We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD-racism in 21st century”
Review of McGettigan's JLT

McGettigan's JLT
Ranked #395 of 9,756 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: European, Irish, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The very first McGettigan's Irish Pub was opened in Dublin in 1964 by Donegal man Jim McGettigan. In 2010, McGettigan's started its journey around the world and Dubai's Jumeirah Lakes Towers was the first international opening. Taking the city's nightlife scene by storm, the pub is located just outside the Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers and in walking distance to the nearest Dubai metro station. Pop in and try our award-winning pub grub, watch live sports, or enjoy live music! Twitter: mcgettiganspub Instagram: mcgettiganspubs
Reviewed February 11, 2013

SERIOUSLY? We are in 21st century!!! RACIST STAFF (didn't know they exist in 21st century) - disrespectful and unfriendly, worst service, and worse managerial skills,

1. Clients should be treated with full respect and the staff should be totally trained to do so
2. Managers should not be lying about country laws to just back up their arguments
3.if you are in Dubai, you respect Dubai and Arab culture and not treat people in condescending way or allow urselves to open pubs that do so. I.e. ur famous mcgettigans
The story is really sad and m ashamed to say that such mentality exists in 21st century. Racism ??? Seriously??? Last thing I expected. It's a shame. Besides, bouncers should NEVER EVER treat people with disrespect and carelessness. I hope u can recruit people and put laws in place that do make sense!! I am really SHOCKED by how racist, impolite and uneducated mcgettigans staff are. We are in the 21st century. Know your employees and respect ur clientele!!!! (this is not to mention the rude and so unsmiley staff and service).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Tinarouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonningtontower, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Tinarouss,

We would like to sincerely apologize for the incident that occurred when you recently visited McGettigan’s JLT. Kindly refer to the email we have send you and which you have already replied to or else read our replies on one of the many other postings you made around the Internet.

All the best,

The team from McGettigan's JLT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 431 of 514 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Really good bar and nice food. Staff a bit slow at times but overall very good. Good brunch menu all day Fridays!

1  Thank 7snowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonningtontower, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear 7snowy,

Many thanks for your review! It was good to see that you enjoyed your visit & we hope to see you again before too long.

All the best,

The team from McGettigan's JLT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just spent a very pleasant evening surrounded by nice people with great staff, food is simply as you would expect from a good Irish operator, menu good choice excellent, quality and price superb.

Plus if that was not enough the beer is excellent and Craic is ninety

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beattie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonningtontower, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear beattie88,

Thanks for your comments! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time & the craic here and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future!

All the best,

The team from McGettigan's JLT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Was here couple times. Each times are fantastic. The fish n chip is nice. A good place to chill out for the weekend here if you are staying around this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wkh0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonningtontower, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear wkh0409,

Cheers for taking the time to leave us a review here!

It was great to see that you like McGettigan's JLT and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!

Sincerely,

The team from McGettigan's JLT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Lively bar with very friendly staff and a good atmosphere , great for watching some sport at the weekend . The food is honest pub grub and decent quality

Thank TConway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonningtontower, Manager at McGettigan's JLT, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear TConway,

Many thanks for your review!

We're glad you enjoyed your time here & hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

The team from McGettigan's JLT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGettigan's JLT also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to McGettigan's JLT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing