We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Irish themed bar”
Review of McGettigan's JLT

McGettigan's JLT
Ranked #443 of 9,567 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: European, Irish, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The very first McGettigan's Irish Pub was opened in Dublin in 1964 by Donegal man Jim McGettigan. In 2010, McGettigan's started its journey around the world and Dubai's Jumeirah Lakes Towers was the first international opening. Taking the city's nightlife scene by storm, the pub is located just outside the Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers and in walking distance to the nearest Dubai metro station. Pop in and try our award-winning pub grub, watch live sports, or enjoy live music! Twitter: mcgettiganspub Instagram: mcgettiganspubs
Manchester
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Typical Irish themed bar”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Good service and friendly staff. Drinks are nice and cold and food ok for pub grub. Breakfast is possibly best meal on menu . Nice atmosphere and appeared very clean in all aspects. Would go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonningtontower, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Redjoe,

Thanks for your review! We were happy to see that you liked it here and enjoyed our breakfast. We hope to see you again one day!

All the best,

Michael McBrearty
Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    176
    68
    20
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Fantastic bar with great staff”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

If in Dubai then a trip to McGettigans is a must.... Brilliant atmosphere with staff to match. Big thank you to Martin, Michael and all the bar staff at McGettigans who from the minute we walked through the door made sure we had a great time.
Couldn't recommend McGettigan's highly enough.
Even though we just left we are already thinking of heading back and the first port of call will be McGettigans to see the great friends we met while in Dubai.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulieobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonningtontower, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear paulieobrien,

Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and for your kind words. It was great to see that you had a good time here and we hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Michael McBrearty
Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datca, Turkey
1 review
“If carlsberg dıd Irish Pubs....”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If in Dubai you must check out this gem of a pub in an area called JLT!! It has everything! great service,cold drinks, good Guinness and friendly staff!!I went there with three other friends and the minute we walked in we were greeted by the manager who's name was Martin (Irish may I add!) right away he got us a table, no trouble at all!! then we ordered our drinks from a waiter and looked over a mouth watering menu!!we loved our meals plus the manager and staff checked with us during the meal to make sure all was ok. With the music starting we were ready to have a few more drinks!!This Pub really is what you expect...and more!!A really great experience and we will be back to see Martin and the staff very soon!

Paddy

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paddyneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonningtontower, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear paddyneill,

Thanks a lot for your review! It was great to see that you had a good time here and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Michael McBrearty
Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good bar with brilliant atmosphere”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

What to say about McGettigans. It doesn't matter what night of teh week it is but there is a great atmosphere at McGettigans. Food is very good & staff are very friendly.
Highly recommend a visit

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rami2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonningtontower, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Rami2102,

Many thanks for your review! It was nice to hear that you had a great time here and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Michael McBrearty, Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smoke factory”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Having worked in the gulf for ten plus years I can honestly say the this is one of the best and one of the worst places I have visited. Spent the night there with friends last night sitting outdoors great wings and brew, but there was no ventilation at all what is wrong with the management many people do not smoke you might get more business if you cut it out all together it is foul beyond belief and you have done nothing over the years to correct the situation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonningtontower, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear kapton,

Thanks a lot for your comments! I was sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your recent visit to our pub. As you know, our beergarden is only covered during the summer months - at other times it is open air and provides an alternative to the indoor area which, depending on how busy we are, can get smoky at times.
As the cooler winter months are just around the corner, our beergarden tent will soon be dismantled and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back then.

Best regards,

Michael McBrearty, Pub Manager, McGettigan’s JLT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGettigan's JLT also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to McGettigan's JLT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing