We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel
Ranked #101 of 540 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Have spent three nights with the family in this hotel and must confess was disappointed after having been at the Moevenpick IBN Battuta gate last year.
On the plus side, rooms are large and well furnished, bathroom is also very nice, everything was clean and spotless. There are couple of food outlet in/adjacent to the hotel with different kinds of food (oriental, iranian etc.). Especially the Asian restaurant in the main lobby and the Iranian restaurant on the first floor of the mall across the hotel serve genuine and tasty food at very reasonable prices, unlike many other restaurants in Dubai.
And now the negatives. Since the primary purpose of our holiday was beach and relaxation, It was a shame that the shuttle to the beach club Oceana was constantly fully booked and the hotel did not provide an alternative. Plus, you have to collect towels at the hotel and then bring them back, it is not possible to collect them directly at the Oceana. This is different from the IBN Battuta, which had very reliable shuttle service with larger vans and ready to ride twice if it was overbooked, and towels could be collected directly at the Oceana. Therefore if going to the beach is your main reason to choose this hotel, don't do it!
Another problem is the noise of planes leaving/landing at Dubai airport, as the rooms are practically a stone's throw from runways, there should be a much better noise isolation! Finally the tiny swimming pool in an uncosy environment and the old gym let this hotel down especially as compared to other hotels of the same chain.
Probably I am being too negative about the hotel, but I also have to admit that the reasonable price partly make up for these issues, and if there is availability you can bargain with check-in personnel to have a royal suite on the club floor for an exceptional price that would be unthinkable for Dubai standards!

Room Tip: Ask for deals for club floor rooms and suites, the lounge looked beautiful and the suites are huge a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarloBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, Operations Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear CarloBrussels,

Thank you very much for your review, on behalf of the hotel team, I wish you a Happy and Prosperous year 2012.

I appreciate your feedback and am glad to inform you that we now have a bigger bus to do the shuttles to Oceana, we also have revisited the issuance of towels and collection of towels to improve the service. Our Sister property Ibn Battuta Gate is able to provide additional shuttles due to the proximity to Oceana. I am surprised about the noise volume you have heard as our rooms have triple glazed windows, nevertheless, we have since then requested our engineering team to look into the matter.

Thank you once again for your review and I sincerely hope to have you again in Mövenpick Hotel Deira.

Warm Regards,

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    481
    130
    37
    19
See reviews for
382
487
119
305
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Amazing service and allways with a smile , Thanks à lot and the bell desk guys are amazing

// Nicos

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrZabaklis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, Operations Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear MrZabaklis

On behalf of the hotel team, I wish you a Happy New Year 2012, thank you very much for your review.
We all look forward to welcome you again in Mövenpick Hotel Deira soon,

Kind Regards,

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

We booked this hotel because we got a great deal on a suite, including breakfast, and free WiFi. We knew it was in the city centre but we were going for a bit of winter sun and were comforted by the fact that they had access to the beach club down on the Palm. We also had access to the Executive Lounge where we enjoyed complimentary happy hour and canapés from 6 to 8 pm.

The beach club made it for us although be aware it can be up to a 45 minute journey, if not longer in bad traffic but as quick as 25 minutes on a good run. Definitely go there as this is an excellent place with its quality own bar and restaurant and stacks of sun beds.

Because the hotel was in the city centre and some of the restaurants we wanted to go to were down near the beach it was a bit of a "trek" to get their sometimes although the taxis are very cheap.

The only two complaints that we had was that the room was not cleaned on one day as it appeared that the staff started to clean it and were then called away and forgot to go back! Not a big deal as they quickly put that right.

Secondly we were supposed to be picked up from the airport but instead of looking for our name on the normal handheld boards we were told that we should have looked for the name of the hotel as they do not put clients names on the boards! That said we got a taxi to the airport which was actually half the price that the hotel were charging for a pickup.

So that the same problem did not occur, on our way back to the airport as we were being provided with a complimentary service because of the mix up, we made sure that the previous evening all of the arrangements were in place. Not so because when we asked where our car was we were told that it was picking us up at 10 am when in fact that was the time of our flight and we had agreed at 7.30 the previous evening.

That said they quickly arrange a taxi which they paid for so apart from the annoyance of not getting it right I couldn't complain about their service.

I am not sure if I would stay there again just because of the proximity of the place but overall it was a very good value hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HonestDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, Operations Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear HonestDavid,


I would like to thank you for your review on trip Advisor. All your comments have been dealt with internally and on behalf of the hotel team, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by these. I certainly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in Mövenpick Hotel Deira.

Once again, thank you for your comments

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Good hotel to stay although to close to the airport, so a bit noisy. The rooms are big and confortable. Breakfast it's a bit boring after a few days. The hotel is near the tube, but taxis are very cheap. Concernige service it's the best. They resolved and arranged everything we asked for. I really recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VYP19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, Operations Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Dear VYP19

On behalf of the hotel team here at the Mövenpick Hotel Deira, I would like to thank you for your review. Our executive chef is looking into the breakfast to get some alternative changes to ensure all taste are fulfilled. I sincerely hope to have you back in the hotel soon.

Warm Regards,

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Went there with my wife & 7 year old daughter recently.

I read all the previous reviews with sceptism. Surely the hotel wasn't as good as they say. I was right...it was BETTER.

I am probably the world's biggest hotel critic having travelled extensively but I have to say I was impressed by the fautless service, delicious breakfast and genuine (not made up) 5 star quality of Movenpick Deira.

Spacious, spotless rooms and a great executive lounge that served some fantastic treats each day/eve.

The location is better than Jumeirah beach (which you can get a free shuttle to anyway AND chill in their sister hotel Oceana) and there are tons of shops, supermarkets, malls etc within walking distance (something Jumeirah beach hotels lack).

Bad points: Having to leave.

Honestly, you can't book better. I will return.

Room Tip: Come out and turn right and walk 200 yards, cross the road to the mall. Great place for shopping, di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poseidonxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, Operations Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Poseidonxxx,

On behalf of the hotel team, a very big thank you for your kind review. All employees of the hotel work very hard to please all the guests and when they read a review such as yours, they trully feel that they have achieved their goal in caring for our guests. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family again soon.

Warm Regards,

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

wanna say amazing service amazing staff amazing night manager thank you fady you are very helpfull&professional i`ll be back 100% you know that Movenpick will be my new hotel because of you

Room Tip: room far from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, Operations Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Michel H,

Thank you very much for your very positive review. Your message has been given to Fadi who is always very happy to read such comments. We all look forward to welcome you back in the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel has a very nice exterior but that's it. The inside is a huge disappointment. The lobby desks look very odd and cheaply made. Probably made in China. Not a classy or elegant look. Definitely NOT a 5 star hotel.

Prostitutes at the WOK-IN bar. I was shocked to see them openly solicit services. Very distracting and not a place to take clients. They were also walking in and out of the hotel lobby to go inside the bar.

The bathrooms in the rooms have hand pump soap and shampoo. There were finger prints on the pump and the soap was watered down. The towels looked old and felt very rough. Didn't smell fresh. One of my towels had a black stain.

The food and drinks are overpriced. $5.00 for regular coffee, 1 serving on a small cup. I spent $188 on a few drinks among 2 others. Literally just a few drinks. NOT IMPRESSED.

Staff is friendly but most had poor English. I could not understand the room service lady on the phone at all. This resulted in getting my order messed up.

The bedroom was nice and the bed very comfortable.

Room Tip: Take your own towels, soap, and shampoo. Do not take your kids unless you want them exposed to pros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodo6822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, Operations Manager at AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Rodo6822,

Thank you for your review, I am actually quite surprised to read your impressions of the hotel. As you can see on all the other reviews of Trip Advisor the hotel has been very well rated on employees service, friendliness, Hotel design... Nevertheless, all your points will be reviewed and taken care of.

I would however be very appreciative if you could send me an e mail with all the information so that internally we can do our own investigation as we take all these matters very seriously.

If you have any additional comments or need additional information , I remain at your entire disposal.

Warm Regards,

Dan

dan.benzaquen@moevenpick.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
#118 of 540 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.8 mi away
Al Ghurair Rayhaan Dubai
0.9 mi away
Carlton Palace Hotel
Carlton Palace Hotel
#194 of 540 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Flora Grand Hotel
Flora Grand Hotel
#109 of 540 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
0.5 mi away
J5 Rimal
J5 Rimal
#31 of 540 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubai Al Muraqabat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel

Property: AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel
Address: Deira Abu Baker Al Siddique Rd | Corner Abu Baker Al Siddique and Sallahuddin Road, Dubai 234344, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Movenpick Hotel Deira)
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 540 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most diverse and culturally rich parts of the city AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel is ideally situated, just ten minutes away from Dubai International Airport and from the world-famous Gold Souk. Close to several shopping malls and the Dubai Metro, the hotel is well-placed for guests wanting to explore Deira's vibrant winding and historic Creek area, were local "abra" water taxis ply their trade. From the seven naturally-lit meeting rooms, including a fully-equipped business centre, to the hotel's restaurants, AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel offers five-star service to business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing