We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Bur Dubai - Embassy District

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bur Dubai - Embassy District
Ranked #193 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights using Priority Club points and got Platinum upgrade to executive room on third floor looking out over internal atrium. The room was excellent, large and luxuriously furnished. Great flat screen TV, nicely appointed bathroom with jacuzzi jet bath and lots of storage space and seating. Had no problem with noise. Air conditioning was powerful and reliable. Got mineral water every day and an impressive fresh fruit platter on first day. Staff were very helpful and polite, nice touch when security man would call elevator and indicate which one would open as you approached. Location is very good for Airport and Metro Red and Green lines as Khalid Bin Al Waleed metro station is less than 5 minutes walk away and is an interchange station between the two lines - my favourite place was the Creek which is only a couple of stops away or you can walk. Bur Jurman shopping mall is also within 5 minutes walk with excellent stores and food outlets. If arriving at Metro station exit at Exit 4 for Hotel - look for RAK Bank towards your right as you exit and hotel is right opposite that Bank (but you won't be able to see it) - either walk across sandy vacant lot and turn right or walk along road that RAK Bank is on. Exit 3 will take you to the shopping mall. Taxi to Terminal 1 at 5.30 am cost only 17 AED. The roof top swimming pool, whilst not massive, was very nice with loungers and staffed bar, I enjoyed popping up there in the late afternoon to cool down and rest - in October the pool goes into shade in the late afternoon which was quite welcome! I would recommend this hotel and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Numberoneguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_burdubai, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bur Dubai - Embassy District, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Holiday Inn Bur Dubai – Embassy District for your stay and we are delighted that you are part of Priority , the world's largest loyalty program

We are looking forward to welcoming you again

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    278
    93
    28
    24
See reviews for
143
150
49
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friend and I stayed here on a Thursday night and was given a 'quiet' room but at 2am the disco leavers made it impossible to sleep with fighting, loud cars revving, and loud talking on the street until 5am. We complained the next morning and was given another room much quieter to our relief. On returning on Sunday night the same thing again. Over the disco room was given to us and at 1am I was shown 2 rooms which were just as noisy so by the time we got out of bed at 6am to catch our flight we felt like we had been through the ringers After complaining about the accommodation we left very quickly stating that we would never come here again.

Room Tip: ask for room 212 which is on a quiet side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shelley370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_burdubai, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bur Dubai - Embassy District, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable review

Please rest assured that we give a high importance to the comfort of our guests and and we are very concerned about the issues you have faced during your stay.

I would kindly ask you to contact me directly if possible as I would certainly appreciate the opportunity to talk to you personally and hopefully be of any help to you.

looking forward to hear from you soon

Best Regards

Monjed Salha
General Manager
monjed.salha@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Spacious, clean rooms is the only positive. Impossible to sleep as situated directly above/next door a nightclub. I was reassured by front desk that the music would only continue until 3am.... Shown alternative rooms (at least 5 - I lost count at midnight) all of which you could clearly hear the club. After an hour of changing rooms, had to resort to putting the A/C on full to just about drown out continual thudding....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
4 Thank msmoneypenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_burdubai, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bur Dubai - Embassy District, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable review

Please rest assured that we give a high importance to the comfort of our guests and and we are very concerned about the issues you have faced during your stay.

I would kindly ask you to contact me directly if possible as I would certainly appreciate the opportunity to talk to you personally and hopefully be of any help to you.

looking forward to hear from you soon

Best Regards

Monjed Salha
General Manager
monjed.salha@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

It is a distinguished holiday Inn, a four stars while you feel from the first moment that you are in a luxurious five stars.

Excellent staff, the hostess at the breakfast welcomes you with a wonderfull smile. The barman at the pub is friendly, cocktails are tasty, ambiance is very nice, they have as well giant screen for main sports games

The location is perfect, 10 minutes from the airport and the taxi fare is very convinient (12 Euro). Te metro station is just next door, for 1 euro only you can go to main attraction areas and snopping malls. The area surrounding is full of restaurants, shops, and banks.

Rooms are very spaciuos and comfortable, swiming pool area is very nice, there is a bar as well.

I enjoyed my stay, will be back

Room Tip: Choosethe option of room with breakfast, the buffet is huge and tasty with life eggs coocking statio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveltheWorldXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_burdubai, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bur Dubai - Embassy District, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Holiday Inn Bur Dubai – Embassy District and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay.

The entire team is grateful for your kind encouragement and we are looking forward to welcoming you again

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Holiday Inn Bur Dubai is a Good Hotel, but suffers from a few problems (mainly lack of sound proofing) which need to be addressed. As an example their Online booking was down for 1 week (continued to be down for 3 weeks after that) , countless complaints didn't get it fixed, anyways i ended up booking over the phone (got the same rate). In terms of value, definitely not impressed , i was shelling out AED 700 per night for the cheapest room on a low-season, something i'm not used to do with Holiday Inn, there were better priced hotels nearby but chose this due to its location to where i had business.

The hotel has an underground parking which was very convenient, definitely a plus. The reception staff were friendly and quick to recognize my Gold Status priority club. As Gold you get free Internet which was great. I got a standard room which was fine, sufficient for a business traveller with a very comfortable bed.

Now one of the main issues in this hotel is the abundance of night clubs it has. While it provides entertainment for the city dwellers, its noise does reach the rooms especially if ur on a lower floor and disturbs the hotel guests. This didn't affect me much, Everything was fine, till my 3rd night when i woke up to loud noises from the street, i ran quickly to see a large group drunk people outside the hotel struggling to get into taxis, which is fine, but what's NOT fine is the fact the hotel's windows are so poorly insulated and lack any sound proofing! (basic requirement in any hotel), to add to my misery my neighbour was watching TV and the noise was coming through the Thin Walls (again not my neighbor's fault but the hotel's poor sound-proofing fault). I struggled for a couple of hours but my night's sleep was ruined, i was upset and complained to the manager on duty, who honestly was amazing (he's the only reason this hotel didn't get 1 star from me) and immediately apologized and upgraded me to an executive suite which was silent and away from any sort of noise. This resolved my problem in the next few nights of my stay.

Breakfast is average, wasn't impressed with quality but variety is good. In Room dining is Terrible, simply terrible overpriced plus ridiculously poor quality, skip it without second thoughts. Tons of good diners in Bur Dubai anyway.

The hotel has a good gym in the roof floor and they have a great spa and i had a good massage there which is great for business travelers to remove the stress, this is another big plus in the hotel.

When i returned to this hotel few days later on my 2nd stay of this hotel, they didn't upgrade me to an executive suite so i didn't really enjoy my time there. It was only when i was upgraded i was able to have a great stay and a good night's sleep. Eventually i checked out, i was provided late checkout which was a very good gesture from this hotel and i transfered later to another hotel.

In conclusion, i really liked the fact This hotel has alot of benefits for Gold + Platinum privilege club members like me, the friendly staff , its location and the way the night Manager handled my issue quickly and in the correct manner. however this hotel has some serious problems i do hope the management can fix the following problems: 1. Sound Proof ALL windows to remove exterior noise, 2. Sound Proof Room to Room Connecting Doors and Walls. 3. Improve your Dining in and In Room dining food quality, currently the food quality in the hotel is appalling.

Room Tip: Take a room on the top floor to avoid as much noise as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkingtheearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_burdubai, Manager at Holiday Inn Bur Dubai - Embassy District, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for being a loyal guests to the Holiday Inn Bur Dubai – Embassy District and we are pleased to have you among our Priority Club members, the world's largest loyalty program.

We deeply regret that you had some issues during your stay however we would like to clarify that our online booking system was up and running 24/7 during the month of September in addition our local & central reservation department are available round the clock to assist for any booking as for the rate we always offer the best price guaranteed also we set our rates based of a deep market study. The month of September especially the second part is not a low season in Dubai.

We have carefully reviewed your valuable feedback and we have taken immediate action to solve the issues raised by you with high concern

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here in May, and have just returned in September, and the 2 receptionists remembered me and gave me a warm welcome. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the Creek so easy reach for an evening stroll. The staff cannot do enough to help you, and always have a smile to share!

Room Tip: Be a Priority Club member, that helps
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hammy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_burdubai, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bur Dubai - Embassy District, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for being a loyal guests to the Holiday Inn Bur Dubai – Embassy District and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay twice.

Also we are pleased to have you among our Priority Club members, the world's largest loyalty program.

looking forward to welcoming you again

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at Holiday Inn Bur Dubai for a day, and my stay was the best experience any guest can expect from hotel. The staff without exception were kind and ready to attend to all my needs.

Right from the check in, the smile and welcome I felt, made me think my choice of hotel is right. The same warmth is felt in the waitress who served me at the restaurant and the room attendant I asked for direction in the corridor. I felt very relaxed and comfortable in their company.

The room was spacious and well provided for. If it is a good night's sleep you are looking for, after a hectic shopping Holiday Inn Bur Dubai gives this luxury without doubt. Talking of shopping, ideally located near the Khalid Waleed Metro station, and near the Bank Street, travelling to any of the shopping places is so very easy.

This unassuming 4 star hotel I am sure will give real run for money for any big hotel with its 7 star service. Really enjoyed the Holiday Inn experience and am sure to stay here in future

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sini a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInn_burdubai, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bur Dubai - Embassy District, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Holiday Inn Bur Dubai – Embassy District and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay.

The entire team is grateful for your kind encouragement and we are looking forward to welcoming you again

Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bur Dubai
0.2 mi away
Raviz Center Point Hotel
Raviz Center Point Hotel
#199 of 545 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Ascot Hotel
Royal Ascot Hotel
#58 of 545 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dubai Jumeirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bur Dubai - Embassy District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bur Dubai - Embassy District

Property: Holiday Inn Bur Dubai - Embassy District
Address: Bur Dubai 20th Street Khalid Bin Al Waleed Rd, Dubai 111454, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Family Hotel in Dubai
#134 Business Hotel in Dubai
#166 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bur Dubai - Embassy District 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay connected at the modern Holiday Inn Bur Dubai - Embassy District. The hotel is located in the heart of Dubai, a hub in between embassies and businesses and is the ideal place for your Dubai stop over whether on business or leisure. A walking distance from Burjuman mall and the main metro station provides you a gateway to Dubai with the Dubai Museum, Dubai Souk and Dubai Creek right on its doorstep. 210 stylish and spacious rooms offer you all the modern facilities one would expect for a comfortable stay. Enjoy the Dubai sunset from our rooftop pool and taste a variety of excellent dishes in our all day dining restaurant Anwar. The Two Guineas pub will provide you the best an English pub has to offer. Our meeting rooms with state of the art equipment will make your event a success, whether you organize a board meeting or a fun party. You'll find that Holiday Inn Bur Dubai - Embassy District convenient location is ideal for ensuring a strong mix of productive business and enjoyable leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Bur Dubai - Embassy District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Creek Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing