We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Japan in the heart of Dubai”
Review of Sakura

Sakura
Ranked #323 of 9,540 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Known for serving up some of the best Japanese food in town, this restaurant is a must for the teppanyaki and sushi-lover. The restaurant is spacious, comfortable and relaxing and its chefs pride themselves on providing a warm, friendly service to enhance your dining experience.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of Japan in the heart of Dubai”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I went with a dozen business colleagues to visit the Sakura restaurant earlier this week and was delighted to find that it is as good as it was when I first dined there 18 months ago.

Welcoming staff and a friendly informal atmosphere contributed to the evening, but it was the superb quality of the food and the acrobatic culinary skills of the tepanyaki chef Farouk that raised the whole experience well above "typical tepanyaki".

I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    21
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very Friendly”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was a business lunch arranged at the last minute and I confess that Japanese food is not top of my agenda. However, it was very good indeed. My business partner from Korea thought the food excellent.
Staff very friendly and very attentive.
We relaxed for the lunchtime and I will most certainly go back again and recommend to fellow travellers and friends passing through Dubai.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerrym C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Excellent Dining Experience!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Simple yet cozy atmosphere with Fantastic food, prepared right into perfection especially the teppanyaki dining and superb service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruby_Dxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Food, Great Atmosphere & Delightful Staff”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We went as a family, with a 13 month old baby. The staff were wonderfully supportive of the baby, and even helped entertain him at times to keep him calm. The service in general was outstanding. I rate service and family friendly above food at times, because if you're relaxed you can enjoy the meal. We certainly did

We went with the buffet. We dined mostly on the Sushi and the Sashimi which was impeccable. The cooking station, made noodles and prawns which were good, there's no way these an be compared to the Sushi and Sashimi, it can't be done and shouldn't be tried - they're noodles. Oh and the miso soup. Spot on.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SARichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Was sadly disappointed with the quality of the food from the cooking station, esp noodles and cooked shrimp, which was not as fresh as it should have been. Noodles were terribly overcooked. Layout of the buffet area ie sushi and soup section, needs to be better organised. Can't get to the soup when people are at the sushi bar. Staff are attentive and obliging.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with RoundMenu.com

Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza D, Manager at Sakura, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Ms. Gina,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your dining experience at Sakura Japanese Restaurant in Crowne Plaza Hotel Dubai here on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that we have failed to meet your expectations and rest assured that this is not the usual service that Sakura has always been known for. Please be informed we are already on the process of revising our buffet set up and improve the quality of food that we are serving.

We do appreciate your feedback as it helps us in improving our services and experience we deliver for future guests like yourself.

In the mean time, we sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future so that we can provide you with a more complete experience.

Best Regards,
Marianne Malay
Sakura Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing