We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish atmosphere”
Review of McGettigan's JLT

McGettigan's JLT
Ranked #387 of 9,665 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: European, Irish, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The very first McGettigan's Irish Pub was opened in Dublin in 1964 by Donegal man Jim McGettigan. In 2010, McGettigan's started its journey around the world and Dubai's Jumeirah Lakes Towers was the first international opening. Taking the city's nightlife scene by storm, the pub is located just outside the Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers and in walking distance to the nearest Dubai metro station. Pop in and try our award-winning pub grub, watch live sports, or enjoy live music! Twitter: mcgettiganspub Instagram: mcgettiganspubs
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Irish atmosphere”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The jazz music and seating setup was great however, the smoking made it for non-smokers quite uneasy

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abdalla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonningtontower, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Abdalla K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us! I was glad to see that you liked the music and the layout of the pub.
I appreciate that during busy times, the atmosphere can get a bit smoky, however our open air beer-garden is available as an alternative.

All the best,

Michael McBrearty
Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    180
    69
    20
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Outstanding drink and food! Staff is always at your service and assist any way they can. As a non-smoker, this place allows smoking but you can't really notice it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CNPREME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcgettiganspubs, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear CNPREME,

Many thanks for your review! We were delighted to see that you liked it here and hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Michael McBrearty
Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great irish bar but smoky”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Mcgets is a great bar and would be amazing if smoking was banned. It took me back ten years to come home stinking of smoke.. Great when cool enough to sit outside and avoid. Superb atmosphere when football on too. Food wise if you crave fish and chips this is the place and they do a brunch 3 pints and food for 125 dhs on a fri pm too....

Helpful?
Thank Turnercr1970
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bonningtontower, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Turnercr1970,

Thank you very much for your review and your positive comments about our food and the selection of live sports we show.

We have recently uncovered the beergarden again and with the cooler months ahead, hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Michael McBrearty
Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, Great atmosphere, Great bar”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I recently visited McGettigans, on two nights, and both had great food, the service was excellent, the atmosphere was great, and so was the Guinness. The manager, Donal Brennan, made us feel very welcome, and could'nt do enough for us. He worked the floor making sure everyone was being looked after. Definitely coming back the next time we come to Dubai.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 443DavidO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonningtontower, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear 443DavidO,

Thank you very much for your review! I was happy to hear that you & your wife enjoyed your visit to our pub.

We're looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

All the best,

Michael McBrearty
Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Smokiest pub ever!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Good pub to watch Celtic in, they played the commentary which given there was other champion's league English Games on was a plus. Expensive bar with no promotions, no sign of a ladies night offer or happy hour offer which was disappointing, if there was one it certainly wasn't well advertised. If you are a non smoker you will struggle in this pub it needs some ventilation...horrendous. On the plus always seems busy with a good atmosphere!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonningtontower, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Frann A,

Thank you very much for your review. I was sorry to hear that on your visit you found the atmosphere too smokey. Very soon, our beer-garden will be back in action, which provides an al fresco alternative for watching the games.

While we do not currently offer Ladies Nights or Happy Hours, we frequently bring our guests & visitors special promotions like the recent Arthur's Day celebrations with free Guinness or our popular weekly Friday brunch.

We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Michael McBrearty
Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGettigan's JLT also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to McGettigan's JLT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing