We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time - a false economy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jumeirah Garden Guesthouse
Ranked #20 of 66 Dubai B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Based on the reviews, website, and attractive pricing, we decided to try the Jumierah Garden, a "boutique" hotel in the huge city that Dubai has become.

We're not sad to say that we will not be returning. Despite numerous phone calls and e-mails to confirm the reservation, we never received an e-mail confirmation of rate, cancellation policy, or directions (given the obscure location) despite asking for them on multiple occasions.

The night before we were due to check-in, we e-mailed to cancel as we had not yet received anything, and to our surprise we received a response within five minutes stating a 48 hour cancellation policy and that we would have to pay if we didn't show (even though they didn't have our payment information). Despite our hesitation, we wanted to honour the commitment and checked-in to the hotel.

While the room and common areas were decorated in a "Contemporary style", the condition of our bathroom was atrocious; seriously dated and in desperate need of a renovation; whoever called this place luxurious and quaint must have been staying somewhere else.

The lack of any kind of bath products was shocking (especially as we weren't advised that none would be provided), and when we returned from a day out at 5:30pm, we found that our room had not been made nor cleaned. We had to ask for it to be done.

The obscure location, dated bathroom, and poor management mean that not only will we not be returning, but we will proactively be telling others not to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RiteshDoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for The Jumeirah Garden Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 64 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2010

We can't speak too highly of this place. Comfortable and spacious. Breakfast by the swimming pool is delightful. The staff are friendly and attentive. The mobile phone provided is a bonus even if the top-up is not included in the tariff. It is in a quiet location, so make sure you have a map as most taxi drivers need directions to find it. We were glad we picked this guest house in preference to the boring chain hotels and the rather tatty looking places in old Dubai.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hillingdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

This guest house is away from
the hustle & bustle of main tourist area. We thought this was a good thing, but if you want to be near the beach admist other tourists then this is not for you. Paul was a gracious hospitable host with great service & food. Free wi fi was a bonus. Only downside was taxi drivers had trouble locating it but using the mobile provided we got by.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzyqAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

A small English-ran guesthouse - but best described as a boutique hotel. With 10 rooms, it offered some respite from the traditional large-roomed hotels and people everywhere. As it was in a residential area, cab drivers always had a problem getting there. However, the owners provide a mobile phone in each room with stored numbers to help get you home - what a great idea! Despite being out of the tourist area, cabs are so cheap it doesn't matter. The pool and garden are perfect for a few hours break from malls and souks.
We would be very happy to revisit and would recommend it to anyone.
Thanks to Jo, Paul and Andy - although Andy openly admits he is a Spurs supporter!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cranners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Voted Best boutique experience – Timeout Magazine Dubai.

Jumeirah Garden Guest House: This little gem proves that the best things come in small packages. The guest house is run by a long-time hotelier from London and offers an alternative to the city’s many mammoth hotels – it welcomes people to come down and have lunch or dinner cooked by celeb chef Andy Campbell, then use the facilities for the day, which include a decent-sized pool as well as a lovely garden with a croquet area. Ideal if you have friends visiting from abroad!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HardcoreTravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

I would like to thank Paul, Andy and the team at the Jumeirah Garden Guesthouse for helping to make our stay in Dubai one which we will remember for a long time. The value for money which this superb guesthouse offers made this an affordable visit, and probably a slightly longer one than we may have otherwise have had.

We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and the feeling that we were part of the family for our 5 day stay - and as for the food... superb! Paul's eggs would give even Andys' a run for their money! Although we had no reason to ask for anything in particular, we had the feeling that nothing would be too much trouble for the team. This was demonstrated when we arrived early in the morning, having not known until the last minute whether we were going to actually get our flight following the volcanic ash incident. Even though Paul didn't know whether we would make it or not, he greeted us as friends and quickly made a room available for us, which was such a welcome gesture!

Thanks again everyone, and we hope to see you again, bringing friends with us next time!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed in this guesthouse end of march 2010. It is a very nice house in a quite area. Easy to find because Paul send me a map with the location by email, so although we arrived in the middle of the night we had no problems finding the place.
Rooms are big and very clean, the beds are really comfortable and the place is very quite.
Providing all guests with a cellphone is a great service. Swimming pool and the garden are great.
So these are all the pluspoints, but also we have some comment.
The breakfast in morning time is very simple, just 2 slice of white toast with 2 eggs and a tomato, 1 cup of tea and 1 glass of juice, that's it...No brown bread, only eggs.
A breadbasket with diffrent kinds of brown and white bread and choices of eggs, cheese, jam , fresh fruits, curd would be our wish for a good start of the day.
Also the location is quite far from restaurants, the Creek etc.., you have to take a taxi all the time, its not on walking distance from places of interests.
But overall as written before its a very nice and clean place.

Paula & Hermien form the Netherlands

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aleida13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.5 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel Dubai
Metropolitan Hotel Dubai
#101 of 554 in Dubai
240 reviews
5.0 mi away
Taj Dubai
Taj Dubai
#9 of 554 in Dubai
1,553 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Dubai
The Oberoi, Dubai
#7 of 554 in Dubai
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jumeirah Mina A'Salam
Jumeirah Mina A'Salam
#33 of 554 in Dubai
2,824 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Mall of the Emirates
6.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#20 of 554 in Dubai
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jumeirah Garden Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jumeirah Garden Guesthouse

Address: Al Sayora St | Sheikh Zayed exit 41 Al Thanya St, Dubai DXB, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Dubai
Price Range: $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "The Best Boutique experience" TimeOut Magazine. "Dubai's biggest secret of all, a hotel so exclusive that it has just 10 rooms and is so high-end that a celebrity chef cooks for a handpicked few every night" GRAZIA Magazine. "A class apart" - Gulf News Dubai. "The most exclusive Restaurant in Dubai" TimeOut Magazine. We are a boutique B&B Guesthouse run by Hotelier Paul Anthony and Celebrity Chef Andy Campbell. 10 elegant rooms, wifi throughout, pool, garden and restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Jumeirah Garden Guesthouse Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing