unquie tour, something you can't do in any other country this is it. It is a very professional tour, everything was well run: emails were answered, pick up was on time, you get all the little extras, water, coffee/treat in the desert. The team will really look after you from start to end. It isn't just a drive back to your hotel, there is information provided. I learned do much about Dubai and of course having an eagle land on your arm is absolutely amazing. The Falcons show is incredible, but the desert drive to see other animals is well worth while. I never felt rushed. Small group format used by the company ensures everyone has time with the birds, time for pictures and time for questions. Can't say enough good things about this tour and company. 100% recommended. Thank you Werner and Rahim

Date of experience: May 2017
3  Thank Victoria14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalShaheenEvent, Owner at Royal Shaheen Events, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

Hi Victoria,

Thank you so much for this amazing review. Your words are very kind and I'll be sure to pass on your feedback to Werner and the team.

We look forward to having you back on your next trip to Dubai, we can't wait to show you some of our other tricks we have.

Take care and all the best for 2017.

Rgds,
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017

In April I took my father as a retirement gift to Dubai and set up a private tour with Royal Shaheen as experiencing birds of prey was something he always wanted to do. Werner and Rabin were excellent hosts and Werner is extremely knowledgeable and professional. He was also really fun to talk to as well. After learning about the birds and handling them, we went on a tour of where you can buy birds and their training equipment. We were taken to a resort for brunch which was quite good as well. I would say anyone that comes to Dubai and wants to do something other than eat and shop this is something wonderfully different.

Date of experience: April 2017
3  Thank boyblue4502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalShaheenEvent, Owner at Royal Shaheen Events, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Dear boyblue4502,

Great review and thank you very much for taking the time to post one.

I will pass on your kind words to Werner and Rahim. They will be delighted with the feedback.

We look forward to showing you what other tricks we have up our sleeves on your next visit. Be sure to use your courtesy email to receive the discount we promised.

From all of us at Team Royal Shaheen we wish you a prosperous 2017.

Kind regards,
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017

It is a great activity away from tourist areas, getting in touch with some excellent birds of prey, understanding the culture inside the Conservation. Big thank to Werner and Rahim!! Private tour is always recommended. DO NOT MISS THIS EXPERIENCE.

Date of experience: April 2017
3  Thank Ynnej A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalShaheenEvent, Owner at Royal Shaheen Events, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2017

Dear Ynnej,

Thank you for posting your review and sharing your amazing pictures with us. Your video of Sally the Harris Hawk flying through your arms has reached over 85 000 views on Facebook, awesome.

Once again, thanks for all your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Dubai.

From all of us at Team Royal Shaheen we wish you a super 2017.

Rgds,
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews