We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too few sunbeds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Ranked #64 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Too few sunbeds”
Reviewed April 3, 2010

438 rooms; 24 sunbeds. Sunbeds full all the time, and this was even before the hotel was finished, and some rooms not in use.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,619
    1,267
    370
    108
    82
See reviews for
958
2,654
308
577
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

The best part of Dubai was this hotel. There was always plenty of staff throughout the hotel to take care of anything. Our front desk clerk must have heard that we were there to celebrate a birthday and the next day a cake, flowers and card from the manager was in our room. Get the breakfast option unless you're hooked on Starbucks which is just a block away. The breakfast is plentiful and excellent. Service is top notch on every level. Everyone greets you and is outgoing. The pool bar is open 24/7 and we had a great late night snack / dinner under the stars. The pool area is nice but I agree not large enough for the amount of guests. Rooms were wonderful, spotless. Bed heavenly. The fitness area is very good with great machines. The spa is for women only! Can't figure that one out. Overall, if I came back to Dubai (doubtful, way too many nicer destinations), I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We stayed 4 nights at the Sofitel on Jumeirah Beach, and we really want to stay here again !

We had a luxury room with balcony and view right out to the beach (and overlooking the parkinglot) - and experienced no problem with noise from the traffic below.
Great size on the room, and it was looked after / housekeeping several times a day - it almost felt like being on a cruiseship, outstandig service and friendly staff all over the hotel.

Free internet on the TV in the room :-).

The only thing we would recommend that the hotel work on, to be even better as a "leisure-destination" is sunbeds.
Hopefully, in the future they will be able to offer sunbeds on the beach as well - as the poolarea isn`t big enough to offer most of the guests sunbeds (you have to be out there early in the morning to make sure you get a bed by the pool).

We would also light to recommend a nearby restaurant: Butcher Steakhouse --- great steaks at OK prices, and only 2 minute walk from the hotel :-)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotte_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Booked 4 nights in a luxury room. (rooms too small for a supposed to be 5 star hotel: 39 sq meter in total included the bathroom and the balcon facing the front view of sea.). The normal rooms is 36 sq meters with a smaller balcony, with partial sea view and marina view. To be true, more then sea front the hotel is parking front, The beach is 120 meter away, past the 10 meter trafficated road, 30 meter large public parking- basically empty at night- and a 30 meter large spoiled ground. We didn't have noise problems. Services are good and all the hotel is very clean. Nice small swimming pool but too small for the number of guests. Difficult to find free sunbeds.
Nice breakfast even if not cheaper. Great service.
One final note on Dubai for european people. Forget about having great shopping there. Very nice malls, plenty of all the most branded luxury shops, but with prices higher then in Europe and even without the last luxury items.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

After staying in several other 5* beach hotels in Dubai I was a little disappointed. The hotel itself is separated by a road to the beach. The beach view room was extremely noisy (with a fairground blaring music from the car park below) Early nights were not really an option. Furthermore we had several days where the room was not made up by 15:00 and for two consequtive days my afternoon nap was disturbed by banging upstairs.Getting a bed by the pool is not guaranteed as the sun longe area is relatively small.

On the positive, the hotels staff were extremely friendly and the rooms are of decent size and nicely furnished. The Sofitel trademark is the comfortable beds and this was certainly the case in this hotel. The hotel is very close to may other restaurants and central for shopping etc. I would stay here again on business but sadly have been spoiled by previous experiences at other 5* beach hotels in Dubai to return for a holiday. On this occasion I came for relaxation and didn't get it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpjohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2010

The hotel was brilliant and absolutely beautiful. The room was magnificient, the bath with the opening double doors was a favourite. The bed was so big that both of us stretched out and still couldnt touch each other. The staff in the hotel were fabulous and couldnt do enough to help us. One night they even went and got us slippers to wear while we ate dinner in the restaurant as we had sore feet after shopping. I did not need to ask for this they just did it. The staff called us by name every morning when we went to the gym and the personal trainer was always on hand to help us out. He was based in the gym which I thought was fantastic.. The food was 5 star plus and always plenty of it. I will definetly be going back to this hotel as it was magical.
Only one small gripe - was the sun beds. There just wasnt enough of them and for people for Scotland who never see the sun it is quite important. I was say this needs to be sorted out as many people just didnt get a lounger and a few people were less than happy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimkeith80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Absolutely amazing. Best hotel I have ever stayed in. The service is beyond fantastic, the staff can not do enough for you. Food is of a very high quality and the rooms are just the best. My only little moan would be the lack of sunloungers poolside, there is only around 20 beds and the hotel hold up to 400 people. All in all am amazing experince and I'd be a very luckly girl if I ever got the chance to go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah
#130 of 545 in Dubai
4,793 reviews
The Marina
JA Ocean View Hotel
JA Ocean View Hotel
#57 of 545 in Dubai
4,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Amwaj Rotana
Amwaj Rotana
#62 of 545 in Dubai
2,519 reviews
The Marina
Hilton Dubai The Walk
Hilton Dubai The Walk
#101 of 545 in Dubai
2,642 reviews
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach

Property: Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Address: Jumeirah Beach Residence | Al Sufouh Street, 69; Dubai Marina, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#38 Family Hotel in Dubai
#45 Business Hotel in Dubai
#59 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury beachfront hotel combining French spirit with Dubai's most appealing features: waterfront location, sea-view and direct access to The Walk, the city's stylish beachside promenade and outdoor shopping area. 35 Minutes from Dubai International Airport, close to Dubai Media City, Jebel Ali Free Zone, two of Dubai's biggest shopping malls, and three prestigious golf clubs. Leisure facilities: Beauty Salon, Infini-pool, Health Club, Sauna and Steam room. One restaurant and three lounges present truly international flavors. A dedicated Inspired Meetings team meets the needs of business travellers. Free wi-fi and a separate meetings floor ensure a satisfactory business operation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing