We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing Japanese restaurant!”
Review of Icho

Icho
Ranked #3,814 of 9,623 Restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An amazing Japanese restaurant!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Located on the 49th floor in Royal SAS Hotel in Dubai is this perfect Japanese restaurant, on the 50th floor they have Teppanyaki.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterGustafssonDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    35
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Keflavik, Iceland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good resturuant but expensive wine”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Sushi is excellent and we had Wague beef and that was very good. The service should be better based on price, the view from the restaurant is very nice but it was not busy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gunnaregill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Sushi with a view!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My first visit to Dubai and what came as a highly recommended sushi restaurant, left me wanting for more. The Sushi bar is located on the 49th floor of the Radisson Royal hotel, with the remainder of the restaurant scattered over the 50th and 51st floors. The view from all floors on an evening is spectacular as you watch the Dubai nightlife come alive.

We sat at the Sushi bar for our dinner and decided to order a large selection of sashimi and sushi, plus a few other menu items. We dined on tuna, sea bream, flounder, salmon, broiled eel, scallop and yellow tail sashimi; and, added edamame, teriyaki chicken and a few other dishes to fill us up.

The most disappointing aspect of the sashimi was the chefs decision to serve it with lemon or lime touching the flesh of the fish. On the more delicate fishes, this citrus flavour was at times overpowering and ruined the true taste of the sashimi.

At USD10 per dish for sashimi (3 pieces) or 2 pieces of sushi, the portions were, in my opinion too small for what you were getting. I have dined in Japanese restaurants all over the world, and while the quality was fantastic, you were left wanting more.

If you're after good sashimi and dollars don't matter and want a good view - then this is the perfect place but if you are after the perfect sashimi experience, I would look elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ForeignGuardian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Romantic Bday Surprise”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Had my husband bday at Icho, called to make reservations but they couldn't make a surprise cake, so walked down the street to Coco's and dropped the cake at the reception of the hotel.

Overall, the restaurant is amazing especially if u enjoy tepanyaki. Very skilled chefs and really entertaining! Was a lovely night and my cake was delivered as dessert and they did sing bday song for him.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faridah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“"Fab view and Fab food in the busy Dubai"”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Well,good food i admit. Starts from the simple Edamame. I normally have to ask for more salt but here they did it perfectly. The mixed sushi and sashimi is perfect size to share.The only things is Tepanyaki close too early even in Ramadan. They extend the open hours everywhere but seems not here. And they might really have to consider changing the music. It s really doesn't match the theme and atmosphere of the restaurant.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yadita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icho also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Icho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing