We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save Your Money and Hire a Taxi.”
Review of Big Bus Tours

Big Bus Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Big Bus Dubai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
$117.08*
and up
Big Bus Dubai and Abu Dhabi Super Saver: Hop-On Hop-Off Tours
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Big Bus Dubai by Night Tour Including Guide
Ranked #4 of 476 Tours in Dubai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hop-on Hop-off sightseeing Tour of Dubai. Discover Dubai aboard a traditional open top double-decker bus, the king of all sightseeing vehicles.From the towering sail-shaped Burj Al Arab Hotel to the mysterious Gold and Spice Souks, a Big Bus Tour is the best way to see Dubai’s breathtaking landmarks. With 38 stops all over Dubai, you can design your own itinerary and hop-on and hop-off at any stop of your choice to organize your day at your own leisure. The ticket combines three routes in one, the City tour Beach tour and Marina tour with a recorded commentary option in a choice of 12 languages: English, Arabic, Farsi, Russian, Hindi, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese and Mandarin. Extend your experience and join us on the 2 hour live-guided panoramic Night Tour departing from 4 points starting 7pm. Tickets are available with a validity of 1 day, 2 days & 1 week, as well as Combo ticket for Dubai Day and Night Tour or as Combo ticket for Dubai and Abu Dhabi. All buses are air-conditioned.The ticket includes: Unlimited hop on-hop off facility at 38 points around the city of Dubai from 9am – 5pm daily Two routes: 1hr 45 min City Tour and 3 hrs Beach Tour (without stop) Free Arabian Dhow Cruise (4 times daily) Free entrance into Dubai Museum and Sheikh Saeed Al Maktoum’s House Free Walking Tour daily from Oct -April (11:00h and 15:30h)Prices:Dubai Day Tour 24hrs: Adult AED 220, Child AED 100, Family AED 540Dubai Day Tour 48hrs: Adult AED 295, Child AED 130, Family AED 720Dubai Day & Night Tour Combo: Adult AED 295, Child AED 150, Family AED 840Dubai & Abu Dhabi Day Tour Combo: Adult AED 350, Child AED 150, Family AED 740Bus stops:20 Stops all over Dubai incl. Souq Madinat Jumeirah, Burj Al Arab, Atlantis The Palm, Mall of Emirates, Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa, Jumeirah mosque…
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This "tour" is not worth 1/15th the cost of the ticket.

The local information piped in through headphones is basic and poorly timed, adding no real value. The size of Dubai is not conducive to this type of tour, as you spend most of your time on the bus.

Save your money and hire a taxi for a day or 1/2 day rate. You can grab a brochure of the bus trip and hit the spots on your own.

1  Thank jwhitney19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,613)
There are newer reviews for Big Bus Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,144 - 4,148 of 5,617 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We joined this tour at the Mall of the Emirates with a view to joining the tour around the older part of the city when we got in to that area. There were long sections of the bus ride with no commentary and then when we did get some commentary it was minimal and not very informative.

I thought this was because there are long stretches of road where there isn't anything particularly interesting and that this would improve when we got to the red route tour which takes in the older parts of the city.

However, things did not improve much when we joined up with the red route. There was much more to see on this route, but the commentary was about on a par with a leaflet from the tourist board, seeming to focus more on telling us where we could spend money rather than about the history and culture of Dubai.

The tour was also considerably more expensive than bus tours I've taken in other cities.

All in all, I would say that this tour should be avoided and there are probably better ways to see and learn about the city.

3  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBusToursUAE, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback which is valuable to us.

On both our Blue and Red routes, we try to offer the most informative and entertaining commentary about the city's landmarks and places of interest (21 in total). Our recorded comnmentary is available in a choice of 10 languages. Dubai being an ever changing city, we will be updating the recorded information in 2013.

We apologize if you did enjoy the tour; we hope to welcome you again onboard Big Bus Tours in the future,

Kind regards
BIG BUS MANAGEMENT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I’ve been on Big Bus tours in 5 others cities, and I’ve always had a great experience. They help you get the lay of the land and quickly get you from one site to the next pretty quickly. The pickup points are well-marked and easy to find given the directions in the brochures. In Dubai, none of this is true.

First, the spots are not marked at all, And despite the rebuttals of the company, they are not easy to find with the descriptions they give in their brochures.

Second, the narrative on the bus is outdated. We just did this tour in early September 2012, and the narrative references several things that are planned to be completed in 2010. Oh, and some of these things I found out have either been abandoned or delayed. So the information you are getting is not accurate – so what good is a tour if the information is not correct?

Third, we must have spoken to 7 people associated with the Big Bus Tour to get some guidance or direction. None were any help except to offer to sell us another day ticket.

Fourth, 24-hour ticket is very deceptive. The buses don’t start running until almost 10:00 am for most pick up sites on the blue route, and then they end before 6:00 pm. As one other reviewer indicated, despite the night time tour, your day time tickets are not valid which is quite unfortunate since many of the sites (fountains and souks on red route are not even operating until very late in the day.

Fifth, again, despite the company’s rebuttals to others complaints, the buses are not on time or don’t follow the time schedule. What I figured out at the end of the day is that the driver will actually leave a pick up point early -- so that makes the next bus look very late. And for our pick up site, the 9:40 start time was a “misprint” per the representative.

Sixth, this constant ticket checking is ridiculous. The driver checks when you get on, so why do they have people at every other stop get on and do it again? In other cities all they care about is whether your ticket was valid when you got on. If you went an hour over just to get closer to your original pick up point, no one cares. In Dubai, they will throw you off the bus.

Seventh, and this is the helpful part. The blue line is a waste of time for anyone with a single day ticket. It takes almost 3 hours to run around the entire route. If you can get yourself to the red route in the morning to catch the first bus, that might make some sense since the stops on this route are closer together and there is more history to see. But here is the catch, nothing is open on the red route until the afternoon. Heritage Village says it is open at 8:30, but it was a ghost town at 9:30 am. And no one will tell you that. So, actually, the red line is worthless too except for after 1:00 pm. But if you do that, you will need to take a cab/metro back to your hotel that is off the blue line.

Eighth, the changeover at Wafi is a joke. If you are on the blue bus, you must exit and wait for the next blue line – another 30 minutes – as your driver goes on break. And you are also waiting for the red line – like another reviewer, we watched the red line pull away as we arrived.
This Big Bus costs $60 USD per person. So if there are two or more of you, you can find a car service that for $160 will give you a 4-hour tour of the city – hop on, hop off as he will wait for you and will provide some narrative that is probably more up to date than the Big Bus Tour.

8  Thank DBR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The concierge at Atlantis suggested we book the big bus tour as we wanted to get off and see the Dubai fountain, go up the Burj Kalifa, and experience the gold and spice souks all in the same day.
We managed to go up the Burj but found it impossible to hop on and off if we wanted to make the last bus back to Atlantis.
At best it's a sight seeing bus with a bland commentary that makes you wait 30 mins in a car park before setting off on the days last curcuit; and at 220 Dubai dollars each, very expensive when there are 4 of you.
We wished we'd booked taxis instead, it would have been about a third of the cost.
I can't think of one reason why I'd recommend this.

1  Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBusToursUAE, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback which is valuable to us.

Kindly note that our tickets (24 or 48 hours) are valid within our daily operating hours from 9am to 7.30pm. Our staff inform our dear guests about these timings. We also highlight our timings on our maps and information flyers. It is recommended to start the tour as early as possible to be able to explore both the Red and Blue routes, however if you hop on at ex. 3pm, you can use your ticket until 3pm the next day.

Our recorded commentary provides insightful information about Dubai's major landmarks and future projects, as well as interesting facts and figures about the city. Dubai is a fast growing city and we update our commentary (available in 10 languages) every 2 years. We are in the process of updating our commentary which will be available in 2013.

As per our summer timings, buses pass at each stop every 30 minutes (May - September). During the winter months, buses stop every 20 minutes. Our staff do inform all our passengers about the timings and we provide an ''information flyer' with the exact timings at each of our 21 stops on the Dubai tour. We are sorry you had to wait 30 minutes in a car park.

On our double-decker bus, you can get the best views of the city and its landmarks at your own leisure. We make sure our buses have upper deck compartments with air-conditionning. You would not be able to enjoy these views from a taxi and it would cost you more to visit all these areas in one day.

We do hope to welcome you again onboard Big Bus Tours in the future,

Kind regards
Big Bus Tours Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We took the "big bus" tour in different cities already and have always been satisfied. However, Dubai experience was much different. Clearly, we can't compare the sights to see, hence will focus on the provider and the way this tour is run in Dubai.
We had a 24hr plus a night tour.
The night tour is 'average'. It started on time, Atlantis at night is nice to see and the light and sound show at wafi is definitely worth it. Nevertheless, one could do this with a cab easily. Well, the night tour has a tour guide and she actually was doing a good job, but other than telling which 5-star hotel is located on which side of the street, we couldn't get to know much beyond of the recorded commentary from the daytime tour.
As to the daytime tour, we were disappointed mainly due to operating hours and frequency of buses, which paired with longer unwanted stops and somewhat unsynchronized schedule when changing from blue to red line and vv, we felt that at the end of the day, we didn't get to see much of Dubai!
We essentially only had a couple of hours for the city tour: As we stayed along Jumeirah beach, we had to take the blue line into the city prior to taking the red city line tour. This means that you can take the first bus sometime past 10am and you need to take the last bus from the city at 5pm. While their printed schedule mentions a first bus at 9.45am, I was just told that this is an outdated map and we had to wait in the heat for another 25minutes before the bus arrived. Without getting off, it takes more than an hour to get to wafi (for changing to the red line), which means that it was already 12nn by when you start the city tour. Given the 30min frequency, you can do your own math as to how many times we could actually hop on and off - plus consider that some sights actually take 45 mins or more...
So once again, we would have been better off by taking a taxi in between the different sights to see and taking the taxi to and from Jumeirah beach.
Also we found it pretty annoying that they check your ticket at every other stop and while you just stay in the bus, but on the other side, worth to mention that it's great to have bottled water for free in the big bus.

1  Thank Oliver987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBusToursUAE, Manager at Big Bus Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback which is valuable to us.

We are sorry you were not able to take full advantage of our daily hop on, hop off tour in Dubai. As per our summer timings (May - September), our buses pass every 30 minutes at all stops on the Blue and Red routes. Our staff inform our dear passengers on these timings and we provide an 'information flyer' with the exact timings for each stop.

Our tickets are valid for 24h our 48h within our daily operational hours (09 am to 7.pm, the last round tour starting at 5.30 pm). If you start the tour at ex. 3 pm, you can use your ticket the next day until 3 pm. Many of our passengers prefer to purchase the 48h ticket to take full advantage of thboth routes and visit the city at their own leisure.

Our double-decker buses offer some of the best views of the city from the open top deck; we make sure our buses have a closed compartment with AC on the top deck during the summer months. You would not be able to enjoy these type of views from a taxi and it would be much more pricey if you were to visit the old and new Dubai by cab (espacially if there are traffic jams on the way). Our ticket also includes free entry to Dubai Museum; Sheikh Saeed Al Maktoum's House; as well as a free dhow cruise on the Dubai Creek and a Reward Booklet with offers in F&B outlets across the city.

We are glad you enjoyed teh Dubai Night Tour. Our guides on the night tour always try to provide fun facts and stories along the way and most of the route is in the 'new' part of Dubai, with many landmark hotels and shopping centers.

We do hope to welcome you again onboard Big Bus Tours in the future,

Kind regards
BIG BUS MANAGEMENT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bus Tours also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Big Bus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing