We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jamie's Italian - CLOSED

Jamie's Italian
Price range: $30 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Jamie's Italian is a collection of Jamie Oliver restaurants and was inspired by Italy and many of its traditions and values. Jamie's Italian features fantastic, rustic dishes, using recipes that Jamie Oliver loves! Located by the creek in Festival City and being his first restaurant outside the UK it holds a special place in our hearts.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
155 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Surprisingly very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

After reading other reviews we didn't expect much but I have to admit we were wrong. The staff was extremely friendly and qualified. As a family of five we ordered 3 pizze all of which were delicious. The Turbo Penne Arrabiata were cooked al dente as they should be. The Crab and Squid Ink Risotto was excellent. The kids menu - two miniburgers with polenta crumbs - was very well presented. The kids got a complimentary drink which they liked a lot. We didn't order any dessert as the portions were generous. The coffee - espresso macchiato - was served by the barista and could not have been better! Compliments! We will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kybtur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    61
    45
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great ,Tasty and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

A great Italian restaurant with authentic Italian taste, the prices can be little expensive. Very Small portions for starters, so you better order more than you think you need.
The Hot spicy Sicilian pizza is great, it cost around 85 AED which is fair if you factor in the ingredients and the place
Bill for 3 was around 600 AED

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tamersalahsaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little too classic...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We went there for a casual evening business diner. When there was nothing wrong with the venue, the service, the food or the atmosphere, it all felt a little under adventurous. When in a city like Dubai, a little more extravaganza would have been good. This said, if you are looking for a 'valeur sure' or a good value for money place, a little home sick if you are a western european, then go there. I enjoyed it when we were there but unlikely to go back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josselin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pretty Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Nothing special, REALLY !!!!. Maybe it is a matter of managing the expectations. I cook from Jamie Oliver's cookbooks and know him from some TV programs. This particular restaurant does not do the service to Jamie's image. It is truly mediocre place; average service, average decor and pretty untasty food - the biggest disappointment. Nothing to ad !!!.
If I were Jamie, I would not put my name on this establishment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanuszRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
266 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Came here on Valentines day. Wasn't really expecting much. But we were quite happy with the service, quality and taste of the food. We started of with a Bruschetta served 4 ways which was a nice way to start the meal and was very different to some of the bruschettas we've had elsewhere. For the mains we had a Salmon steak, and also mushroom ravioli. Both of the dishes were simply outstanding with right mix of flavours and seasoning. We were immediately converted and have become fans of Jamie. If there was a small complaint then it would have been the Tiramisu. This was more of a cake rather than tiramisu, also the alcohol in the tiramisu was really overpowering the flavours of the tiramisu. This was the only disappointment to what was an otherwise outstanding meal. We will definitely be back again to try the other dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EatDrinkTravelReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing