We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The magic of ancient Dubai.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bur Dubai Abra Dock

Bur Dubai Abra Dock
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.59*
and up
5-Star Premium Rustar Dhow Cruise Dubai
Ranked #14 of 386 things to do in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: In the historic district, the Abra Dock in Bur Dubai, is an affordable 10-minute traditonal wooden boat ride -- really a taxi. Take the abra from the Bastakiya side, look around the textile souk and the art galleries, and end in the gold souk. Used by 15-20 million passengers each year, the Abra Dock in Bur Dubai is a memorable cruise in the water.
Vila Nogueira de Azeitão, Setúbal, Portugal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The magic of ancient Dubai.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

There are two main routes. The first route runs between Bur Dubai Abra Dock and Deira Old Souk Abra Dock (near to the mouth of the creek), while the other runs between Dubai Old Souk Abra Dock and Sabkha Abra Dock.

The excellent way to experience the magic of ancient Dubai through picturesque view of the city.

Not recommended when this much heat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank depur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,481
    1,066
    248
    19
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dubai treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you are interested in getting to know the origins of Dubai, then take a trip to the Creek and rent your own Abra (water taxi) to go up and down before you cross to the Souks.
One of my personal favourite parts of Dubai, it’s a historical part of the town and you can negotiate a fee with the captain, who will take you on a private little tour to see the old part of the city.
You can do the trip at different times of the day, at sunset and at night as it will be a completely different experience all together.
Go behind HSBC bank on Bur Dubai to get on the Abra and cross to Deira to visit the Souks.
Make sure you have your camera as there are a lot of photo opportunities, just remember to ask permission before taking pictures of people, especially local ladies and dress modestly.
If traveling with young kids, make sure to visit a toilet before going there as there aren't many clean options around.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Tatiana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great free experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We travelled on the abra for the bargain price of one dirham. Great ride across the creek between the spice and textile souks. It was great to embrace some emirati culture.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank silva2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a must do experience, taking a ride on an abra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

we roamed around meena bazaar , had lunch in mini punjab there and then decided to head towards the abra dock, we went through narrow alleys and old buildings, asked around and finally reached this abra dock. it was early evening when we reached and there was a crowd there but the atmosphere was electic and nice. there was a nice wind blowing and people were just clicking pics and chilling there. we too went to a nearby souk, shopped for sum souviniers then decided to take an abra ride (which was 1 of th best decisions we made). Taking a ride on an abra is an experience in itself, and its practically free in 1 dirham :). we had our two children , a child buggy , sum shopping bags , yet managed to hop on an abra which took us to the deira side of dubai. there were sea gulls flying around, people on different types of boats waving , there was even a water bus transporting its passengers, a dhow, it was an adventurous experience which cannot be simply described in words. it was like one is living the life of a local by taking a ride on the abra. we enjoyed it thoroughly (even my kids)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cassanova78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
226 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Evening time pass”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I combined my visit to the Indian temple with a boat ride at the creek. Its a 5 minute walk from the temple to the Abra dock through the souk selling clothes and dress materials. You can hop on to a stationed boat and when the boat is full, a guy comes around to collect 1 dirham from each passenger. Its a 10-minute ride across the creek. Its not a ferry but an open boat, so boat ride in the evening brings with it the cool breeze and sunset.

For most people who get on to the boat, this is a cheap means of crossing the water. If you are a budget traveller looking for good experiences for a less price, I definitely recommend the boat ride.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Soumya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bur Dubai Abra Dock also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Bur Dubai Abra Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing