We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emirates Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Emirates Grand Hotel
Ranked #231 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Medellin
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Would not stay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was recommended by Marhaba when we got a visa at the airport. The checkin takes some time and the lobby was full of males sitting around (each timd we went down) which, while not a problem for me, my wife found a little intimidating when alone.

Bit of a miserable location outside however the room is actually great; spacious and a very comfy bed. There is a washer / dryer however it does not fully dry as we found out having to pack wet clothes. Also no iron and the internet is very very costly.

The lifts operate on a system where you press the button and a lift is allocated ( a through e). Fine in theory however, in practice it meant waiting a long time for ""down"" lifts watching, frustratingly, as other unallocated lifts go by (sometimes more than 3 times).

I would not stay again given the range of hotels available in Dubai, the costly price of internet and no free service even in the lobby. Note also it is a dry hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bicks_medellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarek A, Hotel Manager at Emirates Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Bicks_Medellin,

We would like to thank you for staying with Emirates Grand Hotel and your feedback is very much appreciated that help us to enhance our services.

Thank you as well for your positive feedback about our rooms and with regards to other experiences you find that requires more improvement are already been communicate/shared with our concerned departments for the necessary actions and rest assured that this will be dealt properly to tempt guest back in Emirates Grand Hotel and retain their loyalty.

Again, we sincerely thank you for this review as it will definitely help us to improve our services.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Dubai!

Regards,
Tarek Aouini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    259
    157
    74
    77
See reviews for
164
174
54
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

The living area and kitchen utilities are fine spacious and the staff are usually friendly and helpful. Otherwise this place makes Fawlty Towers look 5 star!
The lift system is a joke and often leaves you waiting for an inordinate amount of time.
Bedside reading lamp was hanging loose and the switch came off first time I used it.
There was an old used cotton wool ball and some bits of biscuits on the bedroom floor on arrival.
The windows are filthy.
Access to the wardrobe door is almost impossible since it's blocked by the bedside table.
Stairwells are filthy and often have dirty meal dishes left lying around.
The smell of food constantly lingers.
Non-smoking floors often smell of smoke and the rooms have an ashtray and complimentary box of matches.
Wi-fi is intermittent.
Can't think of any more at the moment.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarek A, Hotel Manager at Emirates Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Mr. Tony,

On behalf of all Emirates Grand Hotel team we would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking time giving us your feedback.

We apologize about the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay.

We wanted to make our guests feel at home as much as possible by providing a very comfortable place to live in.

Like any other hotels, there are some flaws with the stay. We are providing guest’s feedback form to resolve issue as it happens. Moreover, we would be checking on this points that you have provided and will make sure that raised issues will be taken care of by the concerned department.

We are still looking forward welcoming you in our hotel and we guarantee that you will experience the best customer service we can provide on your next visit

Regards,
Tarek Aouini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubai hotels

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Pros: location

Cons: 30minutes to check-in, 30minutes checkout. Payment system is cumbersome where by they block the funds + AED 500 on your credit card at arrival. At checkout they charge for your stay and refund the 500 minus any charges back to the credit card. Calling for towels takes 20mins, calling 55 takes 100seconds to answer. Very pricey for what this hotel has to offer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zROCKSTARz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarek A, Hotel Manager at Emirates Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear ROCKSTAR,

On behalf of all EGH family we would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking time giving us your feedback.

You have mention about the payment system. Like any other hotels, it is a standard procedure to have a security deposit upon check in. And as you have stated, what we have charged you is the rate of your stay and you were refunded with the security deposit upon departure.

We will look into the service of our housekeeping when it comes to providing amenities requested and the team will be briefed about your comments.

We are still looking forward welcoming you in our hotel and we guarantee that you will experience the best customer service we can provide on your next visit.

Regards,
Tarek Aouini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

After reading so many bad things here on Trip Advisor I was skeptical but wondered how bad could it be? We arrived at 10am after a 12 hour flight and we got a room without an extra charge. I had a super spacious apartment. I loved the view, the bed was comfortable, the towels, the room was super clean. I went to the super market behind the hotel and bought stuff to make breakfast in the room every morning since we had a kitchen. It was perfect!

The train is just 5 minutes away and you can take the train from the airport... That worked out perfectly! We also walked to the Burk Khalifa from the hotel.

The only inconvenience we had was the door guy who put us in a hotel car that took us to the wrong place and made us 1 hour late to our dinner reservation at the burj al arab. After all he also charged us twice the price. When I mentioned it to the guy at the door when we came back from dinner he said the driver was new and that he was going to get the money back. Not true. It left a bad taste. Management should look into this.

Other than that. we had a wonderful stay and would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chefvanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarek A, Hotel Manager at Emirates Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear chefvanessa

Thank you for staying with us and for giving us your favorable review.

It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our location is really one of which we can be proud of as it is in the heart of Dubai with a lot of good views and very accessible to everything as well. In addition to its location, we are the only 4 star Hotel here in the area that has fully equipped kitchen.

With reference to your experience with the hotel taxi, rest assured that management will be checking on this matter. We apologized for the inconvenience that you experienced.

We are look forward welcoming you again!

Tarek Aouini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Had a nice stay at the Emirates Grand hotel. The apartment was really spacious, and we had a high floor so excellent views. Breakfast was good, allthough often running a little low on food.
The service and knowledge of staff was average, often had to wait for a long time at the reception to be helped. Would stay again as apartment was good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyGlobe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic suite!! Fantastic valve!!! Fantastic location!!! Ideal if you are not here for long close to the metro and taxis, however don't use the Hotel ones as they are a little expensive than the ones on the street

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnsontucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter N, Training & Quality Manager at Emirates Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor following your stay with us. We are ecstatic that our products and services met your approval.

We will share your kind words with our teams to ensure consistency in service. We look forward to be of service to you again and would like to welcome you back to Emirates Grand Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Peter Ndirangu
Training & Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I recently stayed at Emirates Grand Hotel and had a good experience. The door staff were great any time we arrived at the hotel - very friendly and helpful, but we did find that the staff helping us get a taxi were a bit pushy in trying to have us take a more expensive private car than the standard priced city taxis.
The room itself was nice. We stayed in a suite that was quite roomy with all the right accommodations for a longer stay. The amenities were good as well with a roof-top pool (although the hot tub was cold) and hookah bar. The gym was probably the best hotel gym I have experienced.
All together it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bissonchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.0 mi away
Warwick Dubai
Warwick Dubai
#144 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number One Tower Suites
Number One Tower Suites
#281 of 544 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rose Rayhaan by Rotana - Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Towers Rotana
Towers Rotana
#111 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit  Thani Dubai
Dusit Thani Dubai
#81 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
1.4 mi away
City Premiere Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emirates Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates Grand Hotel

Property: Emirates Grand Hotel
Address: Emirates Grand Hotel Sheikh Zayed Rd | Metro Stop, Dubai 0000, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the commercial district, on Dubai’s prominent Sheikh Zayed Road, the alcohol-free 47-storey Emirates Grand Hotel is offering a panoramic city and Arabian Sea views. The tallest building in the world,The Burj Khalifa, and the largest Mall in the Middle East – Dubai Mall is reachable within less than 10 minutes driving, opposite Financial Center Metro Station, easily accessible to the Dubai International Financial Center, Dubai International Convention and Exhibition Center, Dubai World Trade Center, and just 15 minutes drive away from Dubai International Airport and 5 minutes from the golden sands of the Jumeirah Beach Park.Wi-Fi is available.Guests have access to the rooftop pool offering a panoramic city and Arabian Gulf views, and the fully equipped fitness center as well as a tennis court. A wellness center which includes a sauna, a hot tub and a steam room is also available. The Emirates Grand Spa offers a wide range of body treatments and facials.Enjoy home cooked meals at our world class restaurants, and the famous Arabic shesha, also well known as hubbly bubbly is served either on the rooftop lounge or in the garden area.relax with your favorite beverage at the roof top terrace.Plan a meeting in any of our four meeting rooms fully equipped with contemporary audiovisual facilities and business center guarantees every function to be a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Emirates Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing