We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for all 'you can eat and drink buffets”
Review of The Californian

The Californian
Ranked #573 of 9,657 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: The light and bright restaurant provides an ideal venue for group buffet breakfast and lunches. The evening is made even more interesting with the launch of its themes nights.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A must for all 'you can eat and drink buffets”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Californian is definately worth a visit for large groups or families. The all you can eat and drink package is good value for money although from 01 Feb 2014 the prices have been increased. By using vouchers from The Entertainer book this resaurant remians a good choice of venue. I went with a group of friends on Thursday evening to the Deep Blue Seafood night. The staff were very welcoming and attentive and whilst being taken to our table the different selection of seafoods on display were pointed out. Two platters of delcious seafood starters were recommended by our server and then brought to the table to share.
The only comment I would make that could be improved was the alcohol package consisted of just one choice of Shiraz Lindemann red wine or Chardonnay Lindemann white wine. As it was seafood night and white wine compliments the food a second choice of white wine could of been available as chardonnay is not always a popular choice. A Sav blanc would of provided an ideal second white wine choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misspoppy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    29
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great food but beware!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We loved the food here and the staff couldn't be more helpful but it failed us with the fact that it was similar to a cafeteria. We liked the sound of it from the website but when we got there, found that our close by fellow dinners consisted of a table of 10 with children who ran about everywhere, another with four girls who had obviously had their money's worth of free wine and another table where I assume that the main guest couldn't make it as they set up a 17" monitor at the head of the table and skyped throughout their meal. We mentioned our concerns to the waiter and the Food & Beverage manager arrived. His comments were a surprise as he said that he agreed with us and said that if he was looking for a nice meal with his wife, he wouldn't come to this one then told us what alternative restaurants were available. We paid the bill and left but the food couldn't be faulted. Avoid and look for something better - the managers words as well as mine!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ianmcwhirter2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol uk
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely meal with a view”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Chose to eat here having seen the fountains at the nearby Dubai mall. The buffet theme was BBQ. There was a vast array of choices, very good quality and beautifully presented. We chose the house beer and wines option and the staff were forever trying to refill our glasses. We were a group of three and we all thought it was excellent value for money. Very happy with our choice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decent Buffet Restaurant in Dusit Thani”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The californian is a pretty decent buffet restaurant in Dusit Thani. One of the best things about this place is the amazing view of the Burj Downtown (24th floor ). We went there on a thursday, the theme for which was deep blue/seafood. A treat for seafood lovers but had only very few choice for veggies and just one chicken dish. They have this fresh fish displayed in a big open iced cabin , where you could pick your favs and they would grill/fry it for you, which was unique.Dessert was pretty good as well.Very courteous staff indeed. When they came to know it was our anniversary, they even offered is a special cake. The thursday night buffets are priced at 150 AED ( food ). 185 (soft drinks incl.) and 225 (house wine/beer).
All in all a decent place with good food. But make sure you get a table with a view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank karthikprasannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really amazing”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Situated on the 24th floor this restaurant isn't popular enough. Want there on a Tuesday night for their New Orleans buffet and we were the only people in the place. Stunning views and really attentive staff! Couldn't of asked for anything better.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank StellanEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Californian also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
United Arab Emirates, Middle East
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to The Californian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing