We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments
Ranked #263 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed January 17, 2011

The hotel is in a good location for access to river, airport and central part of Dubai. It is about a 10 min taxi ride from airport to hotel. Taxis in Dubai are cheap so it didn't cost too much to travel to the main centre or airport by taxi. The room was spacious and had a large and very comfortable bed. There was a washing machine in the room which is always appreciated when travelling. It was great to be able to relax on the rooftop pool and use the gym. There was a free shuttle bus which took guests to and from various attractions in Dubai. The hotel staff was very efficient and helpful. We had a problem with our TV and someone was sent up straight away to fix the problem. Construction work going on in the area during the day and night, but is was hardly noticeable as the window is shut and the air conditioner was on. Far too much was charged for the use of the internet in the lobby area. Grout of tiles around bath need to have mould cleaned off them.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharon1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 608 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2011

We went out to Dubai for the New Year and booked to stay in the Winchester Grand. After arriving about 7.30a.m we were told we could check in immediately if we paid extra for the room, otherwise we could check in at 11.00a.m. This was a bit disappointing having known the room had been vacated and was cleaned ready for our stay. The rooms were spacious with a kitchenette and washing machine that we found very useful. Breakfast was ok, but if you like your full English, no you won't get it!
Beware there is building work taking place directly opposite the hotel and they do work 24/7. We had to sleep with cotton wool in our ears to block out the noise.
Also beware of the shuttle service they are running. We waited 45 minutes for the shuttle to take us to Al Manza Beach only to find we were dropped at the public beach on Jumeriah. We questioned why we were not taken to the beach park and we were told it was a free service they provided. If we had known this we would have taken a taxi or the metro to the Jumeriah beach residence. They also did a shuttle service to the Burjuman and the museums so just be prepared you may be taken else where.
On the whole we had a good holiday and the apartments are centrally located, so it is easy to get around especially when using the metro system.
Not sure if i would go back to the Winchester would depend on price when booking.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gl0beTr0tter1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

To be honest, we did not make things easy for the hotel management since my brother and I, who share the same first name initial and the same family name, made 2 different bookings, each for his own need.
However, Winchester has two hotels in Dubai - quasi same name, different location (quite near). It is impossible on the Website to tell in which one a booking is made.
Upon arrival on December 31st 2010, each of the 2locations' Reception Desk held a speech about "upgrading" us to the other hotel. The snake was biting its tail !
Mostly inconvenient moreover is the extremely difficult roadway to reach the location which is inside a streetblock (the other location being easily spotted). Even the map on the hotel's leaflets shows a series of arrows with street names none of which are the same than the reality ('Bank Street' instead of 'Al Mankhool Street')!
A Nightmare which ended in my entering the New Year unpacking my luggage at last instead of celebrating with cheering crowds:-(!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GuillaumeSerail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We booked this hotel and the Atlantis hotel in Dubai. We want an affordable place for one and then wanted to stay at the Atlantis hotel.
The Winchester is a very nice hotel, the only thing missing is a good restuarant, we went down for breakfast but it was already finishing up. But half a block is a supermarket then the other way towards the metro(subway) is a Burger King and other supermarkets.
So it was very easy to get anywhere as the metro was 1.5blocks away.

Room was very nice and clean, it was spacious. Had no problems.
Pool on the roof was very nice and was a nice view of Dubai.
Staff are friendly, they had messages for me from tours that we booked and knew who I was when I walked in from going out. Always friendly and helpful.
Got airport pickup at midnight when we arrived and they were waiting, very helpful and professional.

Any questions feel free to ask but great value in the hotel and everything was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gorilla9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Comfortable hotel and a definite positive that its located quite conveniently...Though certain issues with service but the rooms are comfortable and roomy but a lot of things need to be requested eg-the kettle in the room wasnt working, some fixtures in the bathroom were broken but if i look at it from a perspective that you are out all day and just need a place to crash for the night its a reasonably good hotel...

Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank Prabhjot_Minhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Service was very friendly, breakfast was excellent especially with some South Indian options, some electrical faults but they were fixed straight away. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doug98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for almost a month, in a studio apartment. The room was very good but some things were broken, missing or didn't work. Also, you hear noice through the thin walls... First I had to change room after a few hours because internet didn't work at all on that floor (they should have mentioned this). Second, setting the temperature for the AC didn't work (so it was always cold when it was on). Also, at first the washing machine and the microwave didn't work because the hidden cables were not connected! Some parts in the kitchen were missing too. These last two things they fixed quickly. The service was very good and they were very friendly. I didn't eat breakfast or meals in the restaurant so I can't grade it. I liked the gym and the roof-top pool. The location is good, 5 min to supermarket, 15 mins to shoppingcenter and the metro.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calleg_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Winchester Hotel Apartments
0 mi away
Savoy Crest Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai
2.1 mi away
Marco Polo Hotel
Marco Polo Hotel
#244 of 561 in Dubai
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savoy Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments

Address: Al Mankhool 10b St | Bur Dubai, Dubai 29016, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: $74 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester is located in one of the prime and prestigious neighborhoods in Dubai, the "Al Mankhool" area, ideally at walking distance to the Burjuman Centre, Bank Street, Meena Bazar shopping street and the rich and famous dining outlets. More conveniently a fifteen minutes drive to and from the Dubai International Airport. Rooms: Our hospitality offering is of the highest order with executive studio and executive one bedroom units. All units are fitted with elegant sophisticated furniture and furnishings with proximity door locks, personalized digital safes, top of the range kitchen and bathroom amenities and hi-speed internet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing