We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean hotel”
Review of Citymax Al Barsha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citymax Al Barsha
Ranked #170 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Godalming
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good clean hotel”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in October. The hotel is new, clean and the rooms are a reasonable size and well appointed. Location is great for Mall of the Emirates and the cheap Metro nearby will take you to Downtown Dubai. Bad points are the free wifi in the lobby just doesn't work, and the shower is very temperamental getting hot and cold intermittently.The rooms are very clean and neat with a good bed, only one flat pillow, good air con, tea and coffee and a fridge provided, which is a great plus. we didn't try the hotel food so unable to comment on that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiddles12Godalming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear tiddles12Godalming,

Thank you for your recent visit and comments on tripadvisor.
We are pleased to read the positive and also constructive feedback which we are looking into.
Regarding the wifi, we provide free connectivity without access code in the lobby and coffee shop.

If your next holiday takes you to Dubai again, we would be pleased to have you again with us.

With kind regards

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    593
    222
    46
    36
See reviews for
208
432
147
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Irbid, Jordan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in mid-October. The reservation was made for me by the company bringing me in - I had never heard of the hotel before this. It was clean, the bed was comfortable, although the room was very small. Nice location, right across the road from the Mall of the Emirates. Breakfast was horrible, though - very little choice and entirely without flavor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henny2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Henny2010,

Thank you for staying with us for the first time and posting your comments.
Although we are pleased to read that you liked the hotel and its location we regret that you couldn’t enjoy the breakfast.
Our aim is to offer items on our breakfast buffet for all our guests who are coming from different continents.
Therefore we offer a selection of breads, cold cuts, cereals, egg dishes, hot Indian and Asian dishes, fresh cut fruits, yoghurts and more, all for a value of AED 40 (US$ 11) per person.
We like to apologize if the taste did not match your expectation but appreciate further details to executiveoffice@citymaxhotels.com if you don’t mind.

We hope you will choose Citymax Hotel Al Barsha again upon return to Dubai and looking forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed 1 night on business, check-in was quick and easy and the staff were pleasant and helpful. My double ensuite room was clean, bright and colourful with TV, fridge and tea, coffee making. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. There's a pool and gym but I arrived late and didn't use them. There's a restaurant and the sports themed bar was popular and also serves food. It's very close to the Mall of the Emirates and Dubai Mall is about 15 minutes by taxi (another rewiewer has these mixed up). Overall a very pleasant stay, I wish I could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robjp099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Robjp099,

Thank you for selecting our hotel and posting your review.
It was a pleasure reading that you enjoyed your stay.
Since you had only a short stay with us, we hope to see you again soon…

With kind regards

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I booked 2 rooms at AED300 per room per night inclusive of all taxes and on room only basis for 2 nights' stopover in Sept 2012. I chose the hotel because of the price and close distance to Dubai Mall. It was definitely a right choice!

Prompt and courteous response to my several rounds of my queries during booking via email.

Room and furnishing and air-con air is clean. Room size, though small, is comfortably spaced for the room you pay. Clean electric kettle and complimentary coffee & tea DIY sachets provided. There's a mini fridge and safe. Bathroom is well maintained with clean towels and there's hair dryer which is useful for ladies.

Reception staff and concierge: Good customer service, friendly, polite, helpful in answering to queries. Pleasantly surprised by housekeeping who gave a follow-up call for my request for extra pillow. Bell-boy service was provided to assist in our luggage during check-out, much appreciated.

Free wifi at lobby: Poor connection. In room, free wired internet only; have to pay for wifi.

Location: Just cross 2 small roads to get to Dubai Mall, 5 minutes' walk in total. Very convenient and safe. Dubai Mall - quite a few stores were on sale so my friends and I shopped alot. There's a Carrefour hypermart which you could get your drinks and snacks (and anything u need basically), and a food court with wide selection of cuisine for economical dining. There are also cheap restaurants located in the blocks around the hotel.

Taxi: Wave for a taxi at the street outside the hotel or ask the friendly hotel concierge to get you a taxi from the street instead of the hotel's taxi (ie alike a private car but has a meter) as the meter starting rate is lower. It's about 5 mins' drive to the Burj Al Arab hotel and about 15 mins' drive to Mall of Emirates. On weekends (Thur-Sat), the malls close at midnight, great for shopaholics like us.

Hotel's day-tour travel desk: 2 of my friends booked the Desert Safari tour and enjoyed the tour very much. A discount was given to Citymax hotel guests.

Keep up the good work!

Hope this review helps you in making your decision-making.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel if the rates is the same given by online travel bookers. There's a pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winniecafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear winniecafe,

Thanks a lot for staying with us end especially for the detailed review about your experience.
We appreciate your comments and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you also point pointing out our great location but just a quick note for other travelers reading this message, Citymax Hotel Al Barsha is located opposite Mall of the Emirates, not Dubai Mall.
However Dubai Mall and the Burj Khalifa are not far from us, ca 15 minutes by taxi or metro.

We hope you had a safe journey back to Singapore and would like to welcome you again upon return to Dubai.

With kind regards

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I traveled to Dubai last Month September, had a near perfect stay at the Hotel. courteous staff prompt in service delivery.

Location is great, close to the mall of The Emirates and the in house entertainment is just right.

Room Tip: There rooms for smokers and non Smokers.... if you dont like noise coming from the Night club.. best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymondbeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Raymondbeebee,

Thank you for selecting Citymax Al Barsha and writing about your stay.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and even gave us full points.

We hope to welcoming you back again upon your return to Dubai.

With kind regards,

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I traveled to Dubai with my husband in April this year and we stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. The price was right (about $95/night) and the location was great-right by Mall of Emirates. However, the room was just a bit too tight in space. After I got back from the trip, I weighed the advantages (reasons listed above + good service, clean room) vs the only disadvantage-the size of the room and I'm just not sure if I would stay there again. I'm not the "typical America" who needs a giant room-I just need enough space to "breathe." My husband didn't mind the size of the room at all, and he is 6'4", so to each his/her own :)

Despite my comments, I would recommend this hotel to a single traveler or a couple who are ok with a tiny room. I think the problem for me was staying in the room for 5 nights-it would have been fine if it was just a few nights.

A few other comments:
1) The bathroom was super clean, but we had to get creative to prevent the water from running out of the shower & onto the bathroom floor.
2) The lobby smelled of smoke from the club & bar on the first floor but we weren't down there much
3) The people at the front desk were very helpful
4) We found the location of this hotel to be perfect in that we were 1 block from Mall of Emirates. We went to the mall almost every night to get frozen yogurt or shop at the awesome grocery store at the mall (Carrefour)-checking out all of their ethnic foods was so much fun.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room with a view. Our room had a view of the Burj Al Arab and Burj Khalifa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyhearttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear amyhearttravel,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and special thanks for such a detailed review.
We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and hope you had a safe trip all the way back to Kentucky.

If your destination is Dubai again we will be glad to welcoming you.

With kind regards,

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was big enough for me and I loved the 2 bars in the lobby. As a solo traveller I had fun and enjoyed the entertainment and the happy hours, and the fact that the hotel is almost opposite Mall of Emirates is also a big plus

Only thing I didn't like in the room was the shower partitioning. After a shower the whole bathroom floor was wet

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celmolye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citymax H, General Manager at Citymax Al Barsha, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear celmolye,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments.
It is great to see that you also enjoyed our two bars with live sports and live music.

Hope to welcome you back again.

With kind regards,

Sven Drewitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
10.9 mi away
Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
0.6 mi away
Centro Barsha
Centro Barsha
#90 of 545 in Dubai
1,234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cassells Al Barsha Hotel
Cassells Al Barsha Hotel
#250 of 545 in Dubai
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Mall Of The Emirates
1.4 mi away
Ibis Al Barsha
Ibis Al Barsha
#229 of 545 in Dubai
1,136 reviews
12.7 mi away
Ibis Al Rigga
Ibis Al Rigga
#139 of 545 in Dubai
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citymax Al Barsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citymax Al Barsha

Property: Citymax Al Barsha
Address: Al Barsha Business District | behind Mall of Emirates, Dubai 337-1500, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#111 Business Hotel in Dubai
#128 Family Hotel in Dubai
#130 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citymax Al Barsha 3*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citymax Hotels is a comfortable, mid-market, budget hotel for the business traveler. The chain has 3 hotels across Dubai and Sharjah, centrally located near important business hubs and International Airports. Each Citymax Hotel is equipped for business and leisure with Internet access, conference halls, multi cuisine restaurants, gyms and rooftop swimming pools. With no compromise on comforts, Citymax Hotels promises luxury mattresses, coffee makers, rain showers and other in-room luxuries at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Citymax Al Barsha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citymax Al Barsha Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing