We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but don't try and change your booking details!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
Ranked #175 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, but don't try and change your booking details!”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I have stayed at the Citymax, Bur Dubai on several occasions whilst travelling on business. The hotel is clean, the rooms adequate and the food in the various restaurants and bars is generally very good. I am very happy with the standard of the hotel for the relatively low price of the rooms.

I would however caution those that might have to change their check out day during their stay! During my last two stays, my party has had to amend the length of our stay (some going early, others staying longer) and it seems that the reception is unable to deal with this complex issue! On both occasions, they claimed that they didn't know that rooms had been vacated early and those that stay longer have their rooms keys invalidated, phone calls from reception and knocks on the door, all because the staff thought we were checking out!

On both occasions, I have spoken to reception myself, as well as stood at the desk whilst my company spoke to staff on the phone. Unfortunately, that doesn't ensure that our bookings are actually changed and the information passed on to those that need it!

A very good, clean and comfortable hotel for the price. Just don't try and change your booking mid stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitymaxBD, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Keelix,

Thank you for taking time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Citymax Bur Dubai.

I am glad to note, that you have prefered to stay in our hotel once again and that you continuously enjoy our products and services. However, I would like to clarify your feedback regarding the extension of your stay. Upon check in, it is our standard to inform the guest about the check out time which is at 12 noon. Should a guest wish to extend their stay, they should inform the reception 24 hours in advance so that we can update our system accordingly and avoid such incidences. If we did not receive any extension request a day prior, its our normal procedure to call the guest one hour before the check out time on the departure date.

For any further clarifications, please feel free to contact me directly at walter.knight@citymaxhotels.com

Regards,

Walter Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    805
    430
    97
    81
See reviews for
391
531
232
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Infosys , Mangalore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

In the Hotel city Max, some of the rooms offer a splendid view of Burj Khalifa. The rooms which are in the smoking zone are especially nice on that front. Rooms are also very clean and new. The hotel is new and it shows in rooms too.

Fortunately we found the rooms there to have a small refrigerator with some stocked items and a small safe (locker) too where we could keep our valuable belongings, not that we had any. All the rooms were fitted with a high speed wired internet connection (not wifi) which works well. And almost all rooms are basically the same in size so there is nothing much to choose from.

Most Indian travelers book it because of its cheaper 3 star rates.In India , Antilog Vacations is the official partner of most Dubai hotels & offers cheaper and better services. We went thru them as they gave us an assured service & low cost package.

There was a long queue of tourists at the check in counter and hence it took a long time to process. May be in peak season they should consider better handling of this process.
The location of the hotel is neither the best nor bad either. It is slightly further from the metro station (10 min by a cab, and cabs are really cheap in that area) and bus stop.

There are some good quality restaurants in the vicinity. International popular and reasonable names like McDonalds and Subway are also there. And one drawback of this hotel is that they don’t allow any outside food inside the hotel. They claim it’s for our own good but I don’t see how? It is practically forcing us to eat their high priced items. And speaking of food, well their breakfast is not to be cherished at all.

My suggestion is to try the nearby restaurants since breakfast has few limited items often not refilled.

There is a very nice pub and restaurants are suited to Indian tastes. A nice dance floor on the bottom too for those who want to sweat off the evenings. Another special attraction is the swimming pool on the rooftop and looks really nice. Gym also exists with all the required equipments.

Well I guess it is average for business tourists but a good option fr honeymooners

Room Tip: Rooms near smoking zones and proximity to reception area
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shrinivas n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitymaxBD, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Shrinivas,

Thank you for wirting a review regarding your recent stay at Citymax Bur Dubai.

I am delighted to read your good comments about the hotel, however I would like to clarify the issue with regards to the policy of not allowing food from outside. This is due to the fact that food from outside may be exposed to several factors such as temperature, time. moisture etc., that contributes to food spoilage or food poisoning. With this in mind, we do not take risks and we only want the safety of our guests. We do provide a good variety of cuisines such as International Buffet, Indian Cuisine, Asian Fusion and Pub and Grill House at a very competitive price which we can assure you - all served fresh!

Should you have further clarifications on this matter, please feel free to contact me directly at walter.knight@citymaxhotels.com

Regards,

Walter Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Rooms were clean, staff were very friendly and helpful, hotel is new so in very good condition, rooms have a small fridge and a safe which you can use for free..
The only issue was with the food, it wasn't very high quality or great variety (every day the same) but adequate (enough) and on some days at breakfast, we had to really search to find an available and clean table.
This was just a minor issue really.
Also, there is a metro near by but not that near (15 minutes fast walk away) but taxis are really cheap in Dubai so again, not a big problem.

Room Tip: The elevators are a bit slow so try to get a room on the first few floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pan145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitymaxBD, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Panicos S,

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at Citymax Bur Dubai.

Our staff would be delighted to hear about your good comment on them and will surely pass on the message.

We have noted down your feedback on our breakfast and will continously work on further improvements to meet our guest needs and expectations.


Best Regards,

Walter Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douala
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

we stayed in this hotel for 1 day & found it to be really good..amenities were excellent, the hotel itself was clean..rooms were small but nicely made..it had coffee maker with essentials & bathrooms were ok ; the swimming pool was good too....but the access to other major points in the city were a lot to be desired for..public transport was hard to find for major bus stops like gold souk in deira..& although it mentions 1km from dubai museum,,,it is a very tiresome walk if u do indeed..& if u r in a hurry to reach the hotel..like i was ..u should be lucky to find a cab..if u cannot walk the distance..there is a night club at the foot of the hotel..so u should be willing to sleep in loud music if u've come tired from the city after a long hard day..
all in all the hotel is value for money .....see the subject line...

Room Tip: select a room at the top floors to avoid lousy noisy nights of music streaming up from the dance flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickydouala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitymaxBD, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear nickydouala,

Thank you for your comments about your stay with Citymax Bur Dubai and for your support (much appreciated).

Currently, we provide a Desi Night in our Huddle Pub and Grill on a Friday evening with this night club theme. We are looking at ways of containing the noise factor on this particular evening.

I would also like to add that during the course of the week, guests will not be disturbed by this as the bar generally has a live band playing great music.

Transportation is not a hassle in our location. There is a bus station just right infront of the hotel, the Dubai Metro is just 10 minutes walk from here and public taxis come and go every five minutes.

Thank you once more for your support.

Best Regards,

Walter Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayes for one night, was really nice and calm the hotel is very high service standards. Very clean, newly furnished rooms, very close to city center. They have Buffet Restaurant, Indian Restaurant, Chinese Restaurant,Buffet Restaurant, Indian Restaurant, Chinese Restaurant, and Discooooooooo. ;)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RihabMysaraHassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitymaxBD, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear RihabMysaraHassan,

Thank you so much for posting a Trip Advisor review regarding your recent stay at Citymax Bur Dubai.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Please advise us on your next visit to Dubai and we are certainly looking forward to welcome you once again.

Best Regards,

Walter Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This place is mostly clean, and thats the only thing i can say is good about this place, they dont let you place calls to food places that deliver because they try to force you to eat their food at their prices, they wouldn't eve let me get change for the vending machines because it cost 3aed for a soda and they wanted me to buy theirs for 10aed at the cafe. The room is also literally smaller than my dorm in college as well.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exactly the same size apart from how many and what size beds there are so you dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j4r3d54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitymaxBD, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear j4r3d54,

I would like to thank you for supporting Citymax Bur Dubai and for taking time to share your thoughts about your stay in the hotel.

To add some clarity on the Hotel's food policy, I would like to mention that we don't accept food from outside as a safey and security measure. Should a guest bring food from outside as a "take away" to eat later and then get food poisoning, we will have no way of tracing the cause of the food poisoning. So that our outlets could react in time to prevent further issues and to protect our clients and our business we do not allow food from outside. However, we do provide an All Day Dining Restaurant which serves buffet, an Indian Restaurant, an Asian Fusion Restaurant, a Steak House and Pub as well as room service. Therefore we provide a good variety to our guests with reasonable price. For example in most other restaurants a Chicken Tikka will cost about AED 35-45. We offer the same at AED 34.

I have investigated your comment related to small change from our coffee shop. Unfortunately, none of my staff can recall this incident, however I can assure you that this is not a standard practice of the hotel. I encourage you to please contact me on walter.knight@citymaxhotels.com and provide me with more details so that I can take action to prevent this from happening in the future.

As described on all our marketing materials and website, we are a midmarket concept hotel with the same standard of rooms through out the building which are 22 square meters in size.

Should you wish any further details or information from us, please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards,

Walter Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Just stayed on a 3 night stop over in Dubai and was well impressed with the Citymax chain of hotels almost like a Travelodge but comfort as good as a Premier Inn.
Both rooms offered to our party were clean, tidy & for the price had good facilties having booked thru Octupus Hotels in the UK the overall experience was very good.
The bars & restaurants on offer were of good standard and the night we ate at the Sizzling Wok we had the Food & Beverage option for 111 Dirhams amost ( 20.00 Pounds ) and was very impressed with the food and selection of drinks included from 8pm to 11pm and staff were very attentive in all areas. Lastly we spoke to a member of staff called
Leizel Cabillo-Montano who was checking on hotel guests wether they were happy or had any feedback which was gr8 as we noticed that the high floor pool area lacked sunbeds and that maybe the feedback we gave her may help future guests staying at the Citymax Bur Dubai.
Overall this hotel offers gr8 price, comfort & staff and anybody staying or lookin for a budget or good situated accomodation should consider this property first..We will return and lastly thank Leizel for her time to listen to us and may her career with Citymax move forward as she showed us as guests that we are important for the hotel to make changes & move forward.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorgeous1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitymaxBD, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Gorgeous1962,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our colleagues have assisted you. I will surely pass on your good comments about Leizel.

I am also delighted to hear that you have tried out our restaurants and that you enjoyed the food and the offers. Our Chef and colleagues at Sizzling Wok will be pleased to hear that you were impressed with the food and the services.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again.

Best Regards,

Walter Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Citymax Al Barsha
#146 of 550 in Dubai
1,399 reviews
Arabian Park Hotel
#180 of 550 in Dubai
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Creek
Admiral Plaza Hotel
Admiral Plaza Hotel
#316 of 550 in Dubai
416 reviews
Sea View Hotel
#46 of 550 in Dubai
1,383 reviews
Ibis Deira City Centre
#200 of 550 in Dubai
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai

Property: Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
Address: 27 Al Kuwait St | Mankhool Rd, Dubai Al Mankhool, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai 3*
Number of rooms: 691
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smaller travel budgets shouldn't mean less comfort. At Citymax Hotels, part of the hospitality division of the Landmark Group, we offer 4 star quality comforts, at 3 star rates; in Dubai and Sharjah. Our well-appointed rooms, extensive in-house dining & entertainment facilities and strategic location of the hotel make it convenient for both the business traveler and holiday maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citymax Bur Dubai Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing