We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - away from the City”
Review of The Meydan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Meydan Hotel
Ranked #91 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Featured in NatGeo's Mega structure - The Meydan is marvelous piece of Architecture by a Malaysian architect in Dubai,. Part of the Meydan Racecourse complex, the hotel is more than 1 KM long, with a sign of luxury at every part of it.

All the rooms are having a balcony overseeing the beautiful racecourse. Food is very good and excellent service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debashis_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
There are newer reviews for The Meydan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 979 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

The tone was set for my visit to this hotel when we pulled up at the grand main complete with its impressive cascading water feature to be met and greeted by a team of helpful bellhops, opening our vehicle doors, welcoming us and assisting with our luggage. We then proceeded into to reception in the vast and spectacular lobby/atrium decked out in gold and marble, to check in.

We were early so our belongings were secured in the left luggage to be forwarded to our rooms, the rooms were well worth the wait, even the room key was special with a holographic prancing horse logo displayed when it was inserted, my room was light an airy and a very substantial size, with floor to ceiling windows leading on to a large balcony affording a panoramic vista across the racecourse. Other nice touches were the expresso machine, the remote controlled curtains, the large luxurious bathroom, and the huge, comfortable bed affording a very good nights sleep. The room was extremely well appointed, with a high end contemporary decor.

I spent most of my time out during my stay at The Meydan with the only meal I ate there being breakfast, which was a fine array of food, with enough choice and variety to satisfy any palate, as well as the choice of eating al fresco on the terrace if you wished. I did make use of the bar leading on to the terrace in the evening on several occasions to meet my colleagues and relax after work or prior to going out, great service but quite expensive, and the only other facility I used was the Infinity pool on the roof terrace which was rather nice with an unparalled view from the roof.
To summarise this is a luxurious and sumptious 5 star hotel which is away, from the hustle and bustle of downtown Dubai, nothwithstanding taxi's are plentiful and the hotel also supply a shuttle bus to the shopping Malls as well as to their Beach Club at Jumeirah, I would love to stay there again and it was definitely one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yinka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

From the moment you arrive you're made to feel special. Staff are excellent and very attentive.
If your a horse racing fan every room has a balcony overlooking the racecourse. No idea about horses but it was nice watching the horses training at first light while having breakfast on the balcony. Fabulous rooftop pool. It has a shuttle bus to a private beach but we never used but were told by other guests it's very beautiful. Will definitely return

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony T, General Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

I very much appreciate your very kind compliments and I have already taken the liberty of sharing your feedback with all our staff. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. Our Meydan Beach is definitely something that you should not miss on your return. We all hope you are planning to stay for a few days on your next visit to Dubai, as we have many activities to recommend, including watching an exhilarating movie at our Meydan Theatre, which is the biggest in the Middle East and Asia, playing a round of golf at The Track Club House or hitting some tennis balls at our Meydan Academy.

Best regards,
Antony Treston
General Manager


Best regards,
AT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was our third trip to the hotel for 6 nights, and the first time I have been able to give it top marks. If you read my previous reviews, my concerns have always been around reception, housekeeping and the main restaurant. This year only some minor gripes about housekeeping remain.
The Meydan is a lovely hotel backing on to a lush, green racecourse, where you will see the horses exercising in the early morning. It is a taxi-ride (or free shuttle) into the city, but the room prices reflect this, and more than make up for the cost of a few taxis.
The rooms themselves are generously proportioned and luxurious. I had never seen the point of a second tv in the bathroom, but this year it saved a divorce, when my horse racing and my husband's rugby were on at the same time!
Actually if you are a horse racing fiend, this place is a must. As well as close proximity to course and stables (with tours) there's normally a jockey or trainer or two lurking about, and with SIS tv , you get to watch all the UK racing too!
On arrival at the hotel, we were very impressed with the welcome from the receptionist, who found us a great room as close to the racecourse as he could; the porters were quick to bring our luggage and also very friendly (not easy at 2 in the morning!).
When we went to breakfast the next day, we could not believe the uplift in standards since our previous visits. Service was impeccable and the food was really delicious and very varied. I wondered if the improvement was because the hotel was half empty, but actually, when the hotel became fully-booked, the restaurant coped equally well.
We went up to the pool and found that they had acquired extra sunbeds. For the first time, I saw no one turning away because a bed was not available. The pool area is great - very welcoming staff, a great view (on the roof), and chilled bottles of water doing the rounds along with an occasional melon kebab. Some reviews criticise the size of the pool itself, but we have
never seen it over-crowded on any of our stays.
If you don't fancy going into town in the evening, there are some lovely places to go in the hotel. Sitting out on the terrace is always fun, but also, there is a very plush bar attached to the Japanese restaurant, which serves lovely cocktails in a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. I recommend the Mai Tai! Moving on to dinner there are a number of different-style restaurants - we liked the Sports Bar (ask the staff to take you on a golf buggy - it's a long walk!) where we could watch the rugby (again!) and eat "diner-style" food such as burgers, pies, wraps, salads etc. but we have also tried Farriers in the evening where they have buffet and a very wide-ranging a la carte and that was good too, with excellent service.

So now to my one gripe about this hotel... It's still HOUSEKEEPING!!! They have improved big time since last year, but their hours are eccentric to say the least. We go out of our room at 10am, put a "make up the room" sign on the door. We return at 4pm - room not made up. We decide to shower at 5pm , but the minute you turn that shower knob, housekeeping seem to sense it and offer to clean your room, just as you are naked and dripping with water. Oh joy! I kid you not - this happened to me 3 times! I would recommend you specifically ask them to clean the room by a certain time.
It would be unfair to end on a negative, so I will also say that we were very touched by the member of staff who rushed after us on our departure to give us a horseshoe. I was thrilled and will put it up in my kitchen.
Thank you Meydan - you've reached an amazing standard of service this year. We'll see you next February.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Miss_Horse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony T, General Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to hear that you have appreciated a lot of improvements from your last visit. It is extremely gratifying to know that our continuous efforts have made a difference. I have passed on all your compliments and kind words to all our staff involved and rest assured that we will continue to work hard on our Housekeeping service. We look forward to your return in February.

Best regards,
Antony Treston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

i stayed 4 nights in the Meydan Hotel for a medical conference ,,Staff very friendly ,just want to serve the guests ,clean ,luxurious ,very spacious rooms with balcony .the food was excellent ,only the pool was too small for such huge Hotel ,although it is considered far from the city ,but they have very good shuttle service to the malls .

Room Tip: Higher floors with balcony over looking the race track
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony T, General Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We hope that we will see you again on your next conference. I have shared your kind compliments to all our associates and we have noted your comment on the size of our pool. Rest assured that we will raise this comment for review.

Best regards,
Antony Treston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed for two nights after a cruise and a race meeting just happened to be on to add to the experience.
The hotel is quite spectacular , the entrance lobby is fabulous and the attention to detail is fabulous. We were checked in in minutes and shown to our room on the 6th floor , with a balcony overlooking the racecourse almost at the winning post. Very modern , very chic enclosed wardrobes, cupboards mini bar etc. everything concealed out of sight.
The electrics took a little working out as no switches all touch screen , even the curtains were closed/opened this way.
Very plush carpets and immaculate bedding ,towels etc.
The bathroom was really lovely , elemis toiletries and even a tv!

The only disappointment was the food. We arrived on a Friday and saw that there was a buffet available in the afternoon. We checked it out and the choice of food was great , if all looked fabulous and seemed really good value for money. As we were not really ready to eat at that time of day ,the staff suggested we try the evening buffet. But what a disappointment , hardly any main course choice at all and nothing like the afternoon food. Also the staff were too attentive. Really over the top refilling water glasses before water had even been drunk, refolding napkins every time you moved etc. very disappointing. So disappointing in fact that it may deter us from going again.

It is a beautiful hotel and all of the facilities , swimming pool etc are exceptional. Pity about the good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kat1Tyne_Wear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony T, General Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your compliments about our hotel facilities and amenities. I am glad that you enjoyed the modern design and layout of our guest room. Our Executive Chef will look into the variety and quality of our buffet selection and review, moving forward. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Best regards,
Antony Treston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in the Meydan. This is a typical new dubai property with a design that goes along the horse race parkour . The design of the hotel is rather unusual where you may end up walking rather long distances. The rooms are quite peculiar with use of marble on the doors. Watch outs are - you are a good 20-30 min drive to malls and the city; choose your room in a central location not to walk very long distances to your meeting rooms. This hotel is not ideal for meetings with breakout groups as you will be getting not a classic meeting room set up but the "lounges" designed for race watching. It is good to see some green in Dubai though.

Room Tip: Choose a Central location - thee is only one side to the hotel - facing the race court
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony T, General Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay at The Meydan Hotel.

Your feedback is well noted, as you are probably aware, Dubai is an extremely fast moving city and although we consider ourselves a haven from the hustle and bustle that makes Dubai so very special, our guests are always surprised to learn that we are no more than 8 minutes away from Dubai’s main business /commercial districts and 15 minutes from the Dubai Marina.

We are however somewhat surprised with regard to your perception that The Meydan Hotel is not ideal meetings. In actual fact, this property has often been complimented as the perfect place for meetings and exhibitions, with its vast array of areas and venues available and specifically designed for exhibitions (both inside and out), private functions and celebrations.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back at The Meydan Hotel.

Kind regards,

A. Treston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Oberoi, Dubai
#7 of 554 in Dubai
1,870 reviews
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nassima Royal Hotel
#71 of 554 in Dubai
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meydan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meydan Hotel

Address: Meydan Hotel Meydan Rd | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: $136 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meydan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the epicentre of one of the world's most exciting destinations, The Meydan provides a prime location to catch the exhilarating action of the racing season, and creates a coveted travel destination all-year round. With 284 extravagantly appointed rooms and suites, The Meydan will change your perception of travel with unrivaled standards in luxury hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Meydan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing