We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food & Service was.. ”
Review of McGettigan's JLT

McGettigan's JLT
Ranked #402 of 9,540 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: The very first McGettigan's Irish Pub was opened in Dublin in 1964 by Donegal man Jim McGettigan. In 2010, McGettigan's started its journey around the world and Dubai's Jumeirah Lakes Towers was the first international opening. Taking the city's nightlife scene by storm, the pub is located just outside the Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers and in walking distance to the nearest Dubai metro station. Pop in and try our award-winning pub grub, watch live sports, or enjoy live music! Twitter: mcgettiganspub Instagram: mcgettiganspubs
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food & Service was.. ”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Don't get me wrong some dishes were great, and others just didn't reach the standards of even being on the menu. The service was at times slow and hard to get a hold of and at other times quick to grasp their attention, some communication problems regarding the order occurred, but were resolved thanks to mutual sense of humor. It's great for a few of drinks/beers with friends, but if you're not the type who likes loud people or music, Mc.Gettigan's is not the place to be at night. GREAT PLACE TO BE FOR A FOOTBALL MATCH: lively and entertaining (atmosphere and crowd)

Helpful?
Thank Nadia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcgettiganspubs, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Nadia N,

Thanks for your review. I was happy to see that overall you enjoyed your visit. Please feel free to share more detailed comments about the dishes you ordered with us via contact@mcgettigans.com or just give me a shout next time you're here.

All the best,

Alan Murray
Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    175
    67
    20
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.Helens, Merseyside
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great lively atmosphere!love the band!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Great bar- dance the night away or chill listening to the live music! Nice food and indoor and outdoor areas to enjoy so take your pick!

Helpful?
Thank czyK8tie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcgettiganspubs, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear czyK8tie,

Many thanks for reviewing us! It was great to see that you liked it here and I hope to be able to welcome you back soon!

All the best,

Alan Murray
Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from Home!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Excellent atmosphere and service was exceptional. The food was excellent, very large portions and reasonably priced. Always busy and their trivia night on a tuesday night is a good craic!

I got to meet some of the McGettigan family when i was there one night and we were extended the warmest hospitality by Patricia and Curtis - really made it a memorable experience. Joined to the Bonnington Hotel which is a stunning property in the heart of JLT.

My new regular place to enjoy dinner and a pint....or 2!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyTravelling2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcgettiganspubs, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear BusyTravelling2014,

Thanks for popping in and also for reviewing us! It was good to read that you had a great time here and I hope to see you again very soon!

All the best,

Alan Murray
Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A pretty standard pub experience”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Not much stands out about this place, just as nothing is exceptionally bad about Mcgettigans. It is an irish pub with a good selection of beers on tap and a pretty standard selection of cocktails. The service is efficient and you could do alot worse for a night out with friends. It's more the kind of place where you would go to watch a sports game and have a few laughs than a first date say. All in all not a bad call for a mid week drinks session while catching up on a game of footy

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BonitaCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcgettiganspubs, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear BonitaCarr,

Thank you very much for your review!

While I was happy to see that you thought the service during your visit was good, I was somewhat disappointed to read that otherwise your visit was only average.

I hope you'll pop in again soon and perhaps check out our iPaddy quiz night or our live music performances to see what else there is to McGettigan's JLT.

All the best,

Alan Murray
Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Vibe and Great Service”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Had several jars during the World Cup and we were desperate to watch the State of Origin game 3 from Sydney. What a fantastic venue - greatest onion rings ever.
Felt right a home and with everyone glued to the Socceroos the linguistically authentic manager was all too good to look up the net to find the replay and dedicate a TV for us. Brilliant all round, except the result. :(

Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcgettiganspubs, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Lee T,

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit! Sorry we couldn't do anything about the game score, but we're still looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

All the best,

Alan Murray
Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGettigan's JLT also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to McGettigan's JLT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing