We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cheapest mode to cross the creek”

Bur Dubai Abra Dock
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.30*
and up
Dubai Tour by Land and Water
More Info
$69.59*
and up
5-Star Premium Rustar Dhow Cruise Dubai
More Info
$40.00*
and up
2-Hour Dhow Dinner Cruise along Dubai Creek
Ranked #16 of 403 things to do in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: In the historic district, the Abra Dock in Bur Dubai, is an affordable 10-minute traditonal wooden boat ride -- really a taxi. Take the abra from the Bastakiya side, look around the textile souk and the art galleries, and end in the gold souk. Used by 15-20 million passengers each year, the Abra Dock in Bur Dubai is a memorable cruise in the water.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The cheapest mode to cross the creek”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Bur Dubai Abra caters have two types of boats crossing the creek. One is so cheap that the ticket fare is just AED 1 for one way and the other is an Air conditioned boats which is just AED 2. This is the cheapest mode of crossing the creek and to avoid traffic congestion.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheruthon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,610
    1,144
    277
    21
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cross the creek with the locals”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The only practical way to get to the other side of the Creek, and so easy: find the Abra Dock, wait for next boat which is either immediately or a matter of minutes only, get on board, pay 1 AED and 5 minutes later you are at the other side. Take time to walk along the side of the Creek and marvel at the wooden ships and all their amazing cargo which has to be seen to be believed!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 23Lloyd41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabouk, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Across the creek”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a very inexpensive way to view Dubai's creek, one can get to the other side of the creek for 1 AED.
There are many souks nearby, such as spice souk, gold souk and textile souk.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Osama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Don't miss this - it i so special”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I am on my 10th trip to Dubai and on each trip I have been on an Abra at least 4 times. The views from these little boats are just fantastic and for the local people who frequent these boats it's just a normal thing to do.

Don't take a traditional taxi from one side or Dubai to the other - take an Abra, it's so special and feels like you are having the opportunity to take a trip back in time ..... for less than 20p a ride. The trips leave every 3 or 4 minutes apart so you don't need to make any "timed" plans - just turn up and ENJOY!!

This is not suitable for severely disabled passengers - certainly not wheelchairs.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank joy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Book a private one!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

for this experience we booked a private boat for 1 hour for only 60 dirhams. it was so good, we went all the way ear the end of the creek. we really liked the views of deira with the big wooden ships carrying merchandises. I was really surprised to know that there are still wooden ships that go to the open seas. i thought that was a lost era because we already have big modern cargo ships. but wow, it was so good and their numbers, it was not just 10 or 15 ships but hundreds of them. we stepped down at the souk station and walk from there which we overly enjoyed exploring.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bur Dubai Abra Dock also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Bur Dubai Abra Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing