We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near airport and metro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel
Ranked #126 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The staff are amazingly helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet offers an excellent choice and quality. Executive package with access to the lounge is a good deal. Roof top swimming pool a great place to unwind after a long flight. Vey close to metro stop Abu Baker, which is very cheap and easy to use to get around the city and to the airport. We used the free hotel shuttle service to the palm to get a day on the beach, which was great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

We really appreciate that you have taken the time to write about your stay experience with us.
We of course also appreciate your special mentioning of our team members and your praise for the Breakfast buffet and the overall facilities we are offering.
I am certain your feedback will assist other travels in making a choice as where to book in Dubai.
Thank you very much once again for your posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,054 - 1,060 of 1,726 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Absolutely the best warm wonderful service!! Best comparison to the quality of service would be like a better cruise line. Good fitness center. Club room is nice. Great breakfast buffet. Very comfortable room (great pillows). We had a couple dinners at the restaurant (start with the cold mixed meze - very good, great price) which were pretty good.

But, getting back to the service, I have to give kudo's to some wonderful staff members: George Farouk - who assisted changing our reservation from another hotel in Doha to the Moevenpick City Doha, after we became absolutely in love with the Moevenpick service at the Deira location. Ola at the service desk whose quick thinking got us to the Souk Madinet easily on a Friday morning (when the metro is closed) on the hotel shuttle to Palm Island. Rodel who arranged transportation to Abu Dhabi. And, Michael for wonderful service in the club lounge.

It is the great service that really sets this hotel apart!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your amazing review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you have enjoyed your stay and our team members namely George, Ola, Rodel and Michael were able to provide you with outstanding service. Your post has been shared with all of them. Once again your post is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff and mainly helpful. Rooms comfy and clean. Sufficiently lit. Buffet lunch and dinner has international and local delights. Price wise another on the high side. You can get more dinning outside in the local Deli Dhabas.
Wifi in rooms has poor or very bad receptions. Signals is low for a small hotel. Wifi speeds also slow. On the whole not worth paying for the package. You can't even do a decent Skype call.
Locality wise is nearby the airport and takes abt Max 30mins with traffic jams. Has a shuttle to nearby malls once a day for drop off and pickup.
On the whole a acceptable hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your continuing support towards the Moevenpick Hotel in Deira. Your comments are noted and we are glad that on the overall you did enjoy your stay.

Your comment on the slow Internet is further noted. Our IT Team is working alongside our technical team to improve the speed and the connectivity of the Internet. Once again we are glad you chose to stay with us and do look forward to being of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Our first stay in Dubai and we're so pleased we took this two day stopover to explore it. The Movenpick Hotel Deira was recommended by our travel agent. We probably wouldn't have chosen this location because its not really the most scenic spot. However, our package included airport transfers and with and the fabulous Dubai metro just a short walk from the hotel the location wasn't an issue for us. Our stay was very pleasant and the room was spacious, practical and comfortable.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful but in particular the concierge, Nisath, was simply amazing. We returned from an outing about 10 minutes late and found we had just missed the pick up bus for our prepaid adventure tours Dune Safari and dinner. Nisath told us not to worry and called the company and tried everything he could to get them to come back and collect us. In the end, when they wouldn't return without charging us an extra $300AED he advised us he could do better than that and called another tour agency (Arabian Nights) and explained our plight. Arabian Nights were very obliging and Nisath even got them to do a special deal on the price for us, plus come and collect us straight away. If it wasn't for him we would have missed an amazing experience. His attitude was simply "its my job to help you and I'll do everything I can to turn this into a happy experience."
We have been travelling in Europe and UK for three months, stayed in over 40 hotels, and this level of service isn't typical of our experiences, so we think it deserves recognition.
In general, the hotel was very pleasant, the breakfasts and dinner we had there were ample / simple, not amazing. We couldn't hear the planes from inside the hotel, but when on the sun terrace they made conversation hard - one every 40 seconds! We rated this hotel high largely because - "the people maketh the place!"

Room Tip: Check that the room you are getting matches the photos shown on the hotel'sbooking site or booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with the TripAdvisor community. I was extremely proud to read that Nisath was able to help you and to ensure you would not have missed the safari experience. Please rest assured that your comments are shared with Nisath and the team here at the hotel. Nisath’s attitude can certainly be used for training purposes as well as a motivational factor for our employees here in the hotel. We are glad to learn that you labeled your experience “people make places” and we thank you for that. We do hope you had a great return journey and do look forward to being of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I don't have much to say about the hotel itself. Generally good with no major flaws.
The hotel is about 10 minutes drive from the airport, which makes it perfect if you are catching an early morning flight. It's also relatively close to the gold and spice souk.
However it's quite far from the Burj Kalifa and from the beach, like 40 minutes drive.
They have a free shuttle to the beach with complimentary access to an amazing beach club, but the shuttle just goes twice a day and only from the hotel to the beach.
If you plan to spend most time
at the beach or in the shopping mall area consider choosing another hotel.

The swimming pool is small and being the hotel close to the airport, you will hear quite a lot of noise. Not ideal if you plan to relax.

So, to sum it up this is a good hotel if your priority is to be close to the airport, but not a good option if you want to be close to malls, landmarks and beach.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Marinillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your stay and your feedback. We are glad that on the overall you did enjoy
your stay with us. We do hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights as a stopover en route to Europe. The rate was advertised on the Qantas website as a special deal which seemed reasonable at the time for what was meant to be a 5 star hotel. However it turned out to be an expensive 4 star at best. Nothing like 5 star hotels in North America, Asia or Australia. The lobby area looks cheap and the executive lounge is nothing special.

At check in we were offered an upgrade for the use of the Executive Lounge for $60 per room per night. A good offer as breakfast in the restaurant is $30 per person. The use of the lounge included complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea & hors d'oeuvres during cocktail hour in the lounge & free wifi in the room. However the person checking us in didn't tell us that breakfast in the lounge is more of a limited continental breakfast rather than a full breakfast which is offered in the restaurant (& included as part of the upgrade package). The restaurant breakfast was great - lots of choices including made to order omelettes.

Rooms are well appointed, although the bathroom small & the shower over a deep bath - awkward to get in & out of & would be easy for older people to slip & fall. Also there was an opaque window between the shower/ bath & the room which was a little too revealing when sharing with a friend - might be fine if you're sharing with a partner.

Small but nice pool area with attentive staff. Staff in the restaurant were attentive during breakfast but not during dinner - very slow service despite the restaurant being only about one third full. Concierge very knowledgable & helpful.

The hotel is located about 10 minutes from the airport & a 5 - 10 minute walk from the nearest Metro station which gives easy access to downtown & is cheap & safe to ride. However there is nothing in the local area of particular interest. The proximity to the airport made it quite noisy with planes overhead every few minutes. Didn't actually wake us up but was very obvious once awake & trying to get back to sleep.

The biggest irritation during the 3 day stay was being locked out of the room every day & having to go back to reception each time to have the room card reprogrammed. Likewise the wifi was shut down each day. I can understand this happening once but not every day. In addition I was staying with a friend & we were checking out at different times (due to different onwards destinations) & the staff found it impossible to meet our request to split the bill. Again, this should not present a problem in a 5 star hotel.

Overall, a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyToscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

I am truly sorry to read of your disappointment with the hotel services and facilities offered. Your comments in regards to the services provided as well as the attentiveness of our team members
are noted and please rest assured that I will personally address these points to ensure rectification. The difficulties with the Internet and door lock problem are also noted and we are working alongside our gateway provider to find a solution to ease access to the Internet landing page and to provide a stable connection. Please do accept my apologies for the shortfalls you experienced during your short stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during the Eid holiday. We were upgraded to an executive suite upon arrival and the room was fabulous. We had breakfast each morning and thought it was just fine...not fantastic but very pleasant. The hotel is very close to the mass transit line and its really simple and easy to use. There's really no need to use taxis. We took advantage of the free shuttle to the "sister" resort located in Jumeirah. The pool was great but we found out that we were essential 'stuck' at the pool with not a whole lot to do thereafter. We ended up catching a cab to the nearby mall. We found the overall service of the hotel to be great. Our only issue was that the hotel is very close to the airport and there is plenty of air traffic going in and out of the airport. By early morning, the airport is in full swing so be prepared to wake-up early. Aside from this matter, we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

I am glad to read that you liked the Executive Suite which was allocated to you during your stay and that we were able to meet your expectations in terms of services provided. We noted your comment on the variety of food items for breakfast and the latter has been shared with our Culinary Team for their reference and action. I am truly sorry you were disturbed by the noise from the airport as the entire hotel has been triple glassed to keep the exterior noise out of the rooms and to provide a calm environment for our guests. We do hope to welcome you again soon to the Moevenpick Hotel Deira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
#155 of 561 in Dubai
953 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Dubai
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubai Al Muraqabat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Deira
0.6 mi away
Flora Grand Hotel
Flora Grand Hotel
#122 of 561 in Dubai
2,230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carlton Palace Hotel
Carlton Palace Hotel
#223 of 561 in Dubai
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel

Address: Deira Abu Baker Al Siddique Rd | Corner Abu Baker Al Siddique and Sallahuddin Road, Dubai 234344, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Movenpick Hotel Deira)
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: $86 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most diverse and culturally rich parts of the city AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel is ideally situated, just ten minutes away from Dubai International Airport and from the world-famous Gold Souk. Close to several shopping malls and the Dubai Metro, the hotel is well-placed for guests wanting to explore Deira's vibrant winding and historic Creek area, were local "abra" water taxis ply their trade. From the seven naturally-lit meeting rooms, including a fully-equipped business centre, to the hotel's restaurants, AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel offers five-star service to business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing