We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Choice and Friendly Employees!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai
Ranked #37 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
1 review
“Excellent Hotel Choice and Friendly Employees!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I stayed in this lovely property during the month of May for a business trip. The seminar took place at the same hotel. The property is well located and is walking distance from the Dubai metro station. The suite was way too good with great amenities selection and nice decoration. Well-equipped gym, a stunning pool located on the 8th floor overlooking Dubai City. Efficient and tasty room service and fantastic buffet breakfast. The meeting room was well equipped and sound proofed with no disturbance at all during the 3 days.
As for the employees from reception “warm welcome” to F&B ending with housekeeping they all went beyond their way to make our stay a memorable one. I would definitely recommend this hotel for Business Travellers and Leisure. Keep up the good job!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muhieddine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Muhieddine,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on your recent stay.
I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay to such extent, especially our hotel facilities as well as the service provided by our team and our lobby. I will make sure to personally share your kind comments with the team
We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Dubai.
Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,579
    1,234
    246
    65
    42
See reviews for
1,466
2,157
211
1,340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Ham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Second time here with my girlfriend, stayed for 7 days. Upon arrival the staff were courteous, friendly and welcoming. They showed me to my room which was the standard room overlooking the front of the hotel. Room was nice and spacious with a welcoming message on the TV. Four complimentary bottles of water were provided every day along with fresh towels. Cleaner of the room always did a fantastic job.

Breakfast was 120AED (£20) each which was worth every penny - fresh fruits, juices, teas, coffees, cereal, pastries, eggs cooked 'as you like', sausages, beans etc!! U name it they have it!

The hotel has 5 different restaurants in it - Italian, Chinese, Indian, Moroccan and International. They also have special offers on each day for guests to sample different cuisines at brunch which is well worth enquiring about.

The rooftop pool is great for a relaxing spot in the sun overlooking part of Dubai's fantastic skyline. Towels are provided, waiters are at your service at all times. Vincent was my waiter most of the time - nothing was impossible and he always provided a 5 star service. Lifeguard Bilal was also very helpful in showing us where the local markets were to visit and even provided us a tourist book of Dubai.

The hotel has a linked private beach which is on one of the Palms. Stunning views, warm waters, great pool and service. You have to book the private bus which runs every hour and transport to the beach is only 10 mins away.

Will return again and again, paradise!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Paulie,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
I was extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your stay to such extent, especially our hotel facilities, our breakfast spread, our Oceana Beach Club and of course the service provided by our team. I will make sure to personally share your kind comments with Vincent, Bilal and the entire team.
We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on a layover to Switzerland. I have nothing bad to stay about this hotel. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. There was a lot of choice at the breakfast buffet but the food did not impress me. It was not terrible but it was not great either. The seafood and meat buffet for dinner on the other hand was excellent. I was able to choose the seafood and meat that I wanted to have grilled which was really great. The seafood was superb and so were the accompaniments.

The location of the hotel was probably not as convenient. It is a little out of the way from everything.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here but due to location would probably choose a different hotel if returning to Dubai.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Looch00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your fantastic review on your stay at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate.
I was extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your stay to such extent, especially our hotel facilities and of course the service provided by our team. I will make sure to personally share your feedback about dinner with the executive chef and the entire team.
We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Excellent hotel with a combination of business and holiday makers. The staff are very helpful and welcoming. The food was excellent and could not be faulted there was always something available to meet any taste. On top of this there are three very good restaurants, Sicilian, Chinese and Indian all well worth a visit. There is a courtesy bus service to a sister hotel on the beach part of Palm Island, the swimming pool here is magnificent. Easy access to the Metro which is only a short walk away and very easy to use. We stayed on an all inclusive basis which worked very, well my only complaint is that draught beer was not included which seems very strange as all the regular imported spirits were available plus exotic cocktails. As someone who does not drink spirits I found this very annoying but it did not spoil th hoilday.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ninth floor but there are no good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Bill,
Thank you for sharing your fantastic review on TripAdvisor.
I was very pleased to read you enjoyed our dining offering to such extent, as well as our Oceana Beach Club and of course the service provided by our team. I will make sure to personally share your kind comments with them.
Please rest assured your feedback regarding the beverage selection included in the All Inclusive package has been shared with the concerned manager for his review.
We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Dubai.
Best Regards
Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I would like to start off the review by first commending three members of staff who made the stay as enjoyable for us from start to finish, welcoming from the start and on a daily basis by Daniyal and Abdul Khaliq the front end boys. Our room cleaners Shuhel and Yam who did a fantastic job in ensuring that we were in good hands, thanks guys!

Check in process was very quick and professional, overall 95% of staff members have done a great job in ensuring our stay was trouble free and impeccable. (however the guy serving the dates and Kawa could have been more friendlier!)

Rooms were nice sized and very clean, beds and pillows very comfortable. Amenities were replenished every day. The view from the room could have been better but its not such a big deal for us when we booked as we were not here to sit and stare out of the window but we were here to explore Dubai!

So if a sea view from your room is your sole reason for choosing this hotel I would advise not to pick it. Me and my guests were not fussed with the view, even though it was a sea view unfortunately it was staring straight at a power station, again for us its not such a big deal at all.

The Lobby area is HUGE, and admittedly I didn't notice it at first as the main reception area leads you straight to the lifts which bypasses it entirely!

Sheesha Lounge is very large and it was enjoyable to spend a few hours there relaxing.

Admittedly I was very disappointed at the start as the sole reason for booking this hotel was the first image showing the beach area and I assumed I was staying at the beach resort but it turned out that this was around 10 mins away by hotel transfer.. again this was not such a big deal as once we got the beach club we were blown away as it was breath taking place to be with amazing views of the beach and the skyline of the Marina.

The hotel does have its own swimming pool and gym which is a great addition and the fact that the gym is 24 hours is fantastic as I made good use of it trying to digest a monster steak we had for evening meals and ended up going for a run at 02:30 so very convenient indeed!

Lobby, Lift Areas and Corridors were very clean and tidy.

A great bonus was that the shopping mall was advertised as 5 mins walk.. turned out to be right across the hotel 2 mins away, has many shops, restaurants cafes and breakfast bars. (p.s. the shopping mall is actually HUGE!)

The metro station was about 5-7 min walk but still convenient as it helped to link the hotel (which is on the outskirts of Dubai to main Dubai and reachable within around 35 mins or so) Again this was not such a issue as a cab ride to Deira was around 40 mins away and they are very cheap anyway as was the metro service which runs every 8 mins or so

We were disappointed on leaving as time just flew by so quickly, but the hotel and staff members made our stay enjoyable and relaxing which is what we came here for and we were not let down.

Overall, I would recommend someone who is not fussed about the location away from main Dubai; or of fantastic beach views to come and experience a stay at the Moevenpick for a different type of stay much closer to the Marina.

I would love to come back and stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: If three persons are sharing then request a larger room within the same range as ours was slightly b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suhelisChilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Suhelis,
Thank you for sharing your fantastic review on your recent stay at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate.
I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay to such extent, especially our hotel facilities, our Oceana Beach Club on Palm Jumeirah, our convenient location opposite the Ibn Battuta Mall and at a walking distance from the Dubai Metro and of course the service provided by our team. Please do rest assured I will personally share your kind comments with Daniyal, Abdul, Khaliq, Shuhel, Yam and the entire team.
We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Dubai.
Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The Movenpick looks a bit old style - dull brown/beige with large open and unused areas and certainly due for an update.

Rooms are comfortable and well equipped - again dull decor.

Service levels are great, check-in friendly and reasonably quick although I was surprised with the amount they locked it on my credit card.

The restaurant was great and I enjoyed the quality and variety of the restaurant. Responsive staff as well! Well done!

The gym and swimming pool were also great. Well equipped and well maintained gym. I loved to use the swimming pool after gym - lovely luke-warm water and great size pool.

We had a conference as well and found the staff responsive and knowledgeable.

Overall good experience, the hotel is opposite a mall and if only the Hotel did not look so old and used, I would have given it five stars.

Room Tip: Rooms are strangely arranged - mine overlooked a highway and industrial water plant. The other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Chris,
Thank you for sharing your review with the Tripadvisor community.
I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, especially our restaurant offering, our meeting facilities and the service provided by our team. I will make sure to personally share your kind comments with them.
We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Dubai.
Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

The staff at this hotel are always extremely polite and friendly and always very helpful. Set away from the centre of Dubai it is a good location and very close to metro line. The restaurants are an excellent variety of food from a number of different cultures with something for everyone. The facilities are well maintained and a lovely atmosphere is set. I Would thoroughly recommend a stay and I would particularly recommend sitting in the moroc bar for a quiet relax, a sheesha or a traditional BBQ meal. The staff are excellent.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Chris,
Thank you for your fantastic review on your recent stay at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate.
I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay to such extent, especially our hotel facilities, our restaurant offering and our Moroc Bar & Lounge.
We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Dubai.
Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
The H Dubai
#22 of 550 in Dubai
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
Grand Hyatt Dubai
#41 of 550 in Dubai
3,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai

Property: Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai
Address: Sheikh Zayed Road | Adjacent to Ibn Battuta Shopping Mall, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai features a statuesque gateway that is larger than the ‘Arc de Triomphe’ in Paris. The 396-room hotel is located next to Ibn Battuta Mall and Cineplex at the very heart of ‘New Dubai’. Inspired by the travels of the 14th century Arabian explorer, Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel’s Grand Hall features 88 enormous eastern-style lanterns and it is also the ‘gateway’ to the hotel’s equally iconic six restaurants. The Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel offers a true ‘design and taste journey’ that spans the Near East, Far East, Middle East and Arab-African radius our namesake travelled through in his epic 30-year journey. The hotel has 6 restaurants including a Chinese, Indian and Italian. There is a nightclub and supper club on the property discretely positioned. Our sister property, Oceana Beach Club, is located on the Palm Jumeirah with swimming pools, a lazy river and private beach. We offer complimentary shuttles to and from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing