We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FOOD POISINING” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperium

Imperium
Ranked #38 of 9,407 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Imperium is an all-day buffet dining restaurant serving International cuisine in elegant opulent settings. Relish this delectable cuisine and enjoy your meal within the spectacular interiors, or al fresco whilst admiring the views of the garden. Don't miss out on the lavish weekend brunches.
Murcia, Spain
2 reviews
“FOOD POISINING”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Myself and three friends had the very unfortunate experience of full blown food poisoning at the Imperium Brunch a few Friday's ago. We appreciate that this can happen and it was a lovely meal apart from that but it was the idiotic moronic response we received from Mr David Stern the so called Director of Food & Beverage. Now, for anyone who has experienced food poisoning and what actually happens, do you think that during the night you could get out of bed, get dressed, call a taxi, go to the taxi, find a hospital and then wait and provide a stool sample so Jumeirah can do a check?? Of course not, it is the most ridiculous thing I and sure you, have ever heard of and only shows that Jumeirah have this policy because it is virtually impossible to adhere to and you would only find this out AFTER the event and you are well enough to contact them. Funny thing is, he actually told my friend who had food poisoning too that NO ONE has ever been well enough to provide one!! BEWARE RE HEATED PORK.

Helpful?
Thank karlorme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JZS_Management, Manager at Imperium, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to our Imperium Restaurant.

We are sorry that you were unwell on the day that you joined us at Imperium for brunch. After thorough investigation into your claims and having checked with all other guests who had consumed the same product, the hotel cannot accept responsibility for your illness.

At Jumeirah, the comfort and welfare of our guests is paramount. We have a series of safety processes and procedures in place to ensure the quality and the freshness of the food served in our hotels and resorts. Our colleagues involved at all stages of the food processing, from storage to serving, are suitably qualified to comply with local and international standards and receive regular training on the topic. We can confidently state that all Jumeirah hotels abide by the highest international standards of food safety. We have full confidence in the supervision of health and hazard processes by Dubai Municipality.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

David Stern
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    103
    44
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just went to brunch on Christmas day. The food was okay, but for 650AED it was way overpriced. They did not serve up stuffing with the turkey and the selection of food was not vast. For the other brunches in Dubai, you can expect some very good champagne, but they were serving up Mumm. I am not being a drinks snob but the other brunches are serving up better food, better drinks and have much much more of it.

I would have given the same review if it was a 300AED brunch. The decor and hotel is top class but the brunch lets it down big time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gboyle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JZS_Management, Manager at Imperium, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your visit to our Imperium Restaurant at Jumeirah Zabeel Saray for our Christmas Brunch and fro your kind acknowledgement of our opulent architecture.

As for your comment in regard to the cost of our brunch, our prices are in line with the special menu offered for the festive season.

Thank you once again for choosing to dine at Imperium and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

David Stern
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food! Bad sounds system...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had an amazing experience at Imperium brunch last Friday. Staffs are friendly and efficient. Food was excellent and drinks as well. Upon entering, they provided cold towels and welcome drinks of champagne and juices. Once seated they serve bread or you may go straight to the bread buffet for more choices. They had an amazing selection of seafood and desserts. Foie gras is limitless. They even serve P****. Aside from the buffet, you may order from the ala carte menu with selections of salmon, hammour, beef which were also very good.

The good things is.. this buffet is not a children's playground where you may experience in some other buffets.

The only thing thats keeping me to rate the whole experience to very good instead of excellent is the bad sounds system. The band is fine but I think the sound level and quality is very very bad. The speakers were also directed to the people dining inside. We would be relieved when the band stops for a break. Would have been good to be seated outside but since it was quite chilly we decided to stay indoors.

I suggest to replace the speakers / sounds systems. We will come back by then.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charmink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JZS_Management, Manager at Imperium, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review of our Friday Brunch at Imperium and for your kind acknowledgement of the Culinary offering.

In regard to your feedback on the sound system, I can assure you that your feedback has been taken seriously and shared with the relevant colleagues involved, for immediate action and remedial improvement.

Thank you once again for posting a review of Imperium on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back and having the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

David Stern
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

ok, I can't comment on the hotel itself, but I can on the brunch. However, I can say the hotel looks wonderful, extravagant, ostentatious etc. However the brunch was of poor quality, poor range of food for the price that you pay etc. Food was cold, range was poor, and the service staff lacked the ability to speak English. The brunch is however good if all that you want is to pay a lot of money to sit down and drink. You definitely get your money's worth on the alcohol front (quantity not quality). The main differentiating factor here is that you can sit down and order al a carte, whilst again not great quality this does make it a good lazy person brunch. If this is your first experience of a brunch, please please go to Bubbiliciuos at the Westin or my preferred Al quasr. Hope it helped in making your choice.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonesms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JZS_Management, Manager at Imperium, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review from your recent visit to our Imperium Restaurant at Jumeirah Zabeel Saray.

I certainly regret that your recent experience at Imperium has left you feeling disappointed and I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our culinary experience and our service standards.

I look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to Imperium and I am certain that we will be able to redeem ourselves on the next occasion.

Sincerely,

Christophe Mousset
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Brunch with a French twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Imperium is a great place for Friday brunch even if you aren't staying at Zabeel Saray. Brunch is offered between one and four in the plush restaurant that also has an outdoor terrace. Package choice of non-alcohol or alcohol is available. Stations are many including seafood, salad, mezze, waffles, meats, breads, desserts, etc. Don't miss the varieties of quiche, terrines, and tartlets as well as the beef wellington. Your server will keep your drinks topped up and also provide some nice bread rolls to get you started. Live jazz ensemble adds to the enjoyment.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lilybob24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JZS_Management, Manager at Imperium, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in posting a review on Trip Advisor. Along with my team, I sincerely appreciate your positive comments and am delighted that you enjoyed our Friday Brunch at Imperium.

Thank you once again for posting a review of Imperium on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back and having the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

David Stern
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperium also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Imperium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing