We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of Time”
Review of Desert Rangers

Desert Rangers
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.00*
and up
Dubai Evening Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner
More Info
$117.00*
and up
Full-Day City Tour and Dhow Dinner Cruise in Dubai
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Morning Camel Trekking Safari from Dubai
Ranked #118 of 408 Outdoor Activities in Dubai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Desert Rangers provides you one stop shop for desert adventures, team building activities, desert safari in dubai,Dune Buggy Safaris, Quad Bikking, Camel Trekking, Sand Boarding,with its own Desert Camp facilities, Dhow Cruises in Dubai Creek, Dubai Marina Cruises with 5 star services with its own fleet of 5 Luxury Dhow Boats.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Waste of Time”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked on the advice of our hotel this firm for a trip to Abu Dhabi from Dubai. They turned up 1½ hours late. Provided a car instead of other transport, unfortunately, the drivers command of English was poor and was not able to explain what we were visiting. Raced down the highway (not that there is much to see en-route), missed places on the itinery due to late departure, and failed to produce the buffet lunch at a 5* hotel as offered in their brochure. (This is subject of a disagreement with our hotel who booked the excursion). I consider the tour that we had was both a waste of time and effort and over priced.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 585Rodney585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p_r_desert_rangers, Public Relations Manager at Desert Rangers, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Rodney,

Many thanks for your feedback and taking the time to write a review. In order for us to rectify the issue we need to know your exact tour details. Kindly send us the name under which you booked the tour, the date of your tour and your contact details.

Kindly send the details on: bookings@desertrangers.com at the earliest. Please be assured that we are taking the matter seriously and apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Sincere Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    38
    13
    21
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
serbia
1 review
“Desert Safari with Desert Rangers”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Beautiful desert, amazing desert safari, Crazy funny camels and adventurous Desert Safari Gear... I had camel riding, I rode a quad bike... I didn't feel at all that the company is mismanaged or rip off.. the same day some of the famous bloggers also came to cover the write up of this same safari. I'm glad I got to go there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay away from this tour operator”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked our trip from this operator on a package - city tour, desert safari, and the marina cruise. It costs a bit more but we want to experience dubai fully in our short stay.

First, we had a city tour. A van took us from our hotel and all others converge in a bus with others from different hotels. When the tour guide started to speak, everything goes awry. He always stopped talking in the middle of his sentence, maybe trying to think what to say in a particular place. All the people in the bus felt uncomfortable the whole trip.

Next is the desert safari. We were excited on this one, hoping to dose off bad trip on the morning. When the 4x4 came, there are already other guests inside and we were placed behind. Inside, the guy in the front and the ones in the middle are together, a family I guess. We noticed there's a baby! My wife and I chatted that they might drop someone with the baby along the way (there are 3 ladies in the middle) but we were dead wrong! Along the way, the driver and the guy in front talked in their own langguage (Indian) the whole time and never bothered to talk to us! The baby was passed repeatedly from the front (held by the guy) and sometimes with the ladies. When we reached the desert, all Desert Rangers 4x4's converged and we noticed that our 4x4 is the oldest vehicle and no sticker or something to identify it as desert ranger. We followed other 4x4's with the maneuvers in the dessert, with crying baby inside the whole time. It's ok to us but we also noticed the driver always makes a short cut (he always fell behind the pack of 4x4's) and avoiding the great paths the other 4x4's do. Very disappointing. We tried to talk to the driver but he just plainly ignored us and continued to talk to the other guy in their langguage. When we arrived at the dinner location, it's already late, missing the nice sunset we saw outside our window. Upon alighting to the vehicle, the driver talked to the others some instruction and they rushed inside to go the dining table and the driver still ignored us! My blood went up and shouted to the driver, "At least let us know where we should go!". He noticed my anger and suddenly became attentive and told us the number of our table.

It come to my conclusion that Desert Rangers "outsourced" us to the other 4x4 operator, which is a terrible one, to save some money or something. We booked this tour 2 weeks before and I don't know why they put us on this driver.

Stay away from Desert Ranger. There are other good operators that will really value their customers.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirvana_x13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p_r_desert_rangers, Public Relations Manager at Desert Rangers, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Silverchair_13,

Thank you so much for writing your precious feedback. These help us to serve you better in future.
We are sorry that you felt that you had an unpleasant experience and we would like to clarify as per below.
We have spoke to other guests who participated in the city tour and have received no such similar complaint on the same day.
We suggest, in the future you book a private city tour for a more personalized service. Regarding your Desert Safari trip, we do not distinguish between men, women or children and we do not decide where they are seated, it is on a first come first served basis. Also, if there was a crying baby in the vehicle, this is out of our control and we apologize for the same.
Once again we would advice you to take indulge in a private car for a desert safari for extra attention.
We sincerely hope we get the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“really disappointing”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Unfortunately I booked a Hummer Safari whith desrt ranger in october 2012 but it was not worth the money you paid for it.In the beginning the company was not committed to the time she told us that the timing of Go between 3 and 3:30 pm, but the driver did not come until 4!.The driver did not tell us any thing about the journey or introduce his self to us. the dune bashing was boring and no exciting i think that the driver was not trained enough or enjoy driving madly.The main problem was in the camp. we coould not sit nearby the stage.they Told us that places are reserved for people they didnt came yet . we Tried to reach anyone responsible but the answer was there was no official here and the person who should complain to him is driver.We tried to search for him but he was not in camp so we sit very far from the stage and we did not enjoy the show.he came At the end of the trip to drop us to the hotel, and when we told him the problem answered a silly way that this camp was not own for desert ranger and it just was shared another company this day because the one who own was fully booked for a large tour group.I think that's not our fault. Frankly, I would not recommend this company to anyone else. my Advice to you going to another company if you want feel real excitement and pamper your self.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamerrony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh L, General Manager at Desert Rangers, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you very much for taking out time to give us you valuable feedback.
Feed backs always inspire us to serve better.

We always have someone responsible on site for your ease. However the particular day you are referring to, had over 300 passengers touring with us and this might be the reason no body was available to cater your requests. Although we have not received any complaints from other passengers on that day. However we understand and apologize for the fact that you were dissatisfied with the seating arrangements.

We would like to inform you that seating is prearranged by our operations team and we are unable to seat everybody at the front. We hope that you accept our apologies and give us a chance to serve you better next time.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulouso Fun”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I booked this tour with some office friends so that we could relax and unwind over a weekend. And it was worth it. we started with dune bashing and it was so thrilling.
This one friend liked the quad bike rides over there and although some things cost extra but we didnt mind paying it coz it was worth it.
This another friend could not get enough of the entertainment shows there, the belly dance and the tanoura dancer.
It was an affordable yet enjoyable way to spend a weekend.. totally a good go.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lithu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Rangers also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Desert Rangers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing