We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but not up there with other 5* Dubai Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai
Ranked #40 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay here but we couldn't help comparing it to other 5 star hotels we have stayed in, in Dubai! The big draw here is the all inclusive deal, the food was fantastic and staff very friendly but I would rather go half board to one of the excellent Jumeriah Beach hotels and get turn down service, treats left on the pillow, newspaper every day, fluffy towels on luxurious sunbeds on the beach, waiter service on the beach, ice lollies, fruit throughout the day brought to your sunbed etc, etc the list goes on. My biggest disappointment at the IBN Battuta was the beach club!! The sunbed cushions on the beach were brown with dirt, there were cracked plastic tables and cracked ice buckets!! Maybe the management team should call in to either the Royal Mirage or Royal Meridien to see how it is done.
If it is your first time in Dubai you will like it!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite the Battuta Mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LORRAINE HENDERSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

It's great that you found our all-inclusive deal to be the big draw of the hotel. The team is delighted to know that you found the food fantastic and our attitude to be very friendly.

I do apologize though if on this occasion we had not surpassed your expectations in comparison to your experience of other five-star hotels in Dubai. Most regrettably, it's unfortunate that you had a disappointing experience with the sunbed cushions at the Oceana Beach Club. Rest assured that your comments about the quality of our facilities is taken into serious review.

Thanks again for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,973 - 4,979 of 6,623 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

we have just got back from a 5 night break on a room only basis. The check in was really quick and very helpful as there were plenty of staff working. We arrived at around half 9 in the morning and were so pleased our room was ready for us. The hotel itself is stunning and so clean, the room was cleaned twice a day and kept spotless. We had a couple of days at the beach club which i have to say is a must as its amazing, plenty of sunbeds and on the beach was just the same. The lazy river was excellent to ride around and to cool down. We decided to pay for the buffet breakfast one day and although fairly expensive the choice of food on offer was excellent as was the service. The roof top pool is also well worth checking out as its so peaceful and we had no trouble getting a lounger . My only grumble is we were only there for 5 nights and wish it was for longer. We will save up to come back again because this hotel is great value for money and completely stunning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank will j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review of the hotel.

We are delighted to know that you found the hotel to be stunning. It's important for us that we provide our guests with an excellent experience.

The Beach Club at the Palm really is an amazing place to cool down and get a perfect tan. Letting the lazy river take you around the property is a perfect holiday must-do when visiting us and we're glad that you had enjoyed this thoroughly.

Perhaps on your next holiday you would choose to stay with us longer. We'll be looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel was absolutely a.m.a.z.i.n.g! My partner and I stayed here for three nights before we departed for the Maldives for a week. Where do I start?....

Food: delicious.
Service: first class

As mentioned in previous reviews, the Friday brunch is well worth booking. Champagne on arrival, then oysters from the fish selection.... Then a huge choice of food from all over the world and just to top it off... a chocolate fountain :-)

The rooms were great and so clean. The concierge service was excellent and helped when we wanted to make reservations at the Burke al Arab and the burj kalife. All the staff were very helpful.
The transport to the oceana beach club is good, prompt and air conditioned (which you will be grateful for).

If I had to think of a negative, the location was not in the heart of Dubai but the metro was easy enough to get to.

Go here.... You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wizz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such an amazing review of the hotel on TripAdvisor.

Our Friday Brunch is a great way to start a weekend, and we're glad that you had the chance to try it on your three-night stay with us.

The team is delighted to know that you found our services and facilities to be of excellent quality. Hope that you have an equally fantastic time in the Maldives.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community and for your recommendation of the hotel. We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have just returned from our sixth trip to Dubai with friends who have been more than 30 times! We feel very reluctant to share our All Inclusive experience as we would really like to keep this Dubai Gem to ourselves. Having stayed at The Zabeel, The Grovesnor, Emirates Palace, The Al Qasr etc. etc.. what the Battuta lacks in location, it certainly makes up for in value for money and service. The restaurants were excellent. Evans in the pool bar, Neville in The Moric Bar, the guys at The Oceana Beach Club to name but a few were attentive at all times and could not do enough for us. The only slight criticism is that it would have been nice to have had cushions on the sun loungers at The Beach Club and we would have been happy to pay a small charge for this. We will be back hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOOBY63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to share your most recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know we have delighted the expectations of a seasoned Dubai traveller. Our all-inclusive package offers a great way to enjoy this great city without breaking bank. We're glad your experience with us was a great value for money.

Evans, Neville and the team at the Oceana Beach Club are also grateful for your lovely comments about them.

Your recommendation on providing cushions at the sun loungers at the Beach Club will be reviewed.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

What a fantastic place just had 7 nights all inclusive there what a treat from the minute we arrived from our overnight flight to the minute we checked out 5 star treatment all the way.
The food in all restaurants was excellent ( you would have to be difficult to please if you did not like the food ) the sevice was aways fantastic and with a smile. The rooms well i have never slept so well comfy bed quiet and spotless with great bathroom. All staff so kind and helpful nothing to much trouble Oceania club a great place to spend a relaxing day. We cant wait to go back and i didnt feel it was to far out of Dubai metro taxis cheap to get around we have visited Dubai many times and this is one of the best

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

What lovely comments about the hotel.

It's fantastic that you had a 5-star treatment for the duration of your stay. Our food & beverage team are as well pleased to know that you had an excellent review of our offerings.

Good to hear as well that our ultra-comy beds provided you with a good night's rest. It's important our guests are ready and energized to enjoy Dubai.

We are looking forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

All the good things about the Hotel have been written, so I’d like to name points that need improvement.

Oceana Beach:

In the middle of the way, there is a big electric cable. (see photo)
My mother hit on this cable on our 2nd day. Her arm and shoulder got badly hurt.
Having a medicine background I checked it, nothing was broken, I gave her some analgesic, but her arm and shoulder mobility was extremely limited for the rest of our vacation (her 1st, since 15 years…), she couldn’t swim etc.

We didn’t call for the hotel doctor, because there was nothing more he could have done.
My mum’s holidays where almost ruined….
Back home a shoulder-lesion was diagnosed, only conservative treatable, it will take it’s time.

The Hotel management should reconsider about the laying of this cable.


The all inclusive list - make you feel insecure what you can order. It should be more in detail, not only “Juices”, or spirituous beverages“. There also were no cocktails listed.
It should be written in people’s first language.


Not 5 star like:

It is really unsightly to see half naked people with beachwear at breakfast , the hotel should advise the guest to wear adequate clothes.

At breakfast time, the tables should be cleaned better.
Also the placemats.
We had USED napkins twice !

The coffee often was lukewarm and seemed not fresh brewed.

A part of the furniture at Mistral should be changed. (damages)

“Plastic cups” at the Hotel pool. (..when beverage is served in silver bottle coolers)

The hairdryers ! I have never seen hairdryers like this in a 5 star hotel.


People:

The smile of the female employees at mistral looks a bit forced.
Except Yai from Myamar, she always was very friendly, exerted and welcomed us warmly.

I also like to point out the Sicilia-Team and their Restaurant manager, and chef.
We were always being cared for by attentive staff.
The food is excellent and DELICIOUS - Diner always made our day  

Just as well the team at the hotel pool and Mr. Roldan Tabalbag Magliba at the entrance door.
You really feel these guys like people.
And last but not least Anna Scherer (Guest Relation), she gave us so many detailed information, an Hanif from bangladesh, who cleaned our room PERFECTLY.



We always felt very comfortable and therefore we recommend “the Gate”  

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing such constructive feedback about us on TripAdvisor.

We look to our guests to provide us with the most valuable opinion of our facilities and services. I'd like to thank you for taking the time to share this with us.

It's disheartening to find out that your mother met with an unfortunate incident during her stay with us. Rest assured that this will be thoroughly investigated to ensure our guests are afforded with a safe environment.

Your feedback about the items available for our all-inclusive guests will be looked into. Our front office team do ensure that we conduct a full briefing for guests booking this package--I'm sincerely sorry if some details were not thoroughly highlighted.

Anna, Hanif and Roldan are delighted to know you had such lovely comments about their services. The team at Sicilia are also equally pleased to know you found them to be of such excellent quality.

Once again, thank you for writing a detailed review and allowing us to identify areas of opportunity that we can work on.

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Fab breakfast and brunch on Friday with exotic petting view for kids! Poor on site plus infinity pool and beach via 10 min hotel Shuttle to oceana beach resort. Lively rooms, mall across the road , free kids club, separate kids buffet etc

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beckyhskns1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a positive review of our hotel.

Great to know the kids had fun during our Friday Brunch. It's important that our dining experience is not only fantastic to the tastebuds but also a convenient environment for families and couples.

Thanks again for such lovely comments. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#16 of 561 in Dubai
702 reviews
The H Dubai
#19 of 561 in Dubai
1,621 reviews
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oberoi, Dubai
#8 of 561 in Dubai
1,953 reviews
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 561 in Dubai
3,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai

Address: Sheikh Zayed Road | Adjacent to Ibn Battuta Shopping Mall, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: $148 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai features a statuesque gateway that is larger than the ‘Arc de Triomphe’ in Paris. The 396-room hotel is located next to Ibn Battuta Mall and Cineplex at the very heart of ‘New Dubai’. Inspired by the travels of the 14th century Arabian explorer, Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel’s Grand Hall features 88 enormous eastern-style lanterns and it is also the ‘gateway’ to the hotel’s equally iconic six restaurants. The Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel offers a true ‘design and taste journey’ that spans the Near East, Far East, Middle East and Arab-African radius our namesake travelled through in his epic 30-year journey. The hotel has 6 restaurants including a Chinese, Indian and Italian. There is a nightclub and supper club on the property discretely positioned. Our sister property, Oceana Beach Club, is located on the Palm Jumeirah with swimming pools, a lazy river and private beach. We offer complimentary shuttles to and from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing