We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Meydan Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,111)
Filter reviews
1,111 results
Traveler rating
754
225
74
22
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
754
225
74
22
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrace coursefarriers restaurantprime steakhousehorse raceshorses traininginfinity pool on the roofbalcony overlookingdubai world cupdubai mallshuttle busminute drivecoffee machineluxury hotelrestaurant staffamazing hotelexcellent facilitiesshuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
763 - 768 of 1,111 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here last year and enjoyed it enough to repeat the experience.
At the airport our pre-booked car was there to meet us. The driver was courteous and helpful and the car was very comfortable.
On checking-in it was a little disappointing that no reference was made to our previous visit. In all other hotels we have visited in Dubai, repeat custom is valued and acknowledged. A "welcome back" would have been nice.
Our room was actually next door to the one we had last year on the fourth floor. It was a panoramic suite. Last year I complained that some of the fixtures were damaged, the bathroom tv was broken and the shower appeared to leak. This year we had no such problems, but sadly this room was a lot grubbier than the standard of cleanliness the year before. All the toilets, baths, sinks were spotless, but there were loads of ring marks over bathroom surfaces, the coffee table in the lounge and some curious stains on the glass toilet door and on the side of one of the armchairs. I don't want you to think it was filthy - it was "OK" but the standard was not in keeping with the luxury of our surroundings. There also seemed to be lots of dried plaster drips on the main entrance to the suite as well.
Last year I mentioned that housekeeping is the area this hotel really needs to get to grips with. They never cleaned our room until about 5pm unless we asked and it was the same again this year - despite the "Please make up the room" sign going on no later than 9.30 each day.
On a positive note the suites here are huge and well-appointed,. I am a real horse-racing fan so the balcony overlooking the racecourse and access to Dubai racing channel and SIS for English racing just about put me on cloud nine. In the morning, the horses do their workouts on the track and it's great to climb straight out of bed and watch them.
In the restaurants service at the hotel was patchy. The lounge bar was very friendly and efficient. Farriers for breakfast was fine except that on only 1 day in 5 were we given napkins for the table and flagging down a second cup of coffee was often quite a challenge. Having said that, the buffet breakfast was extensive and the food itself of excellent quality.
We were most impressed with out visit to Shiba bar. It is very smart and comfortable, but I couldn't choose between a seat by the window or a seat by the tv showing English racing. In the end I chose the window at which point the staff put the racing on the tv nearest me without anyone even mentioning it to them - we were most impressed with their attentiveness.
Dinner, on the other hand was not the best of experiences. We ate at the hotel twice and both times there were significant errors. At Bel Pasta we were served with the wrong order but still enjoyed the experience. The manager was aware of the error and made suitable recompense without us being put through the embarrassment of making a complaint. Actually we quite liked what we ate and were impressed by how "on the ball" the manger was!
I am less forgiving about our experience in Farriers where we ordered starter and main course from a waiter who was clearly having difficulties understanding English. When our starter hadn't arrived after 45 minutes I began to suspect he was going to serve it with our main course, so we explained our order to him again. We then explained it to another waiter who appeared to speak more English, but they still served everything together. We then sent back the main course whilst we had the starter, which was re- served to us, dried out, some 25 minutes later.
My husband complained to the manager who appeared completely unaware of what was going on and then blamed his staff for not telling him. Not at all the quality of the management at Bel Pasta - surely he should keep an eye on inexperienced staff?
I'd like to finish on a positive note because we received some really hospitable gestures from the hotel, such as the free golf buggies which took us to and from the racecourse, and also the sports bar, through to the day we were supposed to get a shuttle to Bab Al Shams and were offered a free journey in the hotel car instead because we were the only people going.
In summary, I would recommend you come here if you love horses and are prepared to eat dinner away from the hotel. We will certainly be back, although any further deterioration in housekeeping standards would decide me against it. Actually, this really does have the potential to be a top-notch hotel if they could just get to grips with the standard of housekeeping. We're hoping to be pleasantly surprised next year, third time lucky...

Room Tip: I like the fourth floor - it's close enough to see the horses but not so close to all the noise of the bar on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miss_Horse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your in-depth feedback of our hotel’s services. I assure you that I am going to work on resolving all of these issues as soon as possible with my team, most especially the Housekeeping Department. I am glad that you liked Shiba and Bas Pasta Restaurants and I will discuss the points which you raised with regards to our Farriers Restaurant. I definitely agree with you that there should have been close supervision where it is needed. Hopefully, upon your next return, you will see the improvements.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Attractive hotel, stay completely ruined by their addiction to piping music into the public areas and corridors. This means that there is a low level yet audible soundtrack wherever you go in this hotel. Imagine sleeping next to someone with an ipod permanently playing - thats how irritating it is.

Secondly - 5 pieces of equipment in my room either glowed or flashed with no means to turn them off.

So like i said, if you want a really good sleep... dont bother.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thejimbobly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear guest,

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a relaxing stay with us. Based on your feedback we have looked into our timings of piped music and adjusted it accordingly to assure the night sleep of our valued guests is not been perceived as disturbance.

Thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

our bedroom was superb with views over the racecourse. the bathroom was stunning with huge corner bath walk in shower tv . walk in cupbourd for lugguge. however coffee maker didn work. although a very impressive hotel we found it ratgeher souless with little atmosphere. the main dining room was nothing special and the food average. drinks were very expensive. we didnt get to use the swimming pool as it was raining while we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will try to work on improving these areas and as a result of your comments, we are now working on a coffee machine instruction card. It is unfortunate that you did not get to do a lot of things due to the weather but our hotel has a wide variety of activities available, starting from our infinity swimming pool where the view is fantastic, our Meydan Golf Club, Meydan IMAX theatre, which is the biggest screen in the Middle East and Asia today and many more. We hope you will be back to enjoy these next time.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Fabulous hotel. We checked in at 2 am to smiling faces at reception, smooth quick check in with just enough information at that time in the morning. Room was very luxurious with all the amenties you could want, coffee machine free bottled water, lovely toiletries and everything on remote controls, lights, curtains and even the toilet.
Breakfast was included in the price we paid and was extensive, lots of choice. Sitting on the terrace, in the morning sun, eating breakfast, over looking the perfectly manicured race course was something else.
We used the free shuttles each evening to go to the Malls, don’t miss the fountains at the Dubai Mall, and then got Taxis back costing about 30 dirhams, GBP 6.
We used the roof top pool and only once found the small number of sunbeds a problem, 4 beds were reserved when we arrived at 10 am and the lifeguard moved the towels when they did not return at 12 . due to the relatively small number of beds reserving them should not be allowed.
Overall a very enjoyable stay in a top class hotel, staff were courteous and always greeted us with a smile.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindypopsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken note of your suggestions on our pool operations and we will review them in order to improve our service. Thank you for your nice compliments of our hotel. We always strive to deliver the best 5-Star Service in the UAE. We hope you will return again to experience the world’s richest race day, the Dubai World Cup, on the 30th of March.

Best regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Elegant, huge and simple with beautiful design. It has all facilities yo needs and special services that provided. Enjoy the roof top swimming pool and balcony sites directly viewing the horse fields raise. You can get reserved during high discounts and enjoy Dubai vacationing.

Room Tip: Best during events.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saeedzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdemirHusagic, Manager at The Meydan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your compliments of our hotel. We try our best to constantly provide a variation of products and services to all our guests and are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Ademir Husagic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews