We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel.”
Review of Citymax Al Barsha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citymax Al Barsha
Ranked #146 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Basic hotel.”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This was our second trip to Dubai since 2007 and this time we stayed six nights from December 28th until January 3rd in hotel Citymax Al Barsha. We choose this hotel because of its central location close to the Mall of the Emirates.

Our flight from Amsterdam to DXB took 6 hours and 30 minutes and we arrived very early in the morning. The check in time in the hotel is officially after 2.00 pm, but after paying 180 AED we immediately got a room.
We wonder why they make scans of the passports. It is forbidden in the Netherlands and we didn’t find it necessary because we have booked a packaged deal via a travel agency!

Room:
We asked for separate beds and were given a twin bedded room on the 11th floor. The room was very basic, but clean. We heard no noise from the streets and it was very quiet.

Facilities room:
- TV (BBC World, Dubai One and RTV) Unfortunately no CNN World or BVN TV
(channel for Dutch expats).
- Open closet
- Desk with chair
- Chair
- Coffee/tea maker with two mugs and two glasses
- Fridge
- Air conditioning

Bathroom:
- Shower
- Four towels
- Soap

Business Corner:
Next to the coffee shop are two computers which we can use through a voucher. This voucher costs AED 20 for 1 hour and is valid for 24 hours, AED 35 for 3 hours or AED 50 for 24 hours.
I asked the receptionist if we can print some documents. She said that we had to send these documents to the reception fo@citymax.nl. Why should I send my documents to the reception? A socalled ‘Business Corner’ must have a printer, doesn’t it? Strange! After checking the internet I saw that there was a printer selected, so I asked the receptionist again. Now it was possible to print my documents. The printer was installated at the coffee shop and each print costs 1 AED. Why didn’t she say that before?

Breakfast:
The buffet is from 6.30 am until 10.30 am and was good. Sometimes it was very crowded so we had to wait a couple of times for a table.
The personnel is very friendly and asked every time before closing time if we needed something else from the kitchen.

International dinner buffet:
The dinner is from 7.00 pm until 11.00pm and costs AED 55. We dined here two times and it was very good.

Rooftop pool:
The pool is located at the rooftop and is open from 07.00 am to 09.00 pm. From here we have a nice view at the hotel Burj al Arab and the Burj Khalifa. On New Years Eve we had a very nice view of the firework shows from both Burjes.

Fire alarm test:
On Monday 02nd of January there was a fire alarm test at 11.30 am. We got informed via a letter on Sunday.
But, in the evening at 10.30 pm we were roughly woken up by a very loud noise. Was this an alarm? We called the reception, but we got no answer. Unfortunately we couldn’t sleep anymore that evening, while we had to wake up at 03.15 am. Our transfer to the airport was at 04.30 am.

Check out:
It was just after 04.00 am when we checked out. The receptionist didn’t ask “How was your stay”, only “How can I help you”?
We paid the bill and she didn’t give the change money immediately, but covered it with papers while she was working in the computer. I asked her what she was doing all the time and she told me that there was a problem with the system. Okay, but I want my money back. “I gave you the money, she said” “No!” We showed her that she covered our money with papers. Okay, it’s very early in the morning…..
After checking out she didn’t say goodbye. That was it.

But, we had a great holiday in Dubai.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angelique132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    606
    227
    48
    37
See reviews for
225
468
159
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The hotel is located fantastically behind the mallof the emirates and is easily accessible by the metro and is pretty close to quite a few attractions and the beach. The hotel is very clean and the staff were polite. They ask for the payment upfront while checking in and I found this to be pretty odd, but I guess there is some policy of some sort. There were no toiletries in the bathroom and the house keeping was pretty ordinary. The front office staff were very helpful for any information that we needed regarding Dubai.

But for the price of 222 aed per night, this hotel was a super base for us. We left the room everyday at 10 am and came back at 11 pm by the last metro and for that, it was a great place to come home to after a long day of sightseeing. The bathtub was an added advantage to soak tired legs. If you get a deal for around 200 aed, then this place is worth it, but if you are paying upward of 300, then there are better hotels.

Room Tip: Book via booking.com for a reservation or via the hotel website for a pre paid booking for the speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChennaiFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stay at this hotel for a short break in December 2011. Easy booking via internet, and well placed very near with Mall of Emirates.The staff was very helpful, friendly and efficient.

The room is simple, clean and tidy, just perfect for me. They provided free wired internet in the room and also universal power socket for my gadget. The one that I missed was toothbrush and toothpaste... So, bring your own. Room also equipped with tea / coffee making facilities

It was very easy to get a taxi from or to this hotel, and for other option you can use Metro via Mall of Emirates Metro Station.

And I took a loo

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayamgoreng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We as a couple stayed in Citymax for 5 nights and I must say it was far better then what we were expecting. Rooms are small but clean..(housekeeping cleans it for you everyday) good for people who are visiting Dubai for the first time or are there for sightseeing/business because staying in the room for longer hours can get a little suffocating. Breakfast is okay(Indian and English cuisine) Coffee shop stays open 24 hours. Before going I read a comment on this site about no room service which turned out to be totally false because they have 24 hours room service but you have to pay 200 Dhs in advance for that. The best part about this hotel is its location Mall Of Emirates is across the road, Jumeirah Beach is not too far either. They have the best sports bar in the area if you are into sports it's the place to be at. For couples we would suggest Maxx Bar & Grill has a nice atmosphere(karaoke and live music). Try to get rooms on higher floor preferably facing Burj-ul-Arab. You'll be needing your bathroom utilities 'cos they only provide liquid hand wash. Overall it was a good experience for us, staff is very professional, considering it's a 3 star hotel they are doing a pretty good job.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndA1422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I stayed there with my family for 3 nights during December 2011, it is a good hotel with excellent location as it is near the Emirates Mall, Ski Dubai, Metro station and many good restaurants around the area. The breakfast was good. with many choices but the restaurant area is always over crowded. The rooms are small but clean and the AC is good. I couldn't get the connected rooms as requested, it seems that the Hotel was running full occupancy, but they managed to give me near same floor rooms. The bathrooms were very clean, but you should watch out when u take a shower, the bathroom floor gets soaked with water because of the bad glass curtain design and they also have a problem with low shower water pressure.
Reception staff are cooperative and helpful ( even though they don't answer the phone and didn't fix the LAN cable in my room, I had to use my kids room cable to connect to the internet). The door key cards are bad and should be replaced as they don't work all the time, u have to go to the reception area to reprogramme it.
The lady from the travel agent stationed at the entrace is very helpful, she gave us discounted tickets to the Dolphine show, as well she offered good prices for other touristic activities.. All in all..it was a good stay..we enjoyed Dubai a lot.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeirutMustang1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawalli, Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

It was a peak time for visitors and because of its location and very short walk to the mall, it was the be best for us on a budget. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was ok. The Sports bar was good but a bit smokey. If you are a non smoker, the non smoking rooms cannot be guaranteed, so you take your chances on availability when you check in. We were lucky. Otherwise, good place to stay on a budget. TP

Room Tip: Our room was on a lower floor and we found it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trojanguy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I stayed at Citymax Al Barsha many times. The location is perfect, it takes only two minutes to reach the Mall of the Emirates by walk and it is very easy to find a taxi from the hotel. The staff was professional and the check-in was quick. The rooms are clean and comfortable, not very big. The only negative points are the noise of the AC (I was on the highest floor so I do not know if all the rooms have the same problem), the ventilation makes too much noise during the night and if you switch it off the room temperature is too hot, if your room is located in the first floor near the pub you can have a lot of noise from the music bar until 1.00 am and some of the room (especially connecting rooms) do not have good sound insulation.
This hotel is suitable for business and visit stay (discover Dubai, weekend...)

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wassila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
10.9 mi away
Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
0.8 mi away
Cassells Al Barsha Hotel
Cassells Al Barsha Hotel
#257 of 550 in Dubai
617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Centro Barsha
Centro Barsha
#81 of 550 in Dubai
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Ibis Al Rigga
Ibis Al Rigga
#137 of 550 in Dubai
1,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Mall Of The Emirates
1.4 mi away
Ibis Al Barsha
Ibis Al Barsha
#230 of 550 in Dubai
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citymax Al Barsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citymax Al Barsha

Property: Citymax Al Barsha
Address: Al Barsha Business District | behind Mall of Emirates, Dubai 337-1500, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#111 Business Hotel in Dubai
#128 Family Hotel in Dubai
#130 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citymax Al Barsha 3*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citymax Hotels is a comfortable, mid-market, budget hotel for the business traveler. The chain has 3 hotels across Dubai and Sharjah, centrally located near important business hubs and International Airports. Each Citymax Hotel is equipped for business and leisure with Internet access, conference halls, multi cuisine restaurants, gyms and rooftop swimming pools. With no compromise on comforts, Citymax Hotels promises luxury mattresses, coffee makers, rain showers and other in-room luxuries at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Citymax Al Barsha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citymax Al Barsha Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing