We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Stay Here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Ranked #52 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This Hotel should not be open while the construction work is going on. Early morning all day, massive noise which Venere did not warn me about. The staff are delightful, the head concierge and his second in command ( can't remember his name but is from the Philippines ) are as good as any concierge staff anywhere. Booked several trips for me, could not have been more helpful. The restaurant near the pool inside great for afternoon tea, very tasty lunches. Gym was ok. I got 'upgraded' to a different type of room before we even knew of the construction works but the double glazing just doesn't do it. Ear plugs every night and that is just not acceptable in a five star Hotel, any Hotel in fact. An expensive way to experience sleep depravation. Oh yes, unless you are a 12 year old child and a thin one at that good luck using the loo. Who designed the bathroom? Just no room, so squashed in it really is a joke, almost unusable, lose the bidet turn the loo round and then maybe one could sit down and not head butt the glass wall I front of you, bizarre!

Room Tip: Well if you want a quiet one, stay in another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach and for taking the time to share your feedback. I am disappointed to learn about your unsatisfactory experience due to the construction in front of the hotel. I would like to inform you that all the hotels on JBR stretch are equally affected by it and it is not something that is under hotel's control.
I hope you will pay us another visit once the construction is over later this year.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,468
    1,210
    354
    103
    74
See reviews for
900
2,541
300
560
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,068)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed for three nights and it was great.
Room was clean and spacious, plenty of storage space, bathroom good/big too - liked the novelty of being able to open the side door and look out to sea while I was in the bath! Extras such as wine glasses, bath robes and weighing scales all there!
The hotel's location was brilliant, just a few minutes walk from the public beach, with a cracking view over the bay and across to the Palm and Atlantis.
There is unfortunately building work taking place immediately outside the front of the hotel but we were on a high floor overlooking it and it really didn't disturb us. You could hear the pile drivers (I guess this would only be for a short time) whilst in the pool, but again they weren't really a problem and many people spent time watching the work from the edge of the infinity pool! Plenty of sun loungers by the pool and lunch/snacks and service poolside was good. Liked sipping a cocktail watching the sunset over the sea whilst still in the pool.
The spa offered a brilliant service whereby you could collect a bag of essentials for the beach - a fold-up beach chair/mat, a towel and a bottle of water - our friends who were staying at the Rotunda next door were very jealous of this. For a small fee you could also hire a beach parasol. The sea was pleasant to swim in but be warned that the current is quite strong with rip currents, if you're considering travelling with children.
Didn't take breakfast or our evening meal at the hotel as there were plenty of cafes and restaurants along the main road outside serving a whole range of different cuisines. It was also very amusing watching the luxury cars parade (and I mean parade - driving slowly!) along the one-way road outside of an evening. We spotted bugatti veyrons, a polished silver Rolls Royce phantom, Aston martins, ferraris and various others.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor, overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach and for your fabulous review. I am happy to know that your stay was up to your expectations and you had good experience of the room design, at the pool watching sunset, at the beach with the beach kit and of the hotel's location.
Please let me know next time you visit Dubai and I will be happy to assist you with your booking.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at sofitel for 3 nights in January 2013, .. it has a perfect location, on the JBR Walk, where all restaurants and cafes despite that the whole area is under construction, where 4-5 huge cranes are digging the ground day and night.
We booked a luxury sea view room, but it was too small that barly fits bed and wardrobe, breakfast was below 5 stars standards, no access to beach due constructions.
Except it's location, there is nothing much!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saifio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelDubaiJBR, General Manager at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach. I am a bit disappointed to know that your stay was not as per your expectation and that only the location of hotel impressed you. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Sincerely,

Sami Nasser
General Manager
customer.service@sofiteljbr.ae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great hotel, everything is very nice and clean. Location is perfect on Jumeirah Beach with lots of restaurants and coffee shops. The breakfast buffet is excellent. Everything is fresh and clean. The service is a little slow, you always have to wait (too long!) for the tea/coffee and the butter to be brought to the table. The buffet dinner is not as good. There is a lack of food variety.
Most of the staff is very friendly and helpful. There's currently a huge construction site across the street and the work (and noise) goes on from early morning until late evening. Our clean and nice room was on the 32:nd floor so we slept well. I got the feeling that this hotel suits businesspeople better than us who love the warmth and the sun. The pool is small as is the poolarea and the access to the beach is too far away for as long as the construction work continues.
The wireless internet connection was free of charge but on the top floors it wasn't working too well.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nicer views and less noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Editalovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed at Sofitel for 3 nights and it was really great. The location, really near a lot of shops and restaurants, near the beach (however, since the are building a beach walk you have to go around the fence which is like 500m away from the hotel), great view, nice pool. The stuff was really helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Homla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we checked in the customer service was wonderful and continued to be good throughout our stay. This hotel is comfortable and in a great location on the Walk in Jumeirah. We had no problem with the construction noise at all and slept well. The whole JBR area is affected by a large construction project not just this hotel. Despite that we had a thoroughly enjoyable time.

The hotels roof top pool is restricted in space and is shady in quite a few areas but staff assist in moving customers when a sunnier spot becomes vacant. The infinity pool is warm with a fab view across the sea and currently has an eagles eye view of the construction site which is fascinating. Personally I did not mind seeing the cranes working etc. it is a shame that the Hotel does not have direct access to the beach at present but it is only a short walk to the public beach path. Hopefully Sofitel will be able to provide a private beach area once construction is completed?

We ate out mostly as there are lots of restaurants in The Walk.

When exploring further into Dubai do use the Metro. It is easy to navigate, clean, comfortable and serves all of the main attractions. The closest station is a 10 - 15 minute walk and an all day hop on/ off ticket costs about £2.50.

We will rebook for another stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Top hotel.. Very kind staff.
Very good smell at the entrance.. Formiture are definitely elegant and modern. The breakfast is good with variety of food. The room at top floor is amazing (i love the bed) with a good view (ruined by the constructiins they are building..) situated in the JBR walk.. Is perfect for a vacation. The pool is small but confy and warm water.. Even if in february the shadow during the morning makes it a bit cold. If they don't build a hotel in the face of it.. Is a place to go!

Helpful?
1 Thank Fabrizio_fk
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
JA Ocean View Hotel
JA Ocean View Hotel
#56 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Hilton Dubai The Walk
Hilton Dubai The Walk
#100 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
The Marina
Amwaj Rotana
Amwaj Rotana
#73 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
The Marina
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dubai - Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach

Property: Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Address: Jumeirah Beach Residence | Al Sufouh Street, 69; Dubai Marina, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#38 Family Hotel in Dubai
#45 Business Hotel in Dubai
#50 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury beachfront hotel combining French spirit with Dubai's most appealing features: waterfront location, sea-view and direct access to The Walk, the city's stylish beachside promenade and outdoor shopping area. 35 Minutes from Dubai International Airport, close to Dubai Media City, Jebel Ali Free Zone, two of Dubai's biggest shopping malls, and three prestigious golf clubs. Leisure facilities: Beauty Salon, Infini-pool, Health Club, Sauna and Steam room. One restaurant and three lounges present truly international flavors. A dedicated Inspired Meetings team meets the needs of business travellers. Free wi-fi and a separate meetings floor ensure a satisfactory business operation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing