We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold by name ONLY!”
Review of Mercure Gold Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Gold Hotel
Ranked #196 of 555 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed there before and twice this month and i rate this hotel as one of the best hotel in town and the reasons are below;

Good:-
1. Staff is very friendly and there are few staff which are very concerned and courteous i.e. Vineet, Vinod, Irshad, Sahil and Rina

2. Taxi are easily available

3. In surrounding you can find good restaurants but on fair walk and some shops including massage centres

Bad:-
4. Rates are too high specially for someone who frequently travels and need to stay

5. Kebab Connection has been closed and Senses has replaced it so now guest doesnt have much to choose from as you have Salad, Sandwiches, Burgers, Pastas and Pizza and some other dish

6. In my last visit which was yesterday (2nd Nov) i had to get into argument which i avoid, it was simple but worst!

- I ate the peanuts in the room at night and replaced it with the same in morning

- I used one water bottle from fridge as i didnt want to bother someone from house keeping late at night and i was thirsty so i replaced it with the complimentary water i have got in morning, upon check out i realized i was charged for it in morning already and its been entered in system but when i explained this so they cancelled the water and made me pay for peanuts. When i explained them that its the same i ate (Ms. Rajni at receptions said no it has some mark or identity of hotel) that was the last thing for me and i left)

7. I had complimentary internet in the room but it was not informed to me upon check in and i had to confirm 2 to 3 times whether i can access it or no and the speed was too poor

8. I had late check out and i confirmed upon check in but when i called next day at reception so they told me my check out time is standard and no update done so i had to remind them to speak to sales and confirm

9. House keeping staff was so rude, whenever you ask for something like i asked for coffee cups the way that gentleman made face as in i asked for something else.

When i saw him outside later i asked him to make my room and i was shocked when i came back in the room, the bed sheet wasnt changed and if it was changed it had many dirt spots

10. My points were not updated still for my last visit and i had to follow up with the Accors Team and then the hotel and i insisted that it should happen at the earliest as i lost my points before due to carelessness of Hotel Staff of other Accor Properties but still its the same. My status of membership changed from Silver to Blue / Classic again.

11. There has to be slippers atleast in room but literally you have to ask for bathrob, slippers, dental kit and other stuff. Quality for Amenities should be improved. There is one bath gel in room for 2 people and that too very small so when you go for shower you are waiting for house keeping to come and give you who are always slow

One thing i like to say "Dont Ever Disappoint Your Loyal Customers and Dont Take Advantage of Their Loyalty, Dont Misjudge Their Loyalty to something else like they dont have choice or they cant afford other hotels. You are not the only service provider or accors property"

Caiyad Phahad - Film Maker from Abu Dhabi

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CaiyadPhahad-TMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Gold Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

I usually like Accor hotel standards and this one definitely met my expectations.

The hotel's facade and lobby are nothing great but the inside of the hotel itself is really well done. Very modern rooms, perfect water pressure in the shower, very comfortable bed and sofa's, Free wifi in the lobby and restaurants, decent gym, outstanding belly dancing (post work unwind) and a very well priced spa.

Downsides - the breakfast buffet could definitely use a makeover, room service was not that great.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get the suite rooms. the regular ones are great but the suit is definitely wo...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AT_80london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolo212
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Deepak D, Director of Sales at Mercure Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was an average.
The room was clean and nice.
I had got some problems there, the music of the Indian restaurant was too loud and the last day a bad smell was in my room and my friends room too

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abdulra7man9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepak D, Director of Sales at Mercure Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your recent stay at our hotel and your feedback.

Your feedback is indeed of utmost importance to us and will be dealt with accordingly on a priority basis, so as to ensure our guests continue to enjoy superlative levels of service, comfort & security that they expect when staying at our hotel.

We have made a specific note of your observations on the sound emanating from the Indian Restaurant & the smell in your guest room. The same is already being addressed with the concerned departments with a view to rectify the same at the earliest

Meanwhile, we continue to look forward to welcoming you & your distinguished guests at our hotel and to your sustained patronage & support.

Thanks again & Warm Regards,

Director - Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Could not fault this hotel. Highly recommended for all types of travellers, close to shops, breakfast was excellent and staff most helpful. All amenities worked perfectly.

Prices were very reasonable, mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunLover_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepak D, Director of Sales at Mercure Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your recent stay at our hotel and your very encouraging feedback.

Your positive feedback is a source of inspiration for our hotel and would drive our team to continue delivering superlative levels of service, comfort & security that our guests expect when staying at our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you & your distinguished guests at our hotel and to your sustained patronage & support.

Please do feel free to write in to us if you would require any assistance with future bookings to be done.

Many thanks once again & Warm Regards,

Director - Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank johnwilliam58
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Deepak D, Director of Sales at Mercure Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aashiesh1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Deepak D, Director of Sales at Mercure Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Jumeirah
Ramada Jumeirah
#154 of 555 in Dubai
980 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Styles Dubai Jumeira
ibis Styles Dubai Jumeira
#180 of 555 in Dubai
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dubai Jumeirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubai Al Mina
0.4 mi away
Jumeira Rotana
Jumeira Rotana
#162 of 555 in Dubai
776 reviews
11.7 mi away
Mercure Dubai Barsha Heights Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gold Hotel

Address: Mercure Gold Hotel Al Mina Rd | PO Box 66431, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 555 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: $48 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gold Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing