We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not a Ritz great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai International Financial Centre
Ranked #58 of 557 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed two nights on business and was using hotel's conference facility for a company off site. Everything was ok, not great. The food was v bad and the hotel was super boring and dull! Swimming pool was not open and food was average. I believe there are much better hotels. Will stay there only if there no options

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thsamih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

Location is excellent if doing business at or near the Dubai International Financial Centre.

Staff is pleasant. Hotel and room were fine quality and had a very nice ambience. Breakfast at the Can-Can Bistro was very good and the staff very pleasant and helpful. The Concierge was very helpful and even had one of his staff escort me towards my destination in the DIFC,

My only critcisms is that it lacked some of the "extras" one might expect in a fine quality hotel. For example:

On check-in, the bathroom counter still contained a discarded toothbrush box which had not been discarded.

The lamp next to the desk did not work. When I checked it out, it did not have a lightbulb. I mentioned this to the staff person doing the afternoon check of the room, however, the bulb was never replaced during my brief stay.

The coffee pot did not work. I called housekeeping and they quickly rectified the situation.

There was no adequate place to use the hairdryer. No outlets at all in the bath area. The only available outlet was next to the phone by the bed. No mirror and the cord was too short.

Wireless interent service was approximately US$28 per day. The price was a bit outrageous I thought.

Other than that, it is a very nice businesss hotel. This is my first visit ever to a Ritz Carlton and perhaps my expectations were higher.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mliccar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

5 minutes (or less) walk to the DIFC, great service, large rooms and bathrooms, lots of wardrobe space, a highly recommended business hotel especially for DIFC visitors. I especially like the nice touch such as the electric mirror (also a tv) in the bathroom where you can continue to watch the news while you get ready.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatTemplar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I stayed here on a recent business trip to Dubai. The hotel is grand. The property, and in particular the rooms, are beautiful. I expect top quality from the Ritz Carlton, and I received it. I also liked the good sized gym.

I would say that the prices are typical "over-the-top" Dubai. For example, the buffet breakfast, which is not anything special for a five star restaurant in Dubai, was AED 162, in my mind "over-the-top" as I said. For this reason, I would probably not stay here if it was "on my own dime".

I ate one night at the steakhouse. The food was top quality, but once again, quite pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron_Adkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Everything is under professionalism sign in this hotel:
- room : spacious, with comfortable yet soft bed, the bathroom to the lengths of the room had a window wall to the room. Luxurious!
- Breakfast: delicious! Fresh and very good service
- Front desk: helpful and professional (though the TV problem solving took one day they did their best).
- One should be advised that the beer costs 9 Euros and a glass of wine 20 Euros. In the hotel as in other hotels the dress code is less strict regarding short dresses, strapless dresses, or shorts and flip-flops for men. Only if men do go for a dinner or night club they need to wear long trousers and closed shoes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarmenEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I can't honestly say I'm fully qualified to comment on this hotel considering (due to a delayed inbound flight) I checked in at 2am and out at 8am!
However, check-in and check-out were reasonably swift, room service was prompt but expensive (US$35 for a plate of fries and some pineapple!).
Rooms are spacious with lots of modern gadgets (TV in the bathroom mirror, remote control electric blinds, Nespresso machine etc) and the bed is really comfortable.
My only issue - one that I did not raise with management as there was too little time during my visit - was there was no temperature control on the walk in shower! A strange omission, I know, but the knob where is should have been was missing. I suspect this may reflect teething issues in a new hotel rather than any serious issues in its management.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Great place to stay , Conference halls situated in the same hotel , great. and great buffet breakfast , The rooms are top quality and best i stayed in a long time , Lobby is small but , hardly mattered , The thai restaurant was indeed great , and service there excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
Armani Hotel Dubai
#23 of 557 in Dubai
1,872 reviews
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#18 of 557 in Dubai
642 reviews
Palazzo Versace Dubai
#25 of 557 in Dubai
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai International Financial Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai International Financial Centre

Address: Difc 4 St | Gate Village, DIFC, off Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai 482032, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Dubai
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#42 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#51 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#74 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $250 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai International Financial Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai International Financial Centre is located in Dubai’s most vibrant destination for business, restaurants, leisure and the arts. Standing 14 stories high, our hotel in Dubai, United Arab Emirates epitomizes understated luxury and elegance behind the handsome limestone façade. The Ritz-Carlton Spa, indoor and outdoor pools and 3 lounges make the hotel a dynamic setting and opulent retreat for any affluent traveler. Guests can enjoy our outstanding business and leisure facilities, whilst benefiting from a direct walkway to The Gate, at the heart of DIFC, plus the added convenience of the city of Dubai at their fingertips. Premier attractions including Dubai Mall, Burj Khalifa and the World Trade Centre are just minutes away, along with two metro stations and the diverse downtown Dubai nightlife. The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai International Financial Centre is the perfect spot from which to explore the Middle East’s most exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai International Financial Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai International Financial Centre Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing