We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variable service and quality of food”
Review of Outback Steakhouse - CLOSED

Outback Steakhouse
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Dubai
Description: Outback Steakhouse is an Australian themed steakhouse restaurant. Although beef and steak items make up a good portion of the menu, the concept offers a variety of chicken, ribs, seafood, and pasta dishes. The Company's strategy is to differentiate its restaurants by emphasizing consistently high-quality food and service, generous portions at moderate prices and a casual atmosphere suggestive of the Australian Outback.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Variable service and quality of food”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

It is six months since I was last at this restaurant. Visited twice last week and the service and quality of food were a little disappointing. Compared with Jan and May 2013 the standard of service has deteriorated significantly and the service level has fallen to a point where the very slow service has a negative effect on the experience. One meal (chicken based) was poor, but on another day the steak was very good, albeit overcooked. On the plus side the fountain views from the terrace make the long wait more bearable :-)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulKGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    98
    37
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
301 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

One of the worst service ever. The restaurant is clean, and in a nice location in Dubai mall. They have provided us with not fully cooked buffalo wings, the wings where half cooked. I had to take it back and fry it more. The burger is very average and their steak is nice but not great. The restaurant needs attention especially with the service quality. They are very slow, you have to scream so the staff hear you.

Not recommended until they fix their management and service issue.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emirates_Arab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good, large portions of food, good service & excellent views”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

A great place to eat on a warm January evening overlooking the Dubai Fountain. We ate on the terrace and were never rushed by the staff to leave so we saw the fountain display 5 times, each time it being different. The food was very good and the portions were large. The staff were attentive without being intrusive.

Overall a great choice if you want casual dining and an uncrowded view of the fountain.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sjpoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“coming back? maybe”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

food average. service... very slow! we were seated for half an hour before they took our orders while in between trying desperately to catch their attention. not on my "return to this resto" list anymore!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margarettemikyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average starters, perfect steak”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had lunch at the Outback and loved it.

The service was great and staff very pleasant. Our food was brought to us promptly.

We had the Appetiser Combination which included friend shrimps, chicken wings and Aussie Cheese Fries. There was nothing wrong with the starters but there was nothing special about it either.

We had a Rib-eye (medium) and Chicken on Barbie for our mains. The steak was perfectly cooked and well seasoned. So much better than many bigger names (and considerably pricier menus in town). The chicken was tender and tasted really nice. I'd definitely go back again but would pick a different starter.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yasser T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing