We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but thin walls”
Review of Citymax Al Barsha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citymax Al Barsha
Ranked #168 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but thin walls”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Nice, cheap hotel next to the Mall of the Emirates. The rooms are kept clean and the staff is helpful. The rooftop pool was a nice oasis when you want to get away from the city for a while. The breakfast is good and at a reasonable price.
On the downside I have to say that the wall are ridiculously thin. If your neighbor watches TV, have a crying baby or is getting some quality time with the SO, you will be listening to it. Also, if the neighbor is a smoker, the smoke will stink up your room trough the ventilation.
But regardless of this, I would still consider coming back because the price was so good. I was not visiting Dubai to be part of the luxury on this trip. If that is what you are looking for, then I would go with one of the places down in the marina.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Degis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Degis,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your concerns in your feedback in order for us to try and rectify them.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    593
    222
    46
    36
See reviews for
208
432
147
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

we chose this hotel because it is walking distance to MOE where the Ski Dubai is.the location was very convenient and close to metro station easy to reac other places of interest in Dubai.It was very cheap to go around Dubai city using metro and almost everything can be reached by train.It was a standard 3 star hotel in a strategic location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syaz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear syaz82,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

A very nice hotel offering value for money. The staff are very courteous and always have a smile on their face. The rooms were clean and compact. Service was good. Not a lot to complain. Book early to enjoy price advantage.

Accessible to the Metro, mall of Emirates. Good eateries around the place. Definitely a recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BA1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear BA1825,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I have stayed in Dubai each year since 2006 in many different Hotels and just recently stayed at Citymax Al Barsha and I can say it was good experience in many ways great price great location spotlessly clean breakfast was plenty choice some what a little noisy from disco but soon tuned into the noise and slept well. would definately return to this Hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111WILS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear 111WILS,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel. Value for money. The rooms are not very big but clean and comfortable. We stayed on the 14th floor. We had a nice view and the pool is on the 15th, so nearby (took the stairs 1 up). Breakfast good and we had dinner 1 time, that was also good, a buffet for only 10 euro. We had fun in the bar Maxx. The bar was open until 3 am and live music most of the nights. The only thing that could be better is the wifi. There is only free wifi in the lobby. Most of the time too busy there. It would be better if there is free wifi in the rooms and at the pool.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillekeKoopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Willekekoopmen,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

A really nice hotel with excelent location, with friendly and helpfull stuff, spacial thanks to Sushil, Khaled and Leena G. :))
Got a beautiful, comfortable and clean corner room. Rooftop pool looked great, but didnt have time to use it.
Breakfast was delicious, many different food to choose. Was very pleased with ym staying in your hotel. Be back soon.

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tia_sergeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear tia_sergeja,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for 2 nights and reserved a twin room. I checked in early at 11am and was told by the man at reception my twin room wouldn't be ready until after 2pm which was perfectly acceptable. However on returning at 7pm my twin room had been given to another guest. The lady at the desk then told me I could have a king size bed which I accepted but this was not the case when my friend and I went to the room it was a small double.

The next day the room was not cleaned when I returned at 6pm for a shower no clean towels and I had to contact the front desk twice for house keeping to come.

I have stayed in this hotel twice before and this was most definitely my last as the staff are very unhelpful and unfriendly. They have no loyalty for returning customers. There are many more hotels in al Barsha that are reasonably priced so I would recommend trying one of those as opposed to citymax.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisling_d123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Aisling_d123,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the online comment.

I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely appologize for all the inconvinience we have caused during your recent visit and please rest assured that this was a one off incident and all related issues have been raised to all the managers so that such incidents do not occur in the future.

I hope that we will have the pleasure again to serve you and I would like to request you that you contact me directly so that I can make needed arrangements for you.

Once again appologies and we look forward to welocming you soon.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
10.9 mi away
Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
0.8 mi away
Cassells Al Barsha Hotel
Cassells Al Barsha Hotel
#252 of 545 in Dubai
604 reviews
0.6 mi away
Centro Barsha
Centro Barsha
#88 of 545 in Dubai
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Mall Of The Emirates
1.4 mi away
Ibis Al Barsha
Ibis Al Barsha
#229 of 545 in Dubai
1,138 reviews
12.7 mi away
Ibis Al Rigga
Ibis Al Rigga
#137 of 545 in Dubai
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citymax Al Barsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citymax Al Barsha

Property: Citymax Al Barsha
Address: Al Barsha Business District | behind Mall of Emirates, Dubai 337-1500, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#111 Business Hotel in Dubai
#128 Family Hotel in Dubai
#130 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citymax Al Barsha 3*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citymax Hotels is a comfortable, mid-market, budget hotel for the business traveler. The chain has 3 hotels across Dubai and Sharjah, centrally located near important business hubs and International Airports. Each Citymax Hotel is equipped for business and leisure with Internet access, conference halls, multi cuisine restaurants, gyms and rooftop swimming pools. With no compromise on comforts, Citymax Hotels promises luxury mattresses, coffee makers, rain showers and other in-room luxuries at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Citymax Al Barsha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citymax Al Barsha Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing