We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, you get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments
Ranked #245 of 541 Hotels in Dubai
Borehamwood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value, you get what you pay for.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The room itself is a very nice studio apartment, with a kitchen and everything.

The gym and the swimming pool on the rooftop are a nice touch with a view of the Dubai Skyline in the distance is stunning.

The restaurant has some lovely Indian buffet food and is reasonably priced at 35AED each for lunch or dinner, 30 for breakfast.

They offer a free shuttle service to the main pa ts of dubai twice daily which will save you a lot on taxi fares.

Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumal, Manager at Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay with us at Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments.

We are delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with Winchester Hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Winchester Grand, hopefully in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pumal Fernando
Resident Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    291
    122
    33
    26
See reviews for
166
218
49
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

It was a good hotel with low budget and it's a hotel owned by a delhi based indian and the restaurant serves excellent bufffet's be it breakfast's or lunch's or dinner and every room has a washing machine allowing us to save on the laundry bills.

The swimming pool and spa on the top floor are the best time pass.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Praneethmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumal, Manager at Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a positive review on Trip Advisor following your recent experiences at the Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments.

It is a pleasure to note that how much you had enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for all your kind words of appreciation.

I think you must be referring to Mr. Peter Shekhar who is our Managing Director (Head of Winchester Group of Hotel Apartments), but owner is a Local family.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Pumal Fernando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was at this Hotel Apart in July 2013 and let me tell you it was HORRIBLE !

Service : POOR - nothing really special, no hi and bye. Usually, when you are staying in a HOTEL APART they should wash your dishes, which was not the case and you are paying for that service in your room fees.

Bathroom : NOT clean - towels very old and they had a bad smell (like old powder), bath tub and the wall/ceiling near by very badly maintained.

Furnitures : OLD - nothing is new, it looks old-fashioned and not well maintained/not neat. Looks so old that you don't even wanna sit on their pink sofa.

WI-FI service : $$$ - Very expensive for wi-fi in your room....but at the lobby you get free wi-fi which is good in a way but it's bothering to always go downstairs when you wanna sit in your room cozy and comfy to relax (it's your vacation time , after all!!!)

Facilities: They got a swimming pool, a sauna and a steam room (but it stinks)/ their sauna is not highly efficient.

Parking : NO space - their parking lot if very small so if you got a SUV (like I did) watch out...very hard to park.

Near by : - You are not far from a exchange place/ Spinneys (equivalent of a grocery store), Mcdonald's and other small shops.

*They are building another HOTEL and their windows are NOT soundproof so very BAD sleep for me during my stay.

Overall, I do NOT recommend this hotel. They charge too much for the minimum service they give and after all it is not neat and clean. Who wants to stay in a hotel apart where they do not do the dishes, they don't change your bed sheets every time. The air inside the room is very POOR, very humid and their A/C does not work efficiently.

Room Tip: Please if you want to be comfortable and get all your sleep in a day, ask for the other side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumal, Manager at Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing level of services that you have witnessed at our hotel. I am extremely sorry to see such cleaning and maintenance mishap, because it is not the usual quality of services that Winchester provides.

However, we have noted your feedback very seriously and communicated to the respective Head of Department in order to avoid any such service level in the future.

Management would like to communicate directly with you in this regard, hence please get in touch with us on our email quoting this review title.

Please accept Management apology in this regard.

Best Regards,

Pumal Fernando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitcham, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The neighbourhood isn't that great though the rooms were spacious and clean. The staff very unfriendly and when asked for recommendations of restaurants etc they just shrugged their shoulders. Perhaps needs some attention on the customer service side of things.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighT668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumal, Manager at Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing level of services that you have witnessed at our hotel. I am extremely sorry to hear that our guests are unsatisfied because they were not treated with the usual level of services that Winchester provides.

However, we have noted your feedback and communicated to the respective Head of Department in order to avoid any such service level in the future.

I hope that this will not mar your overall experience and we all look for the chance to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future.

Best Regards,

Pumal Fernando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at the Winchester Gran for six nights in March and had a fantastic stay, pretty much faultless. Check-in was simple at around midnight and all staff very friendly and courteous.

The room was spacious and comfortable with a full size fridge with freezer, two ring hob, toaster, kettle and microwave etc, great living area and very comfortable beds. The view out of the window looked into a local family’s living room but I mean I didn’t fly to Dubai to stay in my room all day, you’re out exploring the amazing city.

We had breakfast in the hotel on the first morning which was reasonably priced. It was around £6 for the usual, breads, cheese, meat, a variety of eggs, cereals, pastries, tea coffee etc. I never had lunch or dinner in the hotel but the restaurant was always busy when we passed and the food looked and smelt excellent.

There are a number of supermarkets around to stock up on essentials. The main ones are towards the back of the hotel where the McDonalds, Pizza Hut and KFC are. You pay around the same as the UK.

The pool on the rooftop was lovely. It’s not huge but more than adequate and we were always able to get a sun lounger regardless of the time of day we were there. There’s a fantastic Jacuzzi up there also.

The staff at the Winchester were very helpful in arranging excursions for us, but never pushed to sell anything. We did the desert safari and it was amazing. Prices do vary a little depending on where you book your excursions but personally I didn’t think it was worth walking around finding other tour operators for the sake of £5 here or there.

The hotel also has it’s own shuttle bus which can be used free of charge to take you to the beach, Dubai Mall/Burj Khalifa, the Metro station and if you ask the driver nicely he’ll happily drop you at the Burjuman shopping mall if you intend picking up the double decker tour bus.

Being in the Bur Dubai area the hotel is located a fair distance from the tourist hot spots around Jumeirah beach, but because Dubai is so huge, you are never going to find a hotel which is centrally located to everything, you are always going to need to do some travelling to see the sights, so personally I’d rather stay at somewhere cheaper like the Winchester and get more value for money.

If I was to travel to Dubai again, I will certainly be staying at the Winchester Grand.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayanMayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumal, Manager at Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that our team were able to make a great impression on you during your stay and made your stay a memorable one. Thank you for the very detailed feedback and mentioning so many positive elements about the Winchester Grand.I am also glad that you enjoyed the convenience of the Shuttle service and nearby attractions.

Once again thank you for your time in recommending us on Trip Advisor and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Pumal Fernando
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after researching online. We requested a non-smoking room which we obviously didn't get. The room we had had the worst mould I have ever seen, all around the bathroom tiles and sink as well as stains running down the walls of the sink. The bottom of the bathroom door frame was rotten. We have travelled a lot and have stayed in 2 star hotels that have been much better and certainly without mould. There is no way that this hotel should have a 4 star rating! All the furniture was very old and tired, it desperately needs a refurbishment. We were on the first floor which also seemed to have permanent or long term residents who were very noisy every night, yelling out to each other in different rooms in the halls and ringing the doorbells constantly to get into each others rooms. We did complain about the noise one night, but it didn't have any effect. The air-conditioning temperature gauge didn't work so we couldn't change the temperature, also the hair dryer didn't work. There is a kitchenette but no dishcloth, tea towel or dishwashing liquid which would have been useful.

We ate at the buffet only one night as the price was good (approx $10 pp) but, although the food was ok (Indian curries and rice then tinned fruit and custard for dessert) it was barely warm. We were the only people in the restaurant which seemed a bit strange. Rooftop pool was ok, but too warm for us (more like a hot tub).

Overall we were very disapppointed with our experience with this hotel and would not recommend it. Spend a bit more and stay somewhere better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ssandii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumal, Manager at Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments.

I am disappointed to read that Winchester Grand were not to your liking and you were most unhappy with the noise emitted from neighboring apartments as well. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this caused you. I have also noted your discontentment with our Restaurant as well.

However, we would like to bring to your notice that we have scheduled second phase of renovation in this summer and we regret that we could not allocate a Non Smoking renovated apartment due to high occupancy.

We appreciate any forms of feedback and comment from our guests, as it can help us to improve our quality of services to exceed our guest’s needs and expectation.

As a valued guest, I would like to discuss this matter personally with you. Please contact me directly referring to this review in the email subject.

Best Regards,

Pumal Fernando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here for a brief stopover in Dubai and was very pleased with the hotel. The location is excellent with a metro station quite near. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean but a little worn so don't expect luxury. In saying that, they have everything you need and I spent very little time in the room. While staying here check out Al Bastakyia very nearby and go to the abra station for a 1 dihram abra ride across the creek. Tthe textile souk is also in the same area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumal, Manager at Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay with us at Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments.

It is always a pleasure to have you as our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Pumal Fernando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Winchester Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Savoy Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Xclusive Hotel Apartments
Xclusive Hotel Apartments
#248 of 541 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Apartments - Bur Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments

Property: Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments
Address: Al Mankhool 10b St | Bur Dubai, Dubai 29016, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 541 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester is located in one of the prime and prestigious neighborhoods in Dubai, the "Al Mankhool" area, ideally at walking distance to the Burjuman Centre, Bank Street, Meena Bazar shopping street and the rich and famous dining outlets. More conveniently a fifteen minutes drive to and from the Dubai International Airport. Rooms: Our hospitality offering is of the highest order with executive studio and executive one bedroom units. All units are fitted with elegant sophisticated furniture and furnishings with proximity door locks, personalized digital safes, top of the range kitchen and bathroom amenities and hi-speed internet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winchester Grand Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing