We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, super staf !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai
Ranked #35 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
1 review
“Great hotel, super staf !”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Very nice hotel with a beautiful income and a pool on the rooftop. The hotel is very well located in front of the Battuta shopping mall. Food in the restaurants are great and they have a great team here to help you around. Only positive comments and we'll be back !!!!
Fam. Fagel

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moiramlegaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for letting us know you had such a wonderful time. We look forward to welcoming you into the hotel if you do have the opportunity to visit us again.

See you at The Gate
Philippe Bonnot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,384
    1,186
    240
    63
    38
See reviews for
1,380
2,077
202
1,288
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have just returned from a great holiday at the Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel. This is an excellent hotel - very clean and with good amenities and comfortable beds. What makes it special are the levels of service and the wonderful food. The staff went out of their way to make us welcome and do everything to ensure we enjoyed our stay. We were even allowed to check-in early/ check-out late at no extra cost. And the food in all the restaurants was first class.

We knew that the views wouldn't be great but we weren't in the rooms all that much. The location is convenient for the Metro and the Mall and a taxi down town only costs around 40 dirhams.

Once you get the hang of the transfer to the Oceana Beach (book in advance and be sure to get your ticket) and the all-inclusive, everything worked smoothly. (A suggestion to management - a photocopied sheet of the rules for using the all-inclusive card, e.g. you can't use it at the Oceana Beach after 6pm, would be very helpful).

Something to note is that the inter-connecting room system is unusual. You enter the main room and then down a long hall with the inter-connecting doors on either side; you then use your room key again through another door into the double bedroom. The light in the hall stays on all night so if you want to leave your door and your children's door open, you have night-long light! Odd.

All in all, we had a great stay at a super hotel and wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheteamGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed here for a week during October as part of a family holiday. Overall a good hotel but needed some improvements. My main gripe was having a shower every morning without a shower curtain ( WHY?) resulting in the bathroom looking like a scene out of Titanic!! Breakfast also finished at 10:30 on the dot and when I mean finished I mean everything was taken away. The hotel room was very dimly lit aswell. I also did my ironing more or less by candlelight. Count Dracula would have been more at home here. In fact I think maybe he was. At 4.30 the Maids hadn't cleaned our room after our first nights stay there until we phoned them and asked them to. I thought that was part of the service you got in a 5 star hotel.
Staying here was a bit of a compromise as the Jumeriah hotels were very expensive. I understand that the hotel is new so they're still learning the ropes but they really need to get their arses into gear if they're going to compete with all the other 5 star hotels in Dubai. One visit here is definitely enough for me.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raj k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This hotel is situated just off the Sheikh Zayed Road approx 35 minute drive in our hire car from Dubai Airport. Very easy to get to.
Its a nice looking hotel too. There are no grounds to speak of other than the pool on floor 8.
The views are highway and pylon. We were aware of this.
We were attracted by the location.
100 metres fron the Ibn Battuta Mall and a 5 min walk to the metro. Easy access (By our Hire car) to Dubai Marina, The Beach and the Emirates Highway.Perfect location we thought.

Check in was good. We had interconnecting rooms with out teenage daughters. Up to 3 rooms can be interconnected throughout the hotel. This is great news for extended families who wish to be together.
As previously mentioned by other members there is no ceiling lights in our room. Terrible design fault. Hence very poorly lit rooms. Brilliant King size beds though. I found the pillows hard too. My wife thought them fine.

Minor issues with housekeeping. Had to keep asking for soaps etc and flannels. We got everything we asked for though. Not really a problem. Plenty of tv channels in the rooms.
No free internet though.
Food was fine, We would just like more choice. Got a bit samey. Evening meals did get repetive. We tried the chinese restaurant which was excellent. The service in the italian was very slow. Nearly 2 hours to get the 3 courses. When you dine with kids you dont want to take all night. We didnt use the italian again after that.
There is a great bar, busy shisha too. Bar staff very nice. Happy hour 4-8, good beer.

The hotel does seem to be an overnight stopover for chinese / japanese guests. They do move around the hotel in groups and often fill the receptions, atrium and dining areas. Its not a problem.
During our stay (1 week) dubai was awash with German tourists. All Nice families and couples. Some Russians and French. Where have all the Brits gone?
Nobody dresses up for dinner: Very casual.
The pool is nice with piped music. Its not big. More adult themed but my daughters treated it as they do all pools. Thats what they are for !
No kids club though if you need one. The hotel corridors are long and carpeted so kids can (theoretically) run around safely if needed. The mall is also just across the road so there is that too.

The beach club is superb. Massive infinity pool, Very lazy river and nice beach. Top class!!
No problem getting the hotel bus. If It is full they will put you in one of their big 4x4s to ferry you there and back.

We took the metro to Karama . The metro is cheap and easy to use. Women should dress modestly though to avoid being the centre of attention on the trains. Can reccomend the legendry Karachi Durbar Pakistani restaraunt in Karama . The cops eat here and tourists are welcome. Food is dirt cheap. Dont be put off by the look.

We left a personal item of no real value in the room by mistake when we checked out. It was very important to us that we got it back. We returned to the hotel a week later and found it had been set aside for us to collect. we were impressed with their efficiency and very appreciative. Thankyou.

We also booked a visit to the top of Burj Khalifa before we travelled. that saved money not having to pay on the day. The Dubai fountains are stunning but check out the timings !! They are not on all day.

We also topped up the duty frees at the Barracuda Beach resort in UAQ. Its been renovated and is very smart, brilliantly stocked and no liquor licence needed to purchase alcohol. We were in country for 2 weeks so was worth the visit to top up. Can be found next door to Dreamland aquapark.

The Ibn Battuta Mall across the road is not a boutique mall but nonetheless is very pleasant. Everything on one level, one of the best food courts in the uae. It is also child friendly, They cant get lost. We got some great brand bargains (avoid weekends at all malls at all costs. They are unbearably busy.) Shopping malls are for shopping and shouldnt be judged on the quality of their restaurants.

Valet parking is complimentary. Nice touch. All staff were nice and friendly. No negatives about the hotel.
We have stayed in 5 star hotels right across the UAE and none are perfect.
Its a great location if you wish to explore by car / metro and dont need to be on the beach or in the city. No noise pollution at all.

Room Tip: Interconnecting if you want it. No noise pollution. Its not high rise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This Hotel is fantastic a little off the beaten track and quiet of any noise, anyway lots of transport in area to overcome this and Taxis are cheap. The rooms are spacious of good clean quality and no problems here, nice hard big bed with feather quilt and pillows.
Breakfast excellenet and spoilt for choice but try to get before 9am as will get busy at this time, only one day breakfast was let down, no milk or sugar out, but when requested Staff are quick to get this for you, Try the omlettes.
I cannot fault this Hotel, staff speak English and go out of there way to help you. Pool is bigger than I thought and again an extra bonus but again get here before 9am as people come up put towels on chairs and dissappear till later when the sun hits this part of Hotel, so if you are here late you cannot sit anywhere.
Dont be put off by dress you can just about wear anything bikinis at Hotel Beaches and pools etc and when shopping no need to cover arms head legs knees etc as everybody seems to wear anything in NEW Dubai.
Oceanna Hotel Pool is really good and shuttle service from Movenpick is okay but times can be limitted so best book your seat the day before. All in all an excellent time and thnk you to Staff at Hotel, you all work hard and very kind.

Room Tip: overlooking the shopping mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my husband who was in Dubai on business.
First of all the pools at the hotel and the Oceana are NOT suitable for children, they are both too deep for children apart from the steps area at the Oceana.
The hotel was nice enough but not special enough that I would return there.
Housekeeping was not that great, it was a surprise each day what towels etc you would receive, on 4 occassions they left dirty bedding in a pile in our bedroom.
Breakfast was the thing that spoilt the hotel the most for me, every day it was full of coach trips of Chinese people - hundreds of them, the noise was terrible and you frequently had to wait for clean cups, glasses, more butter, more bread etc, and that was if you could find a table to sit at in the first place. The staff were working flat out to sort things out but just could not keep up with the amount of people.
The pool is not a great area for sunbathers as it is on the 8th floor in between buildings so there is alot of shade. Yes you can go to the Oceana club which is lovely but buses only run every couple of hours with a small limited number of seats. It would have been nice to go sit by the pool at the hotel after a day out but by 3.45 there is no sun there at all.
The Ibn Battuta Mall is 2 minutes walk away but it is a lot smaller Mall than the others and there are no nice restaurants to go to, mostly fast food type places.
The Spa had opened and I used this a few times during my 3 week stay, only thing was that although I looked around on my first day and was shown the hair and nail salon nobody showed me the other spa and I was there 10 days before I realised I could get a massage or a facial.
The gym is good but 4 pieces of equipment were broken for the last week of me being there and when I mentioned this to the staff they simply said maybe we need to get maintenance.
The lighting was terrible in the rooms, the pillows like rocks and the curtains did not close properly whichever way you tried so you were woken by the streams of light coming through the gaps. The lifts were very slow and out of the 4 of them 2 of them seemed to be stuck on level B3 for the majority of the day.
Having said that the hotel was nice enough but with the choices there are in Dubai I don't think I would go back to it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

A good hotel with beautifully decorated public areas and great facilities, but let down by poor service and lack of attention to detail. Housekeeping was inconsistent - toiletries not replenished, no face cloths provided until our final day and our belongings moved and re-arranged on a whim! There was a reasonable selection at the breakfast buffet but it was outrageously expensive at 125 Dirahms. We obtained tickets for the 10am shuttle bus, to take us to the Oceana Beach Club, only to see the bus pull away at 9.55am! We were informed the bus was full, although we had tickets. A minor hiccup, I know, but the main disappointment was the request we made at the time of booking, which was never acknowledged by anyone at the hotel. It was my sister's 50th birthday and she requested a "nice room" but her birthday was never acknowledged during our stay, let alone the offer of a room upgrade. The IBN Battuta certainly has some way to go, to catch up with its 5* competitors in Dubai.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
The H Dubai
#21 of 545 in Dubai
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Dubai
#12 of 545 in Dubai
1,349 reviews
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 545 in Dubai
3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai

Property: Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai
Address: Sheikh Zayed Road | Adjacent to Ibn Battuta Shopping Mall, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai features a statuesque gateway that is larger than the ‘Arc de Triomphe’ in Paris. The 396-room hotel is located next to Ibn Battuta Mall and Cineplex at the very heart of ‘New Dubai’. Inspired by the travels of the 14th century Arabian explorer, Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel’s Grand Hall features 88 enormous eastern-style lanterns and it is also the ‘gateway’ to the hotel’s equally iconic six restaurants. The Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel offers a true ‘design and taste journey’ that spans the Near East, Far East, Middle East and Arab-African radius our namesake travelled through in his epic 30-year journey. The hotel has 6 restaurants including a Chinese, Indian and Italian. There is a nightclub and supper club on the property discretely positioned. Our sister property, Oceana Beach Club, is located on the Palm Jumeirah with swimming pools, a lazy river and private beach. We offer complimentary shuttles to and from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing