We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes touristic but delicious and fun!”
Review of Al Hadheerah

Al Hadheerah
Ranked #496 of 9,608 Restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Experience 1001 Arabian Nights... A magical Arabian celebration awaits you as the sun sets on Al Hadheerah, amidst the enchanting desert dunes of Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa. Immerse yourself in Arabian culture within the walls of a traditional fort where you will witness a dazzling falconry display, camel caravan, horse show as well as Tanoura dancer. Be entertained throughout the evening as mesmerising dancers weave their magic beneath the stars to the sounds of a live band. There is also no mistaking the mouth-watering aroma of Arabic cuisine as it drifts from the live cooking stations, wood-fired ovens and spit roasts. Al Hadheerah is so much more than a restaurant, it is an incredible event that you have to witness.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yes touristic but delicious and fun!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a lovely Arab night here with my kids and enjoyed it so much! The buffet was extensive enough to taste Arab food, the show was interesting for the kids. The food was really delicious and as a Turkish person in love with eastern tastes, ı enjoyed almost all dishes! The staff were friendly and fast.
After the dinner we went to see the heritage village, small exhibition of old Dubai, not too sophisticated but enough for kids! camel and horse tour was a bonus.
We went there a bit early, to see the sunset and spend some time around the hotel, on the desert and took great photos and enjoyed the scenery.
The heritage show at the end was again exciting for the kids, might not be that overwhelming for the adults who has seen shows like this before.
The live music could have been a bit softer than it is as it can be disturbingly loud and different for kids and adults that are not used to it.
Try to book a tbale not too close to the show area and if possible a table with lights (as it can be a bit dark to see the food!).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceylan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    90
    39
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Something a bit different”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

45 mins or so from Dubai so you get to see the desert on the way out which is interesting. The setting for the restaurant is cute, and yes the whole evening is a bit touristy but if you are there then you are probably a tourist and as long as its not tacky then we don't find that sort of thing a problem. There is a huge buffet of hot and cold food, lots of choice and you can eat as much as you like. There is a little Heritage to have a walk round and you can pop and see the camels. The entertainment was good and colourful. A really pleasant evening away from the city. It was a bit cool later in the evening so best take something to keep the chill off. Notice in someone else's review that they recommend heading out to see the sunset over the desert - wish we had done that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joops07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“bad changes”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I used to visit this beautiful place with all my guests when living in Dubai, and the authentic quality Arabian Oud music on the roof terrace was a main reason. I was SO disappointed when I returned last week, to find the music changed to electronic keyboards playing 'elevator' versions of Arabian Oud. Also, cheap souvenir stalls were lined up outside Al Hadeerah, (yack!) and the nice shop behind the reception was also replaced with a shop selling crap. I think they also put up more lamps outside...? These are 'details' that scare me off, and degrades the place to NOT being a boutique hotel any more, Nice and beautiful still, but sorry: Degraded. We ended up having tea and leave without eating.

Helpful?
Thank Elingjaerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for dinner”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This Arabian desert experience is well worth the trip some 30 minutes out of Dubai. Located at the BaB AL Shams resort. An enchanting experience consisting of traditional Arabian supper set amongst the sand dunes with arabian entertainment in the form of spinners and belly dancers. This all culminates with a horse show and an amazing firework display leaving you truly impressed. What the menu may lack the entertainment certainly makes up for. The venue also has camel rides and falcons and a couple of keen photographers to capture the evening for you with some - not so cheap- but highly memorable photographs. The food is presented buffet style in a village type setting. Seating is very group or family oriented but one could break an ankle getting out of ones seat as the ground is simply desert sand. Outstanding venue well worth the trip but beware of scorpions. I took a walk along a candle lit pathway towards the resort and managed to pick up a deadly baby scorpion on my scarf. As I flew to Africa the following morning , I did not notice the fellow with me. Getting home I sat on my bed and a black tipped yellow scorpion from Bab Al Shams fell off my scarf and onto my leg and stung me Twice! Seriously doesn't the bug spray of Emirates flights to Africa work! As I developed a reaction we discovered from the local hospital and poison centre that it was indeed a desert scorpion - a deadly one and there was no anti venom in Durban south Africa as its a middle eastern scorpion. As I was large and the scorpion was small, I survived. I returned to Bab Al Shams wearing good and proper shoes. Overall a lovely venue. Great food. Great entertainment. Watch out for the desert creatures!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luxuryreviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Something different in Dubai but still very touristy!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you are visiting Dubai (or have family visiting you) and want to experience something less western, Al Hadheerah is a good place. It is quite touristy and not so "emirati" but the entertainment (Debka trio, Soufi dancer, belly dancer,desert caravan show, etc...) is of good quality and the food is decent with an abundant buffet. Avoid the week ends as it gets pretty crowded. Get to Bab al Shams (30-40 minute drive from Dubai) mid afternoon and definitely before sunset. Check out the beautiful hotel facilities and serene surroundings... then head to the restaurant. Try to be there by 7P to get a choice of seating and before the tourist buses offload herds of tourists.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldCTZen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Hadheerah also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Al Hadheerah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing