We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel
Ranked #129 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights. Got a good deal through their website. The customer service was good, the room was spacious and clean with ample space to walk around, the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was also a good size. We got complimentary chocolates every night. Thank you!
Location is convenient, 10 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes to the "new" Dubai. The metro/train is across the street, although we never used it because taxis are SUPER cheap!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leilani88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Leilani88,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. The hotel team and I look forward to welcome you and your husband again in Moevenpick Hotel Deira on your next visit to Dubai.

Warm Regards,

Michael Nugent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,216 - 1,222 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in October. Everything about this hotel was excellent and if i return to Dubai again, this will be by hotel! The service (and help) you get from the staff is excellent.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It is not that far from airport and you have bus station and metro station very close by if you prefer going around by public transportation. Gold souk and spice souk are also very close by.

The hotel rooms are sound proof. You will hear no sound of airplanes or traffic.

Highly recommended to all!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lightonthestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear lightonthestreet,

The hotel team joins me to thank you for having taken the time to write such nice review. We are always happy to see that our guests leave the hotel happy and satisfied with the services we provided them.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again on your next trip to Dubai.

Warm Regards,

Michael Nugent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Sorry but a 5* hotel should have 5* maintenance standards, 5* service and 5* food. I stayed here for 5 nights.

Check-in did not go as planned - they had no record of my e-mail sent to take advantage of their online upgrade to an executive room for AED120 and tried to charge me AED190 instead, which I refused. Eventually the guy talked to the manager who upgraded me to a suite free of charge, which was nice.

Except the suite was really badly-designed (you try re-packing a suitcase when there's nowhere within 20 m to fold clothes) and some of the basics didn't work: main living room a/c was blasting out freezing air when turned off, which meant I couldn't sit on the sofa to watch TV. Several light bulbs were out. Curtains off their hooks.

Food was pretty average. Breakfast was very crowded even at 7:30am (worse at 9:00am on the last day) and the items weren't replenished fast enough. I also had to eat there at lunchtimes with business colleagues and had 2 dinners there - same buffet ingredients lunchtime and evenings (even re-using lunchtime salads in the evening in a different guise), and not a cooked vegetable in sight. OK so they did bring me some when I asked, and the food was reasonably OK, but this is not what I expect from a 5*. There's no a la carte menu so you can't choose from that either. The second restaurant - the Wok - was closed for refurbishment; there was nothing on the website to indicate that (the website overall is pretty poor - no mention of a pool even).

To be honest, when you're on a business trip working on the premises 8am-5pm as well as sleeping there, it's these kinds of things that make the difference between an 'average' and a 'great' hotel. I've stayed at Traders over the road several times and to be honest I would go back there rather than stay here again if I had a choice.

BTW the service and catering in the meeting room space on the first floor is fantastic - screen far too small for delegates to see from the back of the room, though.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel. The overhead Dubai metro runs right past the rooms on the front, so avoid the 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BudeSeaPoolSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear AuntieSueCornwall,

Thank you for your constructive feedback and for having taken the time to review the hotel on Trip advisor. I have requested our team to look at each and every point you have mentioned as we do not accept a drop in quality of service or in the product we provide. The point you have raised with regards to the upgrade price does surprise me as we have a price parity policy and our Revenue manager is now investigating. Our executive chef is conducting additional trainings to ensure the flows of items in the breakfast buffet are always replenished on time for the guests such as you not to suffer. I can assure you that none of the salads are re-used after their display in the restaurant as it goes against any hygiene rules.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and I sincerely hope this will not stop you from using Mövenpick Hotels and Resorts in the future.

Warm Regards,

Michael Nugent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for seven days on a recent business visit to Dubai. The hotel is well located just down from the Metro Station which provides great access to Bur Dubai. Although the hotel is on the main flight path from the airport don't let this put you off, the rooms are well sound proofed. The only downside to the hotel is the limited pool space, but a short trip on the free transfer takes you to another Movenpick hotel with beach and pool facilties. The staff can't help you enough during your stay which really does add to the pleasure of this superb hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Anthony H,

Thank you for having taken the time to review the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are all delighted to read good reviews and always seek improvement for the property. We hope to welcome you again in the hotel on your next visit to Dubai.

Warm Regards,

Michael Nugent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We decided to book the Moevenpick Deira, because we wanted a mixture of city and beach. And all our wishes were fulfilled perfectly! The service and the whole staff was totally friendly and answered all of our questions immediately.
When you don't mind hearing some airplanes at the pool, but having the metro station within 2 minutes of walk, this hotel is the perfect one for you. Worth the 5 stars!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear eishockeycrack1 ,

Thank you for this very kind review and attention. The hotel has indeed a very unique connection to the beach club which makes it very attractive to Guests on Vacation as well as guests on business as we are very well located in Deira.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in Moevenpick Hotel Deira soon,

Warm Regards,

Michael Nugent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The first thing that happend was that we received a free upgrade to an executive room which was sooo nice, big and cream. Free wine (shiraz, i.e not bad at all), drinks and finger food every evening and free afternoon tea with cake buffet every afternoon. The service was great, everyone was smiling allthroughout the week. The location isnt the best but then again, you need to take a cab everywhere in Dubai so it didnt matter. Metro station was also just a couple of minutes away. The beachclub (shuttle going there for free) is sooo nice with an amazing view over the skyline from the infinity pool . If someone from Mövenpick is reading this, thank you so much for this, you should really be happy with all that great staff, especially the man working in the entrance (from Kenya) was so helpful!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarolineAlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear KarolineAlf,

Thank you very much for sharing your pleasant stay with us on tripadvisor. It means a lot to the team when they get to read that our guests enjoyed their stay in the property as well as its facilities.

We all hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in Moevenpick Hotel Deira soon,

Warm Regards,

Michael Nugent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Far from the beach and of course no view, nevertheless it is conviniet if you are in Dubai for a conference or meeting, and still you can go to the the hotel private beach ( by free shuttle). Friendly staff, spacious rooms with clean bathrooms. Breakfast was not great, and dinner can be improved. Gym and swimming pool are convinient and clean. Very close to the hotel there is a pharmacy, iraninian resturant and there is a 24h supermarket across the street.

Room Tip: do not expect a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rami I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear ramiJordan,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. As mentioned on previous reviews, we are continuously working on our breakfast buffet and hope to please majority of our guests soon.
I hope this will not stop you from using the hotel when you are in Dubai.

We look forward to welcome you once more,

Warm Regards,

Michael Nugent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
#156 of 561 in Dubai
963 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubai Al Muraqabat
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Deira
18.2 mi away
Ghaya Grand Hotel
Ghaya Grand Hotel
#25 of 561 in Dubai
1,104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flora Grand Hotel
Flora Grand Hotel
#131 of 561 in Dubai
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel

Address: Deira Abu Baker Al Siddique Rd | Corner Abu Baker Al Siddique and Sallahuddin Road, Dubai 234344, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Movenpick Hotel Deira)
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: $81 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most diverse and culturally rich parts of the city AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel is ideally situated, just ten minutes away from Dubai International Airport and from the world-famous Gold Souk. Close to several shopping malls and the Dubai Metro, the hotel is well-placed for guests wanting to explore Deira's vibrant winding and historic Creek area, were local "abra" water taxis ply their trade. From the seven naturally-lit meeting rooms, including a fully-equipped business centre, to the hotel's restaurants, AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel offers five-star service to business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing