We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEAUTIFUL Hotel- Strange Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai
Ranked #30 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL Hotel- Strange Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Absolutely Beautiful Hotel, but in such a strange location! Located just off Sheik Zayed Road, completely outside and away from the 'norms' of Dubai. This is a truly photographic hotel, inside & out, with FAB restaurants & lounges. Our fav is the "Moroc"- lovely selection of tapas, & reasonably priced drinks- nice selection of wine & beer; outside seating; shisha available for those who care to partake. There definitely are the conveniences of shopping at the Ibn Battuta Mall, as well as a Metro station within walking distance to whisk you into Dubai...As much as I would love to give this hotel all 5 stars, as it is so beautiful, and I find something new every time we visit~ the location is very bizarre as it sits across from a mall, and seems so far removed from the rest of Dubai.

Room Tip: Lovely Hotel for a short stay ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time in posting your review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai although you found our hotel location inconvenient to you. We are glad to hear as well that you liked the hotel interior design and that you were able to experience some of our restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai.

Kindest regards
Chris El Khoury
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,111
    1,097
    226
    59
    35
See reviews for
1,300
1,935
189
1,186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights early Nov, fantastic experience. We needed an extra bed for our 13 year old, still plenty of room when that was installed. We had s deluxe room which was huge and plenty big enough for the 3 of us. I wouldnt worry about the views either side, it really doesn't matter as there are plenty of other exciting views in Dubai. If people want a beach view, then choose a beach hotel, this isn't on the beach but you know that when you book. Its no consolation because everything else is perfect and high quality.

Loved the Oceana Beach Club at The Palm. Yes, you do need to book to reserve your seats and yes, sometimes, the shuttle bus is full. But, you know what, taxis are SO cheap, its really no hardship to travel to/from Oceana by taxi, which is what we did, even though we had booked seats on the hotel's shuttle bus.

Indian and Chinese restaurants at the hotel fab, Italian....... well maybe we chose the wrong meal? Staff everywhere couldn't do enough to help you. It was a lovely, relaxed atmosphere. Opposite the hotel is a large shopping mall with supermarket just inside entrance. Ideal for stocking up on snacks/drinks for kids who are fussy eaters and don't eat 'grown up' food.

Earlier in the week, we'd stayed at a Downtown Hotel, Battuta was real luxury in comparison and well worth another visit. Yes, it is at Jebel Ali, but its close to the Metro station and a short taxi ride to The Palm. Even the Emirates Mall and Dubai Mall can be reached by taxi, or metro, taxi cost £5 approx, which is much cheaper than UK.

We had our wedding rings made to order by shops in both Malls, in 2 days. Service was excellent, and again huge savings on exact rings we'd seen in UK. Must see: the fountains and aquarium at Dubai Mall, skyline everywhere is amazing. Sitting on a beach in Nov with temps 32C looking at skyscrapers, amazing. Nothing disappointed. Go stay!

Room Tip: Forget the negatives about views, it doesnt matter unless you're looking to complain about somet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieJB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and compliments. We are delighted to read that we were able to make your stay in Dubai a memorable one! We are very much looking forward to welcome you back in Dubai soon.

Kindest regards
Chris El Khoury
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I have just spent 3 days staying at the Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel in Dubai while returning from a visit to Australia. This hotel has everything, great rooms, fantastic food and choice, great leisure facilities including free transport and use of the Oceana Beach Club on Palm Jumierah and a shopping mall right next door! The staff are excellent, very helpful and friendly and nothing is to much of a problem, from getting you a complimentary newspaper to printing off our boarding cards for our next flight. The Breakfast buffet is to die for and the 2 for 1 Happy Hour in the Moroc Lounge & Bar is not to be missed, nor the Surf & Turf Night Buffet in the Mistral Restaurant. We also dined in the Chor Bazaar (Indian) and Shanghai Chic (Chinese) restaurants, where again the food was exemplary. The only slight down side is that the hotel is quite a long way from other Dubai attractions, however having said that there is an excellent taxi and metro service from the hotel. If booking, request a room facing the Ibn Battuta Shopping Mall as the other side of the hotel faces the motorway and desalination plants. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Ibn Battuta Shopping Mall as the rooms on the other side face the motorway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TdotMdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review about your stay at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate; we do appreciate you taking the time of sharing your impression online. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Dubai soon.

Kindest regards
Chris El Khoury
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex,UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Apologies that this took some time to write but i was there in September with a group of girlfriends. Some had been to dubai before, some not, but we ALL loved this hotel. From our early arrival to a late departure, they couldn't have been better. The pool on the roof is smallish, but the service round it great and what can i say about Ocena Beach Club??!! totally fabulous. We were on all inclusive basis which was better value than I have ever known anywhere! We lived on Prosecco and Lobster! I cannot fault the restarants at all, nor can i choose my favourite..fine dining at it's very best I assure you. The management are great, a particular mention for Mr Shah, who really made sure everything went smoothly, THANK YOU SO MUCH . We will be back :)

Room Tip: 8th floor near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback following your recent stay at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai. I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel and will be sure to pass along your kind words to the team! We are truly looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back upon your next visit in Dubai.

Kindest regards
Chris El Khoury
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I would like to recomend this Hotel to everybody, thier service is excellent, I had a great experince when I arrived late from copenhagen and it was fully booked, the duty mangers at this hotel in Dubai are so help ful, I would like personly to thank Mr Naji hayder for his help and great effort to arrange for me and my family a very nice stay in Dubai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for recommending Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai. It was a great pleasure to read that you had a great experience and that our service met your expectations. Your enthusiasm for the hotel is highly appreciated and will be a great source of motivation. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Kindest regards
Chris El Khoury
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Having booked our first trip to Dubai for myself and my daughters birthday and choose the hotel based on facilities and reviews, it certainly didnt disappoint.
I can honestly say this hotel deserves its 5 star rating we had such a lovely time and nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff, they took care of our every need, i would especially like to give recognition to the lovely lady Jean on the concierge desk she was extremely helpful. i would highly recommend staying here, even though its slightly on the outskirts we found the hotel done shuttles to the malls on the weekends and also to the oceana beach club, other then that taxis were cheap and the metro just a few mins walk away, all excursions picked us up from the hotel and dropped ourselves back and these were excellent booked within the hotel. Across the road was a mall which had everything you may of needed. The restaurants at the hotel were absolutely fab and had everything you could imagine, fantastic food and service.
I would def go back and stay here next time i visit Dubai, thoroughly lovely outstanding stay

Room Tip: the front rooms look out over the mall, the back look out over desert and road, but all very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rlsteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments regarding your experience at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai. Our first priority is to make our guest comfortable, so it is a real pleasure to read how much you liked the Oceana beach club, the location, the food and the overall service at the hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in Dubai.

Kindest regards
Chris El Khoury
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here with my 15 year old daughter and I found it great value for money. We went all inclusive and were totally shocked by the amount we were offered. All the differnt restaurants were just as good as each other and the drink selection was brilliant.
The service in the hotel was wonderful with every member of staff bending over backwards to do things for you. The staff at the Oceana we're just as wonderful and myself and my daughter felt like Queens.
The only thing I think the hotel could improve on would be having the mini bus running every half hour to the Oceana as it fills up very Quickly.
I have recomended this hotel to so many of my friends who are looking into booking it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicandchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai for the Trip Advisor readers as well as for your friends; we do appreciate your great review and for sharing your suggestion to improve the shuttle bus schedule. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in Dubai.

Kindest regards
Chris El Khoury
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 544 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Taj Dubai
#10 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai

Property: Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai
Address: Sheikh Zayed Road | Adjacent to Ibn Battuta Shopping Mall, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai features a statuesque gateway that is larger than the ‘Arc de Triomphe’ in Paris. The 396-room hotel is located next to Ibn Battuta Mall and Cineplex at the very heart of ‘New Dubai’. Inspired by the travels of the 14th century Arabian explorer, Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel’s Grand Hall features 88 enormous eastern-style lanterns and it is also the ‘gateway’ to the hotel’s equally iconic six restaurants. The Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel offers a true ‘design and taste journey’ that spans the Near East, Far East, Middle East and Arab-African radius our namesake travelled through in his epic 30-year journey. The hotel has 6 restaurants including a Chinese, Indian and Italian. There is a nightclub and supper club on the property discretely positioned. Our sister property, Oceana Beach Club, is located on the Palm Jumeirah with swimming pools, a lazy river and private beach. We offer complimentary shuttles to and from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing