We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice bar-restaurant with great location and fantastic view”
Review of Karma Kafe

Karma Kafe
Ranked #233 of 9,540 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $80 - $200
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Dubai
Description: Karma Kafe is an award winning pan Asian restaurant and lounge from the creators of world renowned Buddha-Bar, located in the heart of Downtown Dubai. Offering a fusion of pan Asian and International flavors, as well as opulent surroundings and eclectic beats, Karma Kafe is a unique dining and nightlife destination. The outdoor terrace offers breathtaking views of the Dubai Fountain and the Burj Khalifa, which are essential sightings for all visitors to the city. This hidden gem can be found in an intimate corner of Souk Al Bahar, Downtown Dubai.
Dubai
Level Contributor
477 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Nice bar-restaurant with great location and fantastic view”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Karma Kafé is a deliciously different restaurant and lounge bar located in the heart of Downtown Dubai. Offering a feast for all the senses with a fusion of Pan Asian and International flavours, as well as opulent surroundings and eclectic beats, Karma Kafé is a truly unique destination. The outdoor terrace offers breath taking views of the Dubai Fountain and Burj Khalifa, a must for all visitors to the city. Its outdoor area glows red, with Oriental-style chandeliers hanging overhead, while indoors is lit up with fuschia lanterns and colourful bohemian-style cushions.

Though many dishes tend to be eye-wateringly expensive, there are plenty of vegetarian options, such as shitake mushrooms with truffle and ponzu sauce and hand-rolled tamaki veggie rolls. If you love seafood, the mini ceviche tacos with wasabi and guacamole is a dish in itself. Service can be a little uptight, but the place is always busy.

I tried the evening the Chardonney Blanco wine from Argentina and my friends had some beers. Also to mention, excellent Mojitos.

Buisness lunch during the week for AED99.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lugano22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    221
    63
    19
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dont Go There”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had dinner in Karma Café. The air-conditioning was not working. The temperature in the Summer in Dubai reaches 50C. You can imagine how you would feel indoors with almost zero AC. The staff acknowledged they have an issue for a long time and they never addressed it. The place is very expensive for what you actually get in the end. I recommend you would go to Zuma which is only 10min away by taxi or Nobu in Atlantis hotel. Surprisingly, they are very comparative in prices with a much better quality of food and quality of atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank KWG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“represents the oriental way of relaxing and enjoying your drink”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Situated at Souq Al Bahar with an amazing view of the dancing fountain at Downtown Burj Dubai. It is the place to be after a long day at the Dubai Mall and shopping. The view is rewarding, the drinks are very 'unusual', and the music is relaxing! I definitely propose this cafe/bar for an early drink! Enjoy tha glamorous Dubai view and Zen relaxation!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank marirena t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Cool place”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Good music not too loud. Nice comfortable atmosphere
Drinks for 55 each.
Sit inside to hide from the heat but outside terrace has a great view
Reasonable choice of Japanese dishes

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful Service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I went to this restaurant on a not so busy weeknight. We were a group of seven people and were told that they could get us a table in 5-10 mins and that we could wait at the bar. When we got to the bar, we ordered a few a few drinks. The bartender took our order and went away to make our drinks, or so we presumed. After a few minutes, the same bartender came back, accompanied by someone who seemed to be his manager, and told us that we could not stand at the bar unless we were ordering food in addition to our drinks. I informed him that we were going to order food once we got seated. Sensing my irritation, the "manager" type, who seemed to not want us around at the bar spoke up saying it was a new government regulation. Given the vast number of bars in Dubai, this was the first I had ever heard of this rule.

Fortunately for the restaurant's business, the hostess came around and walked us over to our table. Keep in mind that we were there to spend and spend we did. About a half hour later, on my way to the restroom, I walked past the bar and what did I see? People drinking, smoking.....and NOT eating. I did a double take and confirmed on the way back. So apparently the "new government Food and Drink at Bar rule" only applies arbritrarily, maybe to people not of the "right skin color"?

Barring this ridiculous incident, this restaurant exemplifies the bankrupt customer service that exists in many high priced restaurants in Dubai. We each ordered an entree and asked if the food could come out at the same time so some people did not have to wait uncomfortably to eat. The server gave us a flat "no" with no apology. One of our guests got her rice first and waited for another 10 mins while it got cold for her accompanying main course to arrive. We ordered two bottles of water for the table and the server brought one small bottle (I guess this restaurant assumes one sip of water per person should suffice for an entire evening).

The food was mediocre at best, and by the end of the dinner we left disgusted with the lack of regard for customers shown by this pitiful establishment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hooschicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karma Kafe also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Karma Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing