We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular hotel, great food”
Review of The Meydan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Meydan Hotel
Ranked #86 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel definitely has a wow factor. Immense open internal area with all the rooms backing onto the atrium with spectacular architecture.

Reception excellent service and extremely professional as you would expect in Dubai.
Rooms very nice, spacious and all have views of the race course. Its makes a pleasant change to stay in a hotel in Dubai and look out over an enormous area of manicured green grass and a perfect race track. Completely quiet with no traffic and unfortunately no horse racing!

The Shiba Bar is exceptional and the Shiba restaurant perfect for an Asian meal. The Farriers restaurant for all day dining produces exquisite breakfasts.

Not so far from Dubai main centre.

definitely going to stay here next time in Dubai.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinMuscatOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
There are newer reviews for The Meydan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 980 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at the cube last weekend and I must say that both people who had the salad felt very ill the next day. Bar is quite empty. Very lonely atmosphere.
Service was ok. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Although it may feel a little away from the bustle of Downtown Dubai as soon as you walk into the Meydan you can see this is a luxurious and opulent building. It is frankly beautiful. The service staff are all incredibly helpful and friendly. We mentioned during booking that it was our son's birthday that weekend and if they could possibly put a few balloons up. When we entered our room we found balloon decorations, a Meydan camel plushie toy, fresh fruits, fresh juice and a chocolate birthday cake - all complimentary. This was a very nice touch, we really appreciated it. The room was great as well, a good size, cleaned regularly, lovely big windows overlooking the race course (but of course with black out curtains so there was no light disturbance in the morning)

Why have I then NOT given this 5? Well on the first night we were woken at 5 am (including our toddler) by a cleaning machine operating on one of the lower floors. A hotel this large obviously has 24 hour cleaning but one of the issues with the Meydan is that guest room floors are not actually divided by standard ceiling dividers, rather they are all balconied so you can look down from the 5th floor to the ground floor. As a result, noise does travel up. When my husband went to see what the commotion was the machine was quickly turned off but it would have been nicer not to have such an early wake up call. Similarly at mid morning the same day I could hear lots of loud music playing. There was a children's party below (our room was on the 5th) and it was the same issue, the noise really travels. I actually had to put some towels round the bottom of the door so my toddler's nap wouldn't be disturbed. It's just something to be aware of if you book, ask for as high a room as is available as these will be more quiet.

We used an Entertainer voucher to stay for 2 nights and only paid for one (aed 1200 in total) which is a real bargain for the standard of this hotel. If we had paid aed 2400 then the noise dusturbance would probably have resulted in a rating of 3 or maybe even a 2! The Meydan is great for travellers who want a relaxing stay in a hotel that's maybe not quite in the hubbub of the city...just make sure you stay away from the first 5 floors!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are quieter as there is no fixed flooring which separates the floors! From the 5th f...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback and for your compliments regarding our hotel and staff. We are glad that your son had a wonderful celebration with us. We would like to apologize though, for the noises during your stay. We will review our cleaning schedule and room allocations when we have functions in order to avoid this from happening again in the future.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

i was attending a function at this hotel and managed to get a good rate through booking.com
my luggage took a long time to arrive and i was in a hurry
the lights and curtains are operated electronically so it took ages (once i found my glasses) to work out how to operate them
the balcony was nice to have, the japanese toilet was fun, the bath was huge and comfy, as was the whole bedroom
bed large and comfortable
the pool area was nice, with views over the race course - but irritating to have smoking and people smoking and kids screaming without anything done about it
gym looked good and could have a massage outside
breakfast was expensive 190 dhs (£35)

felt a bit concrete and unfriendly but the lifts were very speedy
out of town so had to use hotel taxi's which are always a bit more expensive

Room Tip: i had one on 9th floor that was close to the pool on 11th floor and close to the lifts
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debutaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had experienced some inconveniences during your stay with us. I will make sure that our Guest Relations Executives are reminded to escort all guests in order to explain our room features, as well as, ask our pool staff to communicate any hassles with our other guests discretely, who have unruly kids. We hope that this will not prevent you from giving us another opportunity to impress you on your next visit to Dubai.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the Meydan and have to say the rooms were excellent. The bathroom was wonderful. Just a little bit out of the way but if you want silence that's the place to stay. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raf T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest,

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed serenity on your stay with us. We are actually just 8 minutes from the main commercial and business districts of Dubai. Taxis are available 24/7 at the hotel and we provide a complimentary shuttle bus to Dubai Mall and Mall of the Emirates.

Aside from horse-racing, we also have a lot of other activities, such golf-playing at our Meydan Golf Club, watch a movie at our Meydan IMAX Theatre, which is the biggest IMAX screen in the UAE today, or play tennis at our Tennis Academy. If you haven’t visited our Meydan Beach Club, you definitely have to come back as it’s one of the best in town.

We look forward to your return soon.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We chose the Meyan for a 2 night “staycation” as we wanted a break but didn’t want to travel far for it. Meydan fitted the bill very well, and with the room overlooking the grassy aspect of the race track, it is a nice change for Dubai residents.
The rooms are very elegant, with the bathroom fitted out better than I have seen in any of the many 5* hotels I have stayed in, and the hotel is calm and classy as always.
We tried both the buffet and the steak restaurants and both were very good, and in the downstairs restaurant, Jared, who seems to be the manager there, is friendly and sociable and runs a tight ship.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AscottTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback. I have passed on your kind comments to Jared, as well as, to our buffet and steakhouse restaurants staff. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return again someday.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Beatiful hotel, only let down by service and technical difficulties.

The touch panel lighting system in my room went haywire, turning lights on randomly. Not exactly what you want at 3 am. Maintenence came and switched off the lighting circuit breakers, leaving the switchboard panel open so I could at least turn on the lights if I needed them. Certainly not to be expected from a 5 star hotel.

I was promised it was all fixed, but sure enough, the next night exactly the same thing happened. Maintenence came again, this time however they locked the panel, leaving me without any lights at all. I had to call them back in the morning to turn on the lights again so I could take a shower.


Fingers crossed its fixed for tonight

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 295424Leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback.

Kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered both nights of your stay. I have communicated your concerns to the relevant department and rest assured, we are looking into the issue and steps to rectify are being taken.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Meydan Hotel for the perfect stay you deserve.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Oberoi, Dubai
#7 of 554 in Dubai
1,873 reviews
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nassima Royal Hotel
#70 of 554 in Dubai
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meydan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meydan Hotel

Address: Meydan Hotel Meydan Rd | Nad Al Sheba, Dubai 9305, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: $133 - $639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Meydan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the epicentre of one of the world's most exciting destinations, The Meydan provides a prime location to catch the exhilarating action of the racing season, and creates a coveted travel destination all-year round. With 284 extravagantly appointed rooms and suites, The Meydan will change your perception of travel with unrivaled standards in luxury hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Meydan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing