We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only Fake. Worst place for tourists” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dubai Spice Souk

Dubai Spice Souk
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Dubai Heritage History Culture and Shopping Tour Including Dubai Museum
Ranked #64 of 386 things to do in Dubai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Shopping at Traditional Souks, such as Dubai Spice Souks, exposes travelers to Arab style marketplaces where goods are bought and sold. Bargaining allows you to acquire different commodities, such as spice, gold, textiles and perfumes.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only Fake. Worst place for tourists”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I bought safran at the spice souq for 10Dh/gram ($3/gram). The shop clearks were not kind and they don't discount so much. Anyway I bought some.

When I returned home, I tried to cook safran rice, however, amazingly the rice became "bright purple pink!" not yellow. What's this!!!? There is no smell of safran and I spoiled all my rice in the cooker. Safran was fake and I needed to throw all of them away. This is my worst memory at Dubai.

Don't go to the spice souq.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank YourTripAdviser2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    366
    278
    99
    43
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Osaka
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never buy fake suffron!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

As some people already said, it is terribly annoying to walk there. If you try to bargain or leave, they'll get angry. The price is not low. Moreover, they push you espesially expensive kinds of spice such as suffron or vanilla beans. But the suffron is fake! As I cooked suffron rice, the rice got disgusting pink. Never go there!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank oxo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Aromatic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Spice souk is situates in Deira, Dubai. It is near to Gold Souk. The moment you enter the alley you can smell the aroma of fresh spices. It is authentic, traditional market which takes you 70-80 years back in time. There are lot of stores which sell spices, souvenirs, trinkets, utensils etc.
We bought Iranian saffron here. You have to bargain a lot if you want to buy anything.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AMGOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Lovely, authentic feel of a spice souk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Most of the places in Dubai have a cosmopolitan/western feel. We were looking for a place that would give us an authentic traditional market feeling. We found it here and in the Textile souk.

Spice souk & Gold souk are in Deira. Lots of shops selling spices, souvenirs, trinkets etc... As usual there are touts trying to sell imitation items (watches, handbags etc...) - ignore them and don't let it spoil your stroll.

Honestly, you will get your regular spices at a better price and more fresh in your nearest supermarket, asian superstore but you can get a few specialty items here if you are looking for some. Good place to buy souvenirs and trinkets, don't forget to haggle though.

The Textile souk is in Bur Dubai (across the creek). You can catch an abra (water taxi) from a nearby abra station (old souk station) for 1 dirhams and cross over to the Bur-Dubai side. It drops you near to the textile souk area where you can continue your stroll.

We didn't buy any spices at the spice souk as we get our regular supply from India (where it is more fresh and at a much better price). Having said that it is a good stroll through both the spice souk and the textile souk including the ride in the abra if you get tired of all the glitzy mall selling overpriced items

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank raghuhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
521 reviews
287 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“As expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I like walking around taking in all the smells and seeing the spices in big bags and you can buy spices at a fraction of the price in Denmark.
I like all the narrow streets and if you are able to ignore all the sellers it is definately worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LPHDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubai Spice Souk also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Dubai Spice Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing