We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor and unexpect service from Landmark”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
Ranked #176 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“poor and unexpect service from Landmark”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Dear Management:
This complain is directed to the AlBarsha property: on 29th June, i came to check with my husband. the front desk, Mr, Ankur informed me that they didnt have my boking and to come back at 2pm, after 1 and half hour they finally got our booking. i dont understand why it was too diffucult to check in when a day before i was invited to know the property and i set down my inquiry to check this day at 10am and why the Miss Azel (phillipino supervisor) is not taking care of the clients concern instead she was too rude. In the moment any staff pick phone up, there is a verbal contract and all olicies start to apply, is not the way around when you already in the hotel and nobody give you the answer more than: 'those are the company policies'

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Libis T,

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We would like to apologize on behalf of our sister hotel, Citymax Al Barsha on the inconvenience that you have experienced upon check in.

Citymax Al Barsha Management would like to investigate more and address all the issues to the concerned department. Please contact them directly at executiveoffice@citymaxhotels.com

Once more please accept our most sincere apologies and we hope that you will give us another chance to prove that what you have experienced is just a one off incident.

Regards,

Walter Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    804
    429
    97
    81
See reviews for
390
531
230
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Navsari, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

best hotel for stay in bur Dubai. good facility , good service, good place and near about city and market. near from city and 2 metro station for good travelling. near this hotel , "sharaf dg for best purchase electronics and kamat restaurent for vegetarian restaurant."

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarshbansidhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Aarshbansidhar,

Thank you so much for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read your note " best Hotel for stay in Bur Dubai" and we are glad that you had a memorable experience in Dubai.

We look forward to welcoming you once more and please advise us on your next visit.

Regards,

Walter Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

It is a budget that has cost cutting everywhere. The television channels choice is very poor and Internet unreliable. Housekeeping is unresponsive. The morning breakfast is unexciting and almost similar every day. On the positive side: Excellent location, very clean rooms and a nice bed.

I have been staying at this hotel for almost 2 years now and can see a definite decline over the time.

Room Tip: Slect a room with an outslide view. Else you might end up with seeing a wall opposite your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piyushashah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Piyushashah,

Thank you for your note on Trip Advisor and for your support over the last two years. Great efforts has been made on improving our housekeeping services since we opened in November 2010 and have seen very positive responses from our guests in general. Therefore your comments I found alarming. Can you please elaborate further and send me a note on walter.knight@citymaxhotels.com which will help us to improve for the future.

Since 2010 we have focused our attention on providing guests with more and better services, therefore during this period we have introduced the following services:
• Complimentary shuttle services to and from Jumeirah beach as well as Dubai Mall
• Concierge services
• Room service (24Hours)
• Free cabled internet in all rooms
We have two types of cable service:
1. Free which is limited to emails and browsing internet
2. Charged which allows you to download large files
• Now wireless facility in all rooms
• Portage services have recently been introduced


Next time you visit Dubai please come and see me so we can discuss the issues further.


Regards,

Walter Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosch en Duin
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

To begin with the problems. I was supposed to be picked up. However nobody at the airport, despite the confirmation. At 01.00 in the morning not very nice.Took an hour for the hotel to arrange it.
Arriving at the hotel the next issue. I had to make down payments. Not to what we agreed upon. Arguing at 2.00 in the morning is not the best time. In the end got it done. Slept well. Room is okay. Nothing special, a bit small with a small open closet and only 4 hangers for your stuff. Not really handy if you are with a couple.
Noise wise okay.
Dinner was another hurdle to take. You can only charge it to the room if you make a deposit upfront. Again not in line with the agreement. Thanks to the manager everything worked out, but it is annoying and almost reason to give it 2 stars.
Restaurants, especially Huddle's bar (noisy) are good. Breakfast like a budget hotel. The basics nothing extra. Good enough to fill your stomach for breakfast.

So 3 stars.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Hotel is around 10 to 15 minutes drive from Dubai Airport.

I was there on a buisness trip for 5 days and by time i reached Dubai, I checked in on time: 2:00 pm, staff at reception were very friendly...room was very clean and they do take good care of that...room service needs improvement though...i had to go to the cafeteria myself to get a desert rather than sending it to my room....moreover, there is no bell-boy....on check in, i had to carry my bags myself to the room....There are no nice views from the hotel except from one side( I was at the fifth floor so the rooms with the nice view were at the side of rooms 564 to 576) where you can a have a view of Dubai city and Burj Khaleefa though its far from there.

I was on bed and breakfast basis and YES...IT WAS THE BEST BREAKFAST I HAVE EVERYDAY SINCE A WHILE....the menu is rich, taste is great, food is always hot, staff are really friendly and restaurant is very clean. The Hotel has 3 or 4 more restaurants but i havent tried them though....ive only been to the sports bar where the Euro 2012 was displayed on all LCDs and a big screen projector...it also had billiards and babyfoot....its really cool.

The swimming pool on the roof wasn't that great....Small with dark blue finishing ceramic that doesnt give you a comfortable feeling...the Gym looked nice though i havent tried it.

From the Hotel you can take a cab to the neares metro station (Al Karama Station) and pay him 10 Drhs (Thats the minimum cab fare) and from there you're 15 - 20 minutes away from anywhere u'ld like to go (Buisness Bay, Burj Khalifa / Dubai mall, Emirates mall, Dubai Internet City, etc....)

I dont mind staying there again as long as my company pays for that and wants me to stay close to our office in Dubai. Otherwise, I would have stayed in some omore fancy hotel and closer to where the action is.

Room Tip: There are no nice views from the hotel except from one side (I was at the fifth floor so the rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MohamedElAshram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear MohamedElAshram,

Thank you so much for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read your comments regarding your experience during your recent stay which is positive in general. However, we will work on the constructive points you have mentioned and will continuously strive to exceed our guests’ expectations.

Looking forward to welcome you back again.


Best Regards,

Walter Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I was at the Citymax Dubai in April 2012 as my regular hotel was full and my office wanted to try out this hotel . Pick up was a disaster -on landing in Dubai I found no placard and on calling up the hotel they informed me to take a taxi since the hotel transport was not available . Check in took its own time as I landed up quite late - the room was averge with the barest minimum of toiletries . Breakfast was quite limited and the restuarent was full of families who were making it sure that they were heard and took their own time over the buffet . Did not try try dinner at the restuarent which was more than crowded . Overall a very average stay though the location is in Bur Dubai -itself .

Room Tip: Try to be at the higher floors where the noise is less but there are no Executive or Deluxe rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prasenjit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitymaxBD, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Savethetigerkol,

Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor review.

We apologize for the poor service that you have received during your stay last April. However, I would like to investigate regarding the airport pick up that you mentioned and the delayed check in that you have experienced so we can take prompt actions on the said issues. You may please contact me at walter.knight@citymaxhotels.com

We would like to clarify that as a midmarket concept; we provide the minimum of amenities in the room. However, we have our retail shop at the lobby level which provides all the guests’ basic needs at a very competitive price and is open 24/7.

Our breakfast, lunch and dinner at the All Day Dining restaurant is an international spread of buffet which caters to almost all our in-house guests and is usually crowded. However, we also have other restaurants open for dinner which can be another option for a quieter dining which is Claypot- Indian Restaurant, Sizzling Wok – Asian Cuisine and The Huddle – Pub Grill Restaurant.

Once again, thank you so much for your support and we hope that you may consider staying with us again.

Regards,

Walter Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I had checked the reviews of various hotels in Dubai before zeroing on this one and I did not repent. The hotel is about 20 min drive from airport. We had been told that the check-in time is 2 pm, so we were not surprised that when we arrived early in the morning they refused to give us a room unless we agreed to pay extra. We waited in the lobby for a couple of hours and then requested them for a room and were allocated one well before the actual check-in time. This is a budget hotel, so do not expect 5 star services. You could ask for a trolley if you have more luggage and you need to carry them on your own to the room. The rooms are small but compact with a closet, dressing mirror etc. They are clean and well maintained. Drinking water in Dubai is expensive and even more so in the Hotel, so buy them from the supermarket nearby. The buffet breakfast was great with lots of varieties to suit Indians and guests from other places. There'a a travel desk that could arrange for the local sight-seeing and the hotel also has free shuttle services to the popular Jumeira Beach and Dubai Mall at fixed timings. Though the nearest metro station is about 15 min walk, we did not find commuting an issue since taxis are available right outside the hotel. A couple of the staff at reception were not very helpful but Most of the others were courteous and helped us whenever required so it was not much of an issue. They themselves suggested that we buy calling cards for international calls and also that its better to get water botlles from kiosk rather than order it from room service.Though the lobby is crowded with guests most times, there's no disturbance in the rooms unlike other hotels which have night clubs within the premises. Overall Dubai was a great place to visit and Citymax Hotel wasn't a bad option.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaitra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitymaxBD, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Chaitra S,

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your positive feedback on our products and services. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, and that our spread suits your taste.

However, it is quite disappointing to hear that you found few of our reception staff have not been very helpful. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you, and we ensure you that we are continuously striving to meet and moreover exceed our guests excpectations.

We would like to thank you once again for your support and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Dubai.

Best Regards,


Walter Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Citymax Al Barsha
#150 of 550 in Dubai
1,395 reviews
Arabian Park Hotel
#183 of 550 in Dubai
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Creek
Admiral Plaza Hotel
Admiral Plaza Hotel
#316 of 550 in Dubai
416 reviews
Sea View Hotel
#46 of 550 in Dubai
1,376 reviews
Ibis Deira City Centre
#198 of 550 in Dubai
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai

Property: Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
Address: 27 Al Kuwait St | Mankhool Rd, Dubai Al Mankhool, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai 3*
Number of rooms: 691
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smaller travel budgets shouldn't mean less comfort. At Citymax Hotels, part of the hospitality division of the Landmark Group, we offer 4 star quality comforts, at 3 star rates; in Dubai and Sharjah. Our well-appointed rooms, extensive in-house dining & entertainment facilities and strategic location of the hotel make it convenient for both the business traveler and holiday maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citymax Bur Dubai Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing