We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms are too small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citymax Hotels Al Barsha
Ranked #137 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed June 17, 2013

its a 3 star hotel so note that you should not expect much. the guest rooms are too small. good points: location to mall of emirates, its literally 5 mins walk. service in the restaurant is very good.

Room Tip: rear side of hotel is next to construction site. if you get a room on that side, you will lose sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uss12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for completing the online comments.

Citymax Al Barsha is a 3 star rated hotel and despite our mid market price level for Dubai, it is our aim to provide added values for our guests.

Once again we would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again shortly.

Thank you
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have booked in June 2013 on booking.com (who proven to be quite helpful) one night at this hotel (was first time); however, I had to cancel 12 hours later. The hotel showed zero tolerance and I had to forfeit the night as a penalty... OK.

As per booking.com the communicated penalty should have been AED 270 per night, however, the hotel also insisted to charge me 10% for the sales and another 10% for 'services' !!! How could a hotel charge for services for a tenant who was not even there?!! booking.com kindly suggested to take the dispute to the hotel. I'd rather take it up to the public.

I won't trust this hotel

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for completing the online comments

We would like to sincerely apologize for the way we handled your stay with us in the Hotel and we would like to inform you that a through investigation has been taken and would kindly ask you to contact me directly so that we can necessary steps for your next visit.

Once again we apologize for the Inconvenience and i look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

this is maybe my fourth time i stay in this hotel. it is so clean and good service with friendly staff. I love it because of its location. Mall of Emirates is a walking distance also lots of restaurants across the street with a delivery service to the hotel.

Room Tip: I always prefer non smoking rooms with location facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yousif B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us again for the 4th time and the online review.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Once again, thank you very much for selecting Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

With kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location next to the Mall Of The Emirates. Rooms small but clean and there was a lot of noise from the building site next door so prepare to be woken early! Annoying that they only have free wifi in reception as the space is not geared towards lot of people standing around using the free facilities otherwise you can pay to use in your room but you have to use your credit within 24 hours...not a good scheme. Don´t use the hotel car service as the drivers do not know where they are going and it costs you more money. That said the hotel staff were frinedly and helpful and its good to have the option of a drink in the bar downstairs after a hard day at the office.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your online review.

We do appologize for the adjacent construction building noise as for the internet we are in the process to rectify this issue and that the trasport issue we have taken neccessary steps in order for such an incident does not occur in the future.

We are pleased that our team were friendly and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Once again, thank you very much for selecting Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

With kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great location to Emirates Mall and restaurants. Friendly staff. The rooms are clean and good daily room service. Great pool with a view and a small gym.

Wi-Fi will only work in lobby, otherwise you need to pay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JJWalkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and the online review.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and intend to visit us again upon return .

Once again, thank you very much for selecting Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

With kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Everytime i go to dubai, i seek this hotel, cheap, close to Mall of emirates ( 1 minutes WALK) has many restaurants near it, clean, has all needed, service is great inside the hotel
I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DinaAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and the online review.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and intend to visit us again upon return .

Once again, thank you very much for selecting Citymax Hotels Al Barsha and we look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 6 days. the food was quite good. the rooms were small but nice. there are 2 bars on ground floor they are nice. the best thing in this hotel is only 5 mints walk from the mall of emirates. Lots of restaurants around the hotel.Taxi are available or you can go to the metro station on the mall of emirates. This hotel has great price and it's very good for limit budget traveler.

Room Tip: rooms on street view are more noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anas90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Hotels Al Barsha, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and the online review.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and intend to visit us again upon return .

Once again, thank you very much for selecting Citymax Hotels Al Barsha.

With kind regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
10.9 mi away
Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
0.8 mi away
Cassells Al Barsha Hotel
Cassells Al Barsha Hotel
#276 of 556 in Dubai
629 reviews
0.6 mi away
Centro Barsha
Centro Barsha
#85 of 556 in Dubai
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Ibis Al Rigga
Ibis Al Rigga
#144 of 556 in Dubai
1,257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Mall Of The Emirates
0.5 mi away
Novotel Suites Dubai Mall of the Emirates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citymax Hotels Al Barsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citymax Hotels Al Barsha

Address: Al Barsha 1 | behind Mall of Emirates, Dubai 337-1500, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#111 Business Hotel in Dubai
#128 Family Hotel in Dubai
#130 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $64 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citymax Hotels Al Barsha 3*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citymax Hotels is a comfortable, mid-market, budget hotel for the business traveler. The chain has 3 hotels across Dubai and Sharjah, centrally located near important business hubs and International Airports. Each Citymax Hotel is equipped for business and leisure with Internet access, conference halls, multi cuisine restaurants, gyms and rooftop swimming pools. With no compromise on comforts, Citymax Hotels promises luxury mattresses, coffee makers, rain showers and other in-room luxuries at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Citymax Hotels Al Barsha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citymax Al Barsha Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing