We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Veggie restaurant near Arabian Courtyard Hotel”
Review of Puranmal

Puranmal
Ranked #735 of 9,567 Restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Description: Telephone number is 04-3513893. Located near Arabian Courtyard Hotel. (Chain restaurant-11 of them?)
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Veggie restaurant near Arabian Courtyard Hotel”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Came across this whilst staying at Arabian Courtyard Hotel. Great little spot. Scrumptious food. Cheap too. Full of local Indians eating there so that in my mind says a lot. Highly recommended.Waiters can advise on menu if you dont understand it. Get it a little spicy too as wary tourists in the past have disgraced us spicy loving people - they will automatically give you a very mild dish if your a tourist.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    56
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“***Good Food, Better Price***”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We accidentally stumbled upon the Puranmal restaurant when we couldn't find the other place we were looking for! There was a large group of locals outside, which is always a good advertisement, and we chose to give it a try.
We were seated upstairs in quite a dark but busy dining room. The menu comes in Arabic and English, however there is no translation of what each dish is, so it does become a game of roulette at that point. My partner had what appeared to be a large pancake with potatoes and other vegetables, while I had the equivalent of a vegetable korma...I think! My dish was very spicy, I think because I have quite a delicate pallet anyway, but it was still very good.
The service was a little poor, with meals being brought out at quite different times and them not really paying much attention.
The best thing about this restaurant is the price...£8.60, including tip for 2 main meals with sides, perfect!
It isn't special, but for the price it is certainly worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phee_Bizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
462 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Yummy Indian Chaats and snacks”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went to the Jumeriah branch of Puranmal and reminded us the back home days. very tasty and yummy Indian savouries and chaats served in great ambience. A bit pricey but so what if you can relish and tuck in all the delicious food served there..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pervin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best Puri-Chole and Dal Pakwan”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Friday brunch with Puranmal's Dal Pakwan and Puri-Chole is just what my fridays are for ;-).
And they home-deliver! So just wake up late, laze around, call them and order for pakwan and puri and also great idly-vadas...

Just make sure you give them atleast 45 minutes...even if you are located near them :-(

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RavikiranMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only for snacks!!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Umm.......We gave it a shot when we were Vegeterians for a while!!! We had tried the Thali........an unfortunate choice... Of the 3 curry dishes.....all of them looked the same, tasted the same with no salt. Will never recommend their thali to anyone!

For snack items, my husbands favourite is pav bhaji(if you like spicy food, specifically request it) and of course the other normal items like their samosas, masala pav, idli chilly are worth it.

The only disadvantage........too expensive for what any vegeterian dish they charge you around 26-30Dhs. which I feel is too much for this restaurant!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puranmal also viewed

Sharjah, Emirate of Sharjah
Sharjah, Emirate of Sharjah
 
Sharjah, Emirate of Sharjah
Sharjah, Emirate of Sharjah
 

Been to Puranmal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing