We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience - bad service”
Review of Karma Kafe

Karma Kafe
Ranked #234 of 9,623 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $80 - $200
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Dubai
Description: Karma Kafe is an award winning pan Asian restaurant and lounge from the creators of world renowned Buddha-Bar, located in the heart of Downtown Dubai. Offering a fusion of pan Asian and International flavors, as well as opulent surroundings and eclectic beats, Karma Kafe is a unique dining and nightlife destination. The outdoor terrace offers breathtaking views of the Dubai Fountain and the Burj Khalifa, which are essential sightings for all visitors to the city. This hidden gem can be found in an intimate corner of Souk Al Bahar, Downtown Dubai.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience - bad service”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The girls at the entrance were arrogant and had a bad attitude. Sushi was good but the service during the meal was too pushy and did not give us the opportunity to finish their meal before they took the plate off the table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobby608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    224
    63
    20
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible Service horrible manager”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I did not enjoy my time there at all, the service is very poor take 15 min to get beer, the waiter got our order wrong when we complained to the manager (leon) kept ignoring us when he came to our table he was aggressive and not profissional he couldn't even solve the issue (his behaviour is certainly not Japanese but bulgarian)
i will not be going there again
and i dont recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank abdelila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Shockingly bad food!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The restaurant and front staff are great which made the quality of the food such a disapointment. It was the third worst meal I have had out and I have eaten out a lot. The sizzling tofu came cold and had to be sent back. It was little better the second time. The angry chicken was so bad I just gave up. Simply shocking - a no go despite the front staff. Get a new chef !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, decent food, questionable service”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I went several times to Karma Cafe, and the overall experience is not bad, the food is good, the wines are decent, and the deco and views are great, but still the service can improve a lot, they are a bit arrogants and not well trained, but lets see......

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CesarAlonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good spot but...”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Karma cafe is in a very good spot...placed in front of the fountains of Dubai and towards the Dubai Mall. The staff tried as much as they can, friendly and helpfull.

The inside of the restaurnat looked nice but we stayed outside as it was my birthday and we needed a place more romantic and with views to the fountains. The furniture outside were ok.

As every restaurant in Dubai the lower spending per person for a dinner is around 300 Dhs which means around 60 euros. So we skipped it and we decided to have 2 drinks and an starter. The drinks because of the Muslim Policy are very expensive too but ok it was a special day. The starter was also very expensive but we enjoyit because it was nice and we learnt how to use the asian wooden sticks for eating.

The worse thing of the place that made us laugh was that we brought our cake and we kindly ask if they can serve it for us but their answer was that if we want this we have to pay 30 Dhs per person just to do this. Very funny and ofcourse under the table. We decided that we will not do it and we went to the Lebanesse Restaurant under Karma which called ''Al Malouf'' and they did this with pleasure without charging!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karma Kafe also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Karma Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing