We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard hotel apartments mislabelled as "deluxe"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Gardens Hotel Apartments
Ranked #258 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

On a shopping trip with the wife and found this property conveniently located next to Ibn Battuta Mall.

This hotel apartment is located in Discovery Gardens, one of the newly developed areas in Dubai. The location is perfect, within short drives (if you have a car) to Ibn Battuta Mall. The surrounding area is busting with grocery stores, restaurants, laundry, cafes and small shops.

The lobby is tiny with small sitting area and a restuarant that opens right in the backside of the front desk. This resulted in unpleasant strong smell of food in the small lobby. The front desk is small and only accommodates 2 staff at any given time. I cannot imagine how this place would look like if 4 families walked in to check in all at the same time!

Luckily this was not busy spot, we checked in rapidly to our "non-smoking" junior suite which turned out to shockingly smoky. A previous guest have been smoking inside this non-smoking suite and they have not been reinforcing their non-smoking policy for the designated non-smoking floors. Went down again to ask for the suite to be changed. Luckily another one was available and we asked for the room to be "freshened". We shut the AC down, opened the windows and unpacked.

The suite was on the small side. There was a small sitting area. The kitchenette was OK with depreciating utensils and aging pans and pots. Luckily we did not need to cook anything. The fridge was reasonable in size and we stocked it up with some water and juice from the grocery store next block.

The bed is comfortable, a bit on the firm side. The pillows were fine. The AC was super cold which is adjustable. The lighting is horrible. Aside from few broken lamps, the lighting is bright "day light" light which was not very comfortable. The TV set was basic with small LCD screen and a DVD player. The bathroom is very basic with some cheap toiletries. One of the bath towels and both hand towels were worn out unfortunately. The water pressure however was excellent and the heater worked just fine.

This hotel has underground parking. Also, there is a car rental office just next door. The gym is a joke. Some outdated treadmills, reasonably bicycles and a broken total gym machine! There is no swimming pool on this property which was resented by my 7 year old daughter!

All in all, this is a property if you are here on a short stop-over close to shopping with easy access to Sheikh Zayed Road. If you're looking for a "deluxe" experience, I suggest you look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Easy access to Sheikh Zayed Road. If you're looking for a "deluxe" experience, I sugge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelkit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 137 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed overnight at this hotel apartment on March 22nd-23rd.The room was quite spacious and was provided with well equippred kitchentte, refrigrator, TV, washing machine etc. Location is quite good, near Ibn Batutah Mall and bus/metro stations. However, a walk from the hotel to the mall takes about 20 min, not 5 min. as claimed on the website. Also taxis are difficult to get outside the hotel since most of them simply don't bothr to stop when somebody flags them.Finding a taxi from Ibn Batutah bus terminal to the hotel was quite a job as most taxis were unwillingto go short distances. However, there are plenty of groceries, supermarkets and restaurants serving various types of cuisines just outside.The hotel itself has a multicuisuine restaurant.
Overall, a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: There was somthing projecting from the bathroom floor.I'm not clear about its purpose but one ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SharatNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

the stuff was very bad with us especially the supervisor paula , when i told her i will comment that she said i dont care !!
i dont recomend this hotel if the supervisor paula is still there
the room is good and the location either but i dont know why they have such a bad supervisor

Room Tip: choose one bed room appartment ,but the supervisore paula is so bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mo3eeeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamCheALB, Group Operations Director at Chelsea Gardens Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

On behalf of my team I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. I understand you had a request of an upgrade from a Studio to a One Bedroom. Since the hotel has been running full, we were unable to extend an upgrade and hence had to charge you a nominal additional amount for the One Bedroom apartment. It is not a hotel policy to upgrade guests booked through any particular booking sites especially when running a full house.

We shall do our best to look after your needs and we hope to be of service to you again on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is one of the best experience I have ever had. An apartment having everything that I could have ever needed. Microwave, coffee kettle, washing machine, cooking range, fridge, dishwasher... and yes, the bed :)
Thanks to the apartment management for such wonderful facilities, would love to go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ambience4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We opted for this place mainly because of its price, and despite several reviews which were not so optimistic. We had two rooms, one deluxe and one apartment. Both were clean and nice, and the kitchen had all it takes for an enjoyable stay. Got free WiFi and parking. We had no special requests, but the staff was friendly and helpful.
Location might be an issue since this complex is in the outskirts of the new city, in the Jebel Ali area. Not a serious problem if you have a car, otherwise it might be too far away from downtown.
It's the fifth apart hotel I stay in Dubai in as many years, and I might say this was one of the best experiences in this price range.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stay in this hotel if you want to be around dubai marina and dont want to pay too much. it is only 5 minutes away by cap from Dubai marina. Hotel is ok. Easy checkin and out. Rooms are big and clean. I got upgrade to single room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merve Baris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I can't hold back here. These apartments are about 10 minutes away from the beach, located nearish to the Ibn Battuta Mall. The nearest Metro is about 10 minutes quick walk so you're best to cab. It does however offer decent value for money if you know this up front. There is a restaurant and a gym and a few fast food type places around, but you'll need to rely on taxis to get to the more tourist place.

Having said this.... the staff are wonderful, friendly and welcoming. We were always greeted with huge smiles and asked how we were. The price point for this hotel should indicate what you are getting. It's simple but I would say it's better than basic and is only 15AED in a taxi to the beach.

Room Tip: Specify non smoking.... they have a whole floor that is for smoking guests so if you don't want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0 mi away
ZiQoo Hotel Apartment
ZiQoo Hotel Apartment
#279 of 561 in Dubai
109 reviews
8.7 mi away
Fortune Park Hotel
Fortune Park Hotel
#359 of 561 in Dubai
21 reviews
5.7 mi away
Auris Fakhruddin Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dubai Ibn Battuta Mall
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dubai Investments Park Hotel
19 mi away
Landmark Grand Hotel
Landmark Grand Hotel
#261 of 561 in Dubai
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Gardens Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Gardens Hotel Apartments

Address: | Discovery Gardens, Dubai 124169, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: $98 - $842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chelsea Gardens Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chelsea Gardens Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing