We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good For Couples!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emirates Grand Hotel
Ranked #226 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Good For Couples!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here with my wife and had a terrible experience. We went out for dinner one night and came back where we were called a side by the front desk who demanded we give them IDs, proof that we are both registered guests and proof of our marriage as the front desk guy said "we do not allow "girls" in this hotel" Both of us were EXTREMELY offended by this comment as he was indicating my wife was a hooker. We complained to management the next morning who only had to say "Sorry for the inconvenience". We checked out that day. DO NOT STAY HERE UNLESS WITH A FAMILY OR SINGLE!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zayed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    280
    160
    74
    79
See reviews for
172
175
58
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atyrau Province, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed there on an interval exchange holiday for a week. Not a bad location. The Gym was good the pool was a bit small and windy as it is on the upper floors
.The Dubai Mall is one stop away on the Metro which is a couple of minutes’ walk from the Hotel.
The staff was OK but seemed to lack management supervision

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hydrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently with my husband and teenage daughter. Stayed in a two bedroom suite 28th floor, the carpet in corridor badly stained, the windows in room filthy and the bathrooms most definitely need updating. The pool area small, sun loungers seen better days and only one toilet for all to use! This hotel may have been 'grand' 20 or more years ago but certainly not anymore, unfortunately would not stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank redpip2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Visited for a spa and pool day .
The brand association " emirates " set the expectation of a 5 star experience .

Lobby : worn velvet chairs
Spa : yellow towels shaped into swans beside the reception .
Actual treatment rooms lay out resemble hotel room carpeted corridor ( was being vacuumed at 12 noon ! ) with burnt out inscence sticks and ashes dotted around .
Pool area very small and basic the worst part being a single shared male and female toilet .
Not greeted by anyone at the pool .

Didn't see the hotel rooms or have a spa treatment , based on what I've seen so far expect nothing higher than a 2-3* experience .

Location good / central
Hotel is Dry ( no alcohol )



  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne_In_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The rooms in this hotel were fantastic, very spacious and lovely decor. However we did find the hotel needed maintenance. The windows were disgusting, covered in dirt so you could not see out of them. The cleaners left their trolleys in the hallway and the lift system was super annoying. Also the staff need to be better trained in customer service,some were wonderful but most didn't really care. The location was excellent as it was very central to everything we wanted to see. All in all it was okay,would not stay there again though when there are so many other beautiful hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went in for a business trip... The Hotel is close to Metro, Dubai Mall (Close by Taxi), Burj Khalifa and is on the famous Shaikh Zayed Road... We opted for a Suite Room which was large and really value for money... The only problem is with the elevator of the Hotel... It is suppose to be the worst in this world !!!! You can almost find 25% of the guests in this hotel everyday near the elevator... But overall good and really value for money... Yes, breakfast was vast and really good veg options as well...

Room Tip: Suite Rooms on Higher Floor are good but the window panes are not cleaned so can't get a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmv3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. For a start no where does this hotel say that it is a alcohol free hotel in any of its advertising , not that you need a drink but would have been helpful to advise customers as Dubai is so hot that a nice cold beer would have been nice to sit down too.
We stayed on the 5th floor and the cleaners left all their trolleys and linen in the hallway and was very untidy. Tried to look out of what windows we had not that there was a lot to see as we had no view what so ever but the windows were filthy on the outside . If you are going to build such high rises then the outside needs to be cleaned so at least you can see out of the window. Even on the 46th floor where breakfast is served the windows were no better and the view from there would have been amazing. In our room there is no information about how to contact the front reception only for room service . Our fridge was running hot had no cold bottled water available. Found out there was supposed to be a mini bar of soft drinks etc in our fridge but because the PREVIOUS CUSTOMERS requested for theses to be removed , the service room attendants FAILED to restock for the next lot of customers being us. When we found this out on the day of check out the attendant could not have cared less. I was charged twice for Internet usage when I had an hours worth . I logged into the Internet on my iPhone logged out of there and went onto my iPad and they decided to charge twice . Would not recommend this hotel for families at all I agree with what was written on a previous review they only seem to care about one night stays only. As for the pool roof top not a very inviting place at all. Overall I found this hotel to give you the feeling of a very sleazy place and I never felt comfortable from the moment we arrived. We have travelled quite a bit and this is my first and hopefully last negative review.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.0 mi away
Carlton Downtown Hotel
Carlton Downtown Hotel
#151 of 545 in Dubai
998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number One Tower Suites
Number One Tower Suites
#288 of 545 in Dubai
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Towers Rotana
Towers Rotana
#105 of 545 in Dubai
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rose Rayhaan by Rotana - Dubai
0.3 mi away
Dusit  Thani Dubai
Dusit Thani Dubai
#71 of 545 in Dubai
2,001 reviews
1.4 mi away
M Hotel Downtown By Millennium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emirates Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates Grand Hotel

Property: Emirates Grand Hotel
Address: Emirates Grand Hotel Sheikh Zayed Rd | Metro Stop, Dubai 0000, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the commercial district, on Dubai’s prominent Sheikh Zayed Road, the alcohol-free 47-storey Emirates Grand Hotel is offering a panoramic city and Arabian Sea views. The tallest building in the world,The Burj Khalifa, and the largest Mall in the Middle East – Dubai Mall is reachable within less than 10 minutes driving, opposite Financial Center Metro Station, easily accessible to the Dubai International Financial Center, Dubai International Convention and Exhibition Center, Dubai World Trade Center, and just 15 minutes drive away from Dubai International Airport and 5 minutes from the golden sands of the Jumeirah Beach Park.Wi-Fi is available.Guests have access to the rooftop pool offering a panoramic city and Arabian Gulf views, and the fully equipped fitness center as well as a tennis court. A wellness center which includes a sauna, a hot tub and a steam room is also available. The Emirates Grand Spa offers a wide range of body treatments and facials.Enjoy home cooked meals at our world class restaurants, and the famous Arabic shesha, also well known as hubbly bubbly is served either on the rooftop lounge or in the garden area.relax with your favorite beverage at the roof top terrace.Plan a meeting in any of our four meeting rooms fully equipped with contemporary audiovisual facilities and business center guarantees every function to be a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Emirates Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing