We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food fantastic location for euro prices near dubai mall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margaux - CLOSED

Margaux
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Dubai
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food fantastic location for euro prices near dubai mall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This restaurant on the old town island near dubai mall is one of many there. Why because if you sit outside you have a fanastic view of the fountains. Which are simply amazing..
Service is good as often is in Dubai, food is good quality it can only get cold if one of the fountain shows starts as you have just had it served. They serve real beer which is nice. Prices are euro standard but vs the location it is really money well spend

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wilmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
241 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great view of the fountains, Burj, but food is expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The outdoor seating are great, it's placed in Souq Al Bahar, thus giving you fantastic view of Burj Khalifa and the fountains. The ambiance is perfect.

The service was not up to the mark. We had reserved a table for 8 near the fountain, so as we entered the lady kindly escorted us to show our table. Then we were kind of asked twice if we had made a reservation by two different servers. Also one of the servers came without a menu asking us if we want to order something to drink.

The menu had 3 beers, so not much of choice if you like beers. The food was nice but priced high.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ganesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

It was my first time in Dubai and my colleague brought me here for dinner.

Firstly the food was very good. We both opted for the burgers which seemed very good value and tasted excellent. The rest of the menu looked very good but was considerably more expensive.

Secondly the view! The restaurant is fairly large but we were lucky enough to be seated on the terrace. From here we had front row seats to the fountain show at the Burj Khalifa. This is one of the main attractions in Dubai and is an absolute must see. We managed to get these seats on a Thursday evening without a reservation by turning up early at around 6:30pm.

Service was friendly and efficient. Overall a good restaurant, good food and fantastic views.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wombledavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Margaux is a nice restaurant in the heart of Souk Al Bahar. It has nice food and, notably, unobstructed views of the Dubai Fountains which make for great outdoor dining. The Tuna Tartare appetizer is good and one should steerclear of the Caesar Salad. Nothing wrong with it, but very ordinary. The main of penne with mushrooms with a side of chicken breast was nice, again, nothing spectacular, but not bad. The main attraction is the desserts which are delicious. Try the Creme Brulee or tart of the day. Both are good. All desserts are matched with dessert wines.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BilalMasood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice splurge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

As you can read from other reviews, the view cannot be beat. Yes, it is not cheap, but why would anyone think a place in this setting in Dubai would be cheap?

The food varied from fantastic to average. The risotto was as good as any we have tasted anywhere - really great. My wife had the burger which was very good. My veal was just OK.

The wine list is OK, I would guess that because of the setting and prices some other reviewers would have high expectations which were not met.

We went early (6:00 PM) with kids and service was excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scottso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaux also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing