We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel
Ranked #111 of 551 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was in this hotel for 5 nights in executive room,every things in the room and hotel was perfect.large and clean room has two LCD TV with full furniture,every thigs you want is ready in this calm room...you can use free drinks and snaks(executive rooms).There is free shuttle to oceana club in jomeira beach,a joyfull place for leisure...Hotel staff are coaprative and polite and everythings in this hotel is very good,thank you moevenpic hotel deira!
I will be back to your hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mehrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was further a pleasure to read your comment on the Oceana Beach Club. Please rest assured your feedback about our team members and our service has been shared to everyone as it is rewarding and motivating receiving positive comments. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    497
    134
    39
    24
See reviews for
399
508
129
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I quote from a website: " In 4-star hotels, the staff knows what they are supposed to do, and they have an idea about what great service is. In a 5 star establishment, excellence is demanded from everyone every day. Mistakes are always reviewed. Follow through is always done. The best employees are always recognized. Everyone works like they have a personal stake in the property. To put it bluntly, good is never good enough…employees in 5 star properties strive to be perfect all the time."

Then I must say I did not receive 5-star treatment in Movenpick Deira Hotel when I was there from 21 to 24 Mar 2013.

The hotel was very pleasant, comfortable, quiet and well kept, but that's about it. If I read the website correctly, this is what is expected of a 4-star hotel.

Firstly, on the night I checked in, I requested for 2 dental kits and 1 shaving kit, because this 5-star hotel did not provide any in the bathroom. We also wanted to go to the nearby supermarket to get something but we waited for 20 minutes. After 20 minutes, we decided to stop waiting and went out. After we came back, still nothing. I went to sleep without brushing my teeth (eeekks). The next morning, we we had to call again for the dental and shaving kits, else we would have gone out for sightseeing with smelly breathes and tardy looks.

I realized I did not get a newspaper in the morning from Mr 5-star. I thought, maybe because I did not request for it. So stupid me went to the concierge desk (the check in counter refuse to attend to me and told me to go to the concierge desk, which is labeled as bell desk by the way), and requested for an English papers for the next morning. It didn't came, for the next 2 mornings. Why I didn't request again? Oh, I think I'm too lazy to go around begging for amenities and newspapers.

On the third evening, I came back to my room to find my shirt crumbled and stuffed behind the flat screen tv. My husband said "Well, you threw it on the bed right?". Oh yes, I did lay my shirt on the bed, but after that the housekeeping decided it will be better to stuff it behind the tv. That's my fault.

I was initially struggling about paying so much more to stay in a 5-star hotel, and of course I had anticipated so much more in return. The above episodes gave me such disappointments that I had overlooked the lack of fresh flowers, no taxi-hailing voluntarily by the staff, the one-quarter full welcome drink, terrible plane noise at the pool, etc.

Did I tell you they don't provide combs as well? No problem, I bought one at the nearby supermarket.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
I was most concerned to learn about your disappointing stay experience with us and at the outset, I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused. The services you received and as described are certainly not reflective of our usual high standards and I am truly sorry we were not able to meet with your expectations.

Your detailed feedback has been addressed with the respective Department Heads to investigate the shortfalls and to ensure the appropriate actions are taken where required.

I have further noted the incident with your crumpled shirt stuffed behind the flat screen TV. To be able to identify who was assigned to your room, I would very much appreciate if you could contact me on hotel.deira@moevenpick.com so I could gather more details from you. Your additional feedback would be very valuable to us to take action and to prevent re occurrences.

Once again, we are truly sorry and I do look forward to hearing from you with more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked 5 executive rooms for our wedding anniversary with 8 friends. We were all upgraded free of charge to junior and executive suites. The staff presented us with a anniversary cake and beautiful flowers. This is a fantastic city centre hotel near the airport and shopping areas. It has its own pool on the roof and also access to another beautiful pool on the beach with free daily transport. The executive lounge is fantastic. This was our second visit to this hotel. Will definitely go again. Thank you for making our stay special.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nchoprasoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Once again, congratulations on your wedding anniversary. We are glad that we were able to contribute to a special stay for yourself and your friends. It is a pleasure to read that on the overall, you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Dubai. This was a nice hotel to stay in. We made use of the free shuttle to the Ocean Beach Club at Palm Jumeirah. Also we had an executive room so got free drinks which was definitely worth paying for! Staff were helpful and friendly. Would recommend

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AceyGracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us and with the Trip Advisor Community. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and to read about your recommendations. We do look forward to be of service to you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great hotel, don't hesitate to book it...you will have a wonderful stay.

We arranged for transportation from the airport and had no problems, driver was waiting at airport when we arrived even though our flight was delayed almost 2 hours.

We arrived at 2 in the morning and were warmly greeted by Bashar at reception who was very friendly and attentive. Our room was ready and prepared as requested - due to health issues we had asked for a strictly non smoking room and they took note of that which we greatly appreciated.

We chose to book the Junior suite and take advantage of the club benefits which was a great decision. Business lounge benefits include a nice selection of light snacks throughout the day, and water, juice and alcoholic beverages are also available.The room was very large, clean and comfortable, perfect for our family of 3 but could easily accommodate a family of 2 adults/2children. Two large tvs in the room with lots of great channels. Plenty of storage space in both bedroom and bathroom which was huge - double sinks, separate tub and shower.

Water and tea/coffee are complimentary, there's a nespresso machine in the room.

Internet service is very fast and reliable.

The location is really very good! Only a 5 min walk to metro, easy access by metro to Dubai mall, souks, and other parts of the city. They also offer free shuttles to various locations - Oceana the Palm Jumeirah (their beach club), mirdif city centre, dubai outlet mall and deira city centre. It is near the airport and you can sometimes hear the airplanes flying by but it did not interfere with our quality of sleep at all. We were actually surprised at how quiet the room was, even though we were on the 4th floor and facing the street.

There is a market right beside the hotel (closes at 2 am), a 24 hr hyper market across the street, and a pharmacy also nearby.

Breakfast is very, very good. Great selection of breads, cheese, cold cuts, fruits, an egg station and lots of arabic breakfast staples too.

The service everywhere in this hotel is spectacular - from reception, to the restaurant, to gym, pool, even at the Rivoli gift shop. Sam at the restaurant was wonderful and always greeted us with a big smile, great start to the day. There are a few other people who stood out but unfortunately I can't remember their names. The main restaurant (where breakfast is) is open 24hs and children under a certain age (can't remember the exact cut off age) eat for free whether they eat from the buffet or a la carte.

The pool is small but it's fit for purpose, even though it can be hard to find a sun chair. But since it's in the terrace you get more sun than if the pool were located on the ground floor, which is a big plus!

And last but not least, don't miss the chocolate hour every day from 5 to 6pm at the lobby. Different treats everyday made with the finest Swiss chocolates, yum!
We were lucky enough to meet executive chef Salvatore Silvestrino in one of those afternoons, and what a pleasure that was -he gave us the most delicious dates to try at chocolate hour accompanied by great conversation!

Our only feedback would be to make the loyalty program free to join.

Room Tip: The junior suite was large and perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 3hearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your detailed feedback is greatly appreciated. I am certain it will help other travellers to make decisions on their accommodation in Dubai. Your comments, notes and praise have been shared with the entire team here at the hotel as it is motivating and rewarding to receive such positive feedback. We would also like to thank you on behalf of Chef Salvatore, as he really enjoyed your conversation. Thank you once again for your support of the Moevenpick Hotel Deira.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed there January 2013 with my family. We decided to go for junior suite and use club floor services. Great decission and worth of the small supplement. Room was big and spacious for 3 people. Small balcony overviewing airport and metro. The club services where just great and we enjoyed a lot the happy hours. Dont miss the All you can eat night in Wok In restaurant. Great selection of sushi, asahi beer and saké. Clean roof top pool. Although the hotel is not in the prime location and the planes are flying just above you, it has an easy access. Metro 200m, various shuttles to the malls and to their beach club at the Palm Jumeirah. It is far better to stay here than being in some hotel at the beach and end up by paying double. We will definitely consider this hotel for the next stay.

Room Tip: Dont hesitate to get upgrade for club rooms, the extra services are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Petr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback in TripAdvisor. It is good to know that you had an enjoyable experience and appreciate the comments from your stay last January 2012. We are glad that you overall like our hotel facilities and the services we provide made your stay an enjoyable one. We do hope to welcome you back to Moevenpick Hotel Deira.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great hotel with fantastic location
Front desk staff was great
Helped me with a early check in even thought I had not requested
Very lovely stay and it was my second time here
Definetly wil visit again
Breakfast spread is also great
Keep it up

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaheeda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anke G, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. We are glad to read that you have once again enjoyed your stay with us.

We also do appreciate your positive comments about breakfast. We are looking forward to being of service to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
#126 of 551 in Dubai
895 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Regis Kris Kin Hotel
0.9 mi away
Carlton Palace Hotel
Carlton Palace Hotel
#208 of 551 in Dubai
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Asiana Hotel Dubai
Asiana Hotel Dubai
#261 of 551 in Dubai
222 reviews
18.2 mi away
Ghaya Grand Hotel
Ghaya Grand Hotel
#56 of 551 in Dubai
696 reviews
0.8 mi away
Al Ghurair Hotel
Al Ghurair Hotel
#79 of 551 in Dubai
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel

Property: AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel
Address: Deira Abu Baker Al Siddique Rd | Corner Abu Baker Al Siddique and Sallahuddin Road, Dubai 234344, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Movenpick Hotel Deira)
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 551 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most diverse and culturally rich parts of the city AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel is ideally situated, just ten minutes away from Dubai International Airport and from the world-famous Gold Souk. Close to several shopping malls and the Dubai Metro, the hotel is well-placed for guests wanting to explore Deira's vibrant winding and historic Creek area, were local "abra" water taxis ply their trade. From the seven naturally-lit meeting rooms, including a fully-equipped business centre, to the hotel's restaurants, AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel offers five-star service to business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing