We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, poor location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fraser Suites Dubai
Ranked #185 of 546 Hotels in Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average hotel, poor location”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel over Christmas and New Year. To start with, the "girl" at front desk was unpleasant and inflexible. The Internet was not free and RIDICULOUSLY priced! About $100 for a week's stay for only ONE device!!!

Contrary to some of the reviews, I actually liked the fact that house keeping came round in the afternoon to give me time for a lie in. The rooms are quite spacious and the kids had a good time running around. However, the rooms had not been maintained well. They had a musty smell and certain parts were dusty. The water would come out yellow when initially turned on and the towels were small sized and hard.

Now for the worst part! The location!! It is off Sheikh Zayed rd (a very long road) but smack in the middle of nowhere! There were hardly any taxis. One could wait about 45mins without a single taxi coming by. This was extremely unusual for me as I had stayed in various hotels in dubai and all I needed to do was stroll out of the lobby and the taxis were there. As if this wasn't bad enough, a lot of taxis don't know the hotel, resulting in long trips around the city, various telephone calls and generally a lot of time wasted!

The front desk staff looked unhappy to be there for the most part; they hardly smiled or said hello but the other staff were generally quite friendly and helpful.

This hotel is not a luxury hotel. If you need basic and you have hired a car then it is not so bad.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GidiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1611, General Manager at Fraser Suites Dubai, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear GidiGirl,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Firstly, I would like to acknowledge your issues of concern and extend my sincere apologies for any discomfort and inconvenience experienced during your recent stay. Your comments have been shared with my colleagues and a detailed review has been conducted with regard to the presentation and maintenance of your apartment.

It is unfortunate that you encountered taxi drivers who were unaware of our location. Whilst I believe these to be in the minority (of all taxi drivers) we continue to promote awareness of our location to overcome such concerns. I do understand your frustration with delays encountered during the New Years holiday period and whilst normally there are a number of taxis on the hotel driveway at all hours of the day, we also offer a limousine service at a small premium over the cost of a public taxi.

On a positive note I am pleased to report that the hotel is upgrading its Internet bandwidth and will be offering free wi-fi to all guests from 1 February 2013.

Thank you once again for providing your valuable feedback and I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Fraser Suites Dubai on a future occasion.

Warm regards

David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    152
    21
    13
    8
See reviews for
141
75
16
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumbarton
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here for a week late november with a friend who is living there. Its a great place to stay very modern but comfortable and very clean. I was in a 3 bedroom apartment which was very spacious with a balcony with everything you need including a dishwasher, washing machine and plenty kitchen utensils if you fance staying in to cook. The restaurant is very good value for both breakfast and dinner I had both and they were very tasty. The staff are so friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. The pool area is very nice though its in the shade most of the day However the staff will move the sunloungers round to the back of the hotel to the sun.
Try and get a room overlooking the sea the views are fab. This is a great place to stay in dubai

Room Tip: get a room high up and overlooking the sea for gret views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smackx03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the Fraser suites for New Years in a three bedroom suite on level 42. The view was sensational allowing us to see all of the fireworks without leaving the comfort of our room. The room were spacious and clean with a well stocked kitchen. It was perfect for a family of four, there is nothing I could fault, the staff were friendly and helpful, the location great and taxi's easy to organise. This is the first time that we have stayed at the Fraser suites, we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Level 42 has a fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmesFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great rooms! My family likes the Fraser group and we were happy to find it in Dubai. we took a two bedroom suite and they were clean and well maintained. The had a well equipped kitchenette including microwave, dishwasher and electric oven. Two Tvs, Dvd player, Ipod dock. good standard really. the staff were also quite courteous and responsive. They have a good shuttle service which is very useful as the hotel is a bit off from the main road and malls. Was there in December 2011.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParveN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent 4 nights in this luxurious apartments. Apartment size, room service, cleanness, were all nice. My children enjoyed the space and the pool. The view from the 29th floor of Shaikh Zayed Road is fabulous . I would like to thank the special service from the concierge "Adnan" who was a real help in assisting to book one of the activities in town. Will consider staying in Fraser Suites in my future trips to Dubai.

The downside is that Internet service is not free and a bit costly (AED 20 per hour or AED 100 per day). Also, accessibilty to the apartments is not the best so it would be difficult to get around if you do not have your own transportation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I had a excellent stay in this property with my family. Spacious room, excellent view and grate service. I felt i am at home. Shopping Mall is near by plus hotel offer free shuttle to beach and shopping mall. I like even the swimming pool its very big and excellent health club facilities

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor so you can see proper palm
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ysabelle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were a large party staying at the Fraser Suites. The staff could not do enough for us. Hotel was spotlessly clean and facilities were superb.
Breakfast and lunch were very good and reasonably priced for Dubai.
The managers and the staff including restaurant, housekeeping, pool, bellboy, concierge, front desk were all so helpful and a credit to this hotel. We would definitely consider using this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Millennium Dubai
10.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Hotel Dubai
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Residences Dubai - Al Barsha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dubai-Internet City
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Dubai Mall of the Emirates Hotel
9.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Dubai

Property: Fraser Suites Dubai
Address: Fraser Suites Dubai Sheikh Zayed Rd | Sidra Tower, Media City, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Business Hotel in Dubai
#81 Family Hotel in Dubai
#100 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#129 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#158 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Fraser Suites Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated alongside Media City and Internet City with a much coveted address, Fraser Suites Dubai, rises above Sheikh Zayed Road occupying the top 23 levels of Sidra Tower, overlooking the Arabian Sea and charming city skyline of Dubai. Designed to allow large amounts natural light and space, each of the 268 hotel rooms and luxurious Fraser Suites Dubai hotel apartments are an oasis of calm with elegant interiors decorated and fully furnished with modern conveniences. Our guests find our two & three bedroom apartments an excellent option when travelling in a bigger group. These apartments come with a spacious kitchen, en-suite bathrooms with walk-in showers and bathtubs, wide open plan living room and breath-taking views of the Arabian sea. The smooth design of the furniture and delicate patterns of the textures are pleasing on the eye and make the stay an enjoyable one. You have the option of watching this vibrant city go by from the top floors of Sidra Towers with your loved ones on a warm Dubai night. Fraser Suites Dubai is a marvelous choice for those who are travelling to town for business or leisure purposes. One bedroom hotel apartments and hotel rooms are serviced spaces that come with a private cosy en-suite bathroom, luminous working spaces and modern décor. Well-fitted bedrooms with soft bed linens make every night relaxing and comfortable so if you’re after a good night’s sleep, this is exactly what you’ll get at Fraser Suites. A comfortable working space helps to focus on any business tasks at hand while being just moments away from the buzz and nightlife of the capital. Premier rooms also come with a spacious balcony overlooking the city and coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Suites Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Dubai Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing